We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have a great stay in mandarin oriental Macau. The room is big, modern and fantastic! Bathroom is nice, especially the tub beside window. You may see the whole Macau view when u having a bath. And salt make you skin very soft. Will back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGhcmacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 807 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

They say that the first impressions were the last impressions but in my case my first impression was not very good but the last impression was fantastic. Upon arrival I was told my room was not ready at 5pm! I had difficulty communicating with the staff as my English was not very good nor their English was at their best. Once I was got to my room after requesting a non-smoking room, my room smelled of cigarette. After coming from a long trip from Portugal I wanted a place to relax with no casino hassle. I went back to the reception and complained when one of the managers took over where I was instantly attended and felt that she was willing to help and solve my room issue. It was great to have someone to speak with in Portuguese/Spanish. Her name was Sneha. She gave me another room and was escorted to the room personally. I was then given some hotel amenities and a personalized letter from her apologizing for my arrival experience. I was overwhelmed. I deliberatly stopped at the new Mandarin Oriental in Macau because it was a non-casino hotel and is known for their service, and I certainly did receive it from her. Plus I was given a complimentary transfer form the hotel to the pier upon check out. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank pepa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It hard pick a particular reason to choose this hotel. Even if you are looking for a non-casino hotel that has something different. The hotel doesn't have anything to offer that other places don't. I've settled here because I couldn't book a room at it's neighbors, Wynn Encore and MGM.

The location is not that great. Quite a long walk from Senado square and the business center. With no shuttle service. The room itself is quite average, considering it's rates. There's no in-room safe, which is unusual. For this rate it's much better to get a room at Wynn or Grand Lisboa, with better location,restaurants, and overall experience. Or at cheaper rates at the similar room quality at Lisboa, Sintra, Grand Emperor.

The swimming pool is disappointing. It's under the shadows all day and very underwhelming.
The hotel is connected to Central One shopping mall. But the shops at Wynn are more attractive.

The service is excellent. With staffs speaking good English and very attentive.

This hotel should glam up to meet it's standards such as in MO Hong Kong or Bangkok. Or just change the name and lower the rooms rates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OuijaAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The rooms are follow Mandarin Oriental standards, the breakfast was good and the overall hotel is nice with a great location. The Service though does not follow the standards, two hicups, one my room was not ready when i arrived for my check-in at 4:30 PM!!!! and the wi-fi was paying...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eolopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental just has a way of making you feel like you are a special person. The service was excellent and the room was beautiful. We were upgraded to a suite, which we appreciated very much. The breakfast was very good with an extensive selection. We also ate dinner at the hotel one night. The food was excellent and the servers were extremely attentive and warm, but without being overbearing. The location was very convenient as well. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Macau in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bautong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Non-casino hotel but just beside MGM and Macau being small, very easy to get around by foot or taxi.

The rooms are really spacious with large bathroom and views overlooking city, bay or lake. Stayed in the Deluxe Bay View Room, travelling with family. We got two rooms interconnecting and the overall feel of the rooms are very homely, cosy and welcoming.

Service was great, particularly from the porters and doormen. Room did not include breakfast but did tried for one morning and loving it. Good spread and still reasonable pricing for a 5 stars luxury hotel, like the noodle soup station very much. Most importantly, the restaurant service was top-notch, very friendly, warm and genuine to every guest. Highly recommended.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JevJev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights - I in a corner room and my friend in a Deluxe room - the view from our respective rooms were good, even though my room was on a lower floor. There was no lack of privacy. Room facilities were very good, with an extensive mini-bar and a good quality coffee machine.

Staff service was very good in general. The Concierge was helpful, approaching us when we appear in the lobby to offer their services whenever low guests volume in the foyer allows it - it is an impressive style not seen in too many places.

The Spa is "standard Mandarin Oriental", which means good service is guaranteed and guest comfort is of paramount importance to the staff. They are quick thinkers - the Receptionist, who did not speak very good English, immediately asked for help from a colleague. We hardly had to wait. The herbal tea they served was the best of the 3 Mandarin Hotels in Hong Kong and Macau.

Breakfast was surprisingly good. We had expected crowds and a lot of noise - which did not happen. I think we chose the right hotel in Macau - one without a casino. However, there is a casino in the same complex, barely 3 minutes walk away, so this is convenient for guests who wish to stay in a quieter environment but who may wish to use gaming facilities.

As an upmarket shopping complex is accessible from within the hotel, entertainment is handy and the quality of the shops is excellent. I shall certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms - these rooms are big; with the bathtub right next to the window for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#4 of 94 in Macau
1,231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,627 reviews
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $190 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing