We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay at MO, Macau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quiet stay at MO, Macau”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The MO Macau is said to be the only luxury hotel without an attached casino. Having visited all the casino hotels and seen the MASSIVE crowds, I can say that for us that was a blessing for us. At least the staff knew us by name!

The flip side is relatively poor in-hotel dining options, though the MGM is right next door and has some nice places.

I would advise a stay in this hotel for all those who believe their hotel is a sanctuary. Macau is so full of mainland chinese tourists that it is a relief to get back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    124
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
152
259
68
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Macau on 23March 2014, though is a very short stay, a night but MOMAC gave us a wonderful services, it was a fantabulous stay!
They provided transfer service from jetty to hotel, special thanks to Francis for the very warn welcome! Also Ceci and a very friendly operator, Yan and the duty manager as well.
This is definitely an unforgettable stay for me and my family (*^o^*)
The hotel is connected with MGM casino, very nice location. They had a very nice swimming pool that delighted us very much! I will highly recommended to my friend for this 5 star hotel in Macau (^O^)/

Room Tip: Deluxe bay view room, very beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conniehoo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

It was our first time in Macau and we stayed for 2 nights, it is easily accessible by other hotel's shuttle services from airport. Greeted by helpful Ken Yang who assisted us immediately with our luggages while we proceed to do the check-in. Wasn't able to check in early but Concierge (Benjamin?) was very helpful and knowledgeable to show us attractions around Macau. Vida Rica's food was superb with friendly staffs and hostess.

Overall a very good stay, definitely live up to their reputation. Deeply appreciate the excellent service from Catherine (Concierge) who assisted us throughout our stay until departure.

Would definitely stay again when we go back to Macau!

Room Tip: Hotel without a casino, away from noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j-twqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Macau during Christmas time, the reason for my trip was due to business and I have to admit that all my needs were met as a business traveller. During my stay I had this personalized service and unconditional attention on daily basis by one of your staff. Her name was Sneha Shivnani and I have to admit she is born for this profession. She had answers to all my questions and tailored all my needs from day I checked in till the day I checked out. A true asset to your company. Great breakfast and room facilities. Will definitely come back due to the special service I received. The only disappointment was paying for Wi-Fi in today’s time. The location was very convenient because if I wanted a small get away from work and wished the gamble I had various casino on the near about.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ansatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have a great stay in mandarin oriental Macau. The room is big, modern and fantastic! Bathroom is nice, especially the tub beside window. You may see the whole Macau view when u having a bath. And salt make you skin very soft. Will back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGhcmacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

They say that the first impressions were the last impressions but in my case my first impression was not very good but the last impression was fantastic. Upon arrival I was told my room was not ready at 5pm! I had difficulty communicating with the staff as my English was not very good nor their English was at their best. Once I was got to my room after requesting a non-smoking room, my room smelled of cigarette. After coming from a long trip from Portugal I wanted a place to relax with no casino hassle. I went back to the reception and complained when one of the managers took over where I was instantly attended and felt that she was willing to help and solve my room issue. It was great to have someone to speak with in Portuguese/Spanish. Her name was Sneha. She gave me another room and was escorted to the room personally. I was then given some hotel amenities and a personalized letter from her apologizing for my arrival experience. I was overwhelmed. I deliberatly stopped at the new Mandarin Oriental in Macau because it was a non-casino hotel and is known for their service, and I certainly did receive it from her. Plus I was given a complimentary transfer form the hotel to the pier upon check out. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It hard pick a particular reason to choose this hotel. Even if you are looking for a non-casino hotel that has something different. The hotel doesn't have anything to offer that other places don't. I've settled here because I couldn't book a room at it's neighbors, Wynn Encore and MGM.

The location is not that great. Quite a long walk from Senado square and the business center. With no shuttle service. The room itself is quite average, considering it's rates. There's no in-room safe, which is unusual. For this rate it's much better to get a room at Wynn or Grand Lisboa, with better location,restaurants, and overall experience. Or at cheaper rates at the similar room quality at Lisboa, Sintra, Grand Emperor.

The swimming pool is disappointing. It's under the shadows all day and very underwhelming.
The hotel is connected to Central One shopping mall. But the shops at Wynn are more attractive.

The service is excellent. With staffs speaking good English and very attentive.

This hotel should glam up to meet it's standards such as in MO Hong Kong or Bangkok. Or just change the name and lower the rooms rates.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OuijaAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#6 of 95 in Macau
988 reviews
2.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 95 in Macau
1,195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Property: Mandarin Oriental Macau
Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing