We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel but service rather disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

During a quick stop in Macau, I decided to book an one-night stay at Mandarin Oriental Macau. The hotel location is great, just minutes away from all the city center entertainment. Hotel's facade is beautiful and it seemed to have everything necessary for a great 5-star hotel.

My arrival was already by the evening and the check-in was quite messy. Actually the staff, although friendly, seemed disorganized and not so professional as the reception was barely empty.

Another thing that didn’t quite match my expectations was the room. We booked a Deluxe Corner View room, but we got nothing similar to a corner view. The room was indeed facing the Macau bay, but I felt somewhat disappointed when compared to what I've had seen on their website. Obviously I could have contacted the reception and things could have been sorted out quickly, but after a long trip I was too tired to do so.

Breakfast served was diverse and had quality. Once again staff seemed to lack some training, which is kind of odd for a world-class hotel brand. This disorganization reached its climax during check-out, as we noticed that the dinner we had the previous evening was not even included on the check-out bill. I decided to be honest and alert them for this kind of situations.

Nevertheless, by the end of my stay at Mandarin Oriental Macau, my disappointment was slightly reduced when we were offered a free shuttle ride to the pier. Unfortunately I don't recall his name, but the young employee that accompanied us to the pier was amazingly friendly and helpful even tough he seemed not so comfortable dealing with customers.

Resuming my experience, I find Mandarin Oriental Macau to be an average good hotel with some major flaws on the service provided by its staff but made me think it's not currently the best choice when staying in Macau.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 811 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a lovely suite with a great large bath overlooking the lake.

A well designed hotel with all the trademark mandarin touches. Unique lights in main areas and interesting art all around - especially liked the sculpture of a lady made from old blue and white plates in the lift lobby.

Great cocktails in the bar with stunning views at night.

Outside pool area is relatively small but very nice and the area feels a lot more personal than the large pool complexes with loads of children and noise at other hotels.

The staff were all very friendly with usual MO standards of service.

Chose this hotel particularly as it did not have all the noise and bustle of the bigger hotels with casinos and a great base to explore old Macau.

Great stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The new Mandarin Oriental in Macau is in a great location next to the lake with quality views over the bridges, however it does not offer good value for money. The rooms are very nicely decorated, if a bit on the small side. The main problem I had with this place is the lack of cohesion in the design; it's all a bit of a hodge-podge of art deco/modernism/ minimalism/gaudy fake plasticism.
For a five star hotel I much prefer the old Mandarin Oriental (now renamed the Grand Lapa) just 5 minutes away. Also, the service, although friendly they were not much help. Finally, If you want to get a taxi from the hotel entrance be prepared to wait (a long time) or head through to the MGM as the taxi's seem to avoid the Mandarin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinkAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Superb rooms, friendly staffs, very nice facilities quite pricey but it is worth the price. Great food! Had a nice stay :) and the view too from our room is stunning! Accessible place also. There's no casino, i think or i havent just seen it. Haha.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided to have a weekend splurge in Macau (from HK) and chose the Mandarin Oriental purely because of it's name and reputation and we were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we made our reservation the hotel stayed in touch, offering all sorts of incentives, including a free shuttle to the hotel from the Ferry Terminal.
On arrival in Macau, the hotel's representative found us and helped us into a very comfy van for the short drive to the hotel, where we were greeted (by name) by an avalanche of porters and guided to reception who offered a free room upgrade if we were prepared to wait a couple of hours until the room was ready. As it was only noon and the regular check-in time is 3 pm we didn't mind, especially as the hotel is connected to Macau's newest shopping mall, Centre One. After a very disappointing yum cha (everything was either cold or lukewarm) at Centre One's Square Eight Restaurant, we returned to the hotel and were immediately shown to our glorious room on a high floor overlooking all of Macau. Of special delight was the amazing bathroom and a luxurious King Size bed with beautiful crisp linen. Plus a flat screen TV with DVD player, a Nespresso coffee maker and free WiFi. The features were endless.
The only downside is a lack of restaurants in the hotel. There is only one called La Vida Rica, which is very formal and quite expensive, especially if you're looking for a fun, relaxed and casual weekend. Wandering (again) through the adjoining mall looking for somewhere to have dinner, we found another restaurant called Rossio, featuring a reasonable seafood buffet in a very casual atmosphere at an affordable price. Only downside, which really applies to all of Macau, are the loud Mainland Chinese tourists and hoards of noisy unruly kids.
Breakfast the next morning was served at La Vida Rica and we were glad we hadn't tried to eat there the previous night as the decor is truly awful, but the staff are amazing, just like the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor, even if it means paying a bit extra. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyAussieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked the Waterfront Suite for three nights to celebrate wedding anniversary and it was truly amazing. The room overlooks the Sai Van Lake and offers near panoramic views from both the living and the bed room. The hotel is centrally located next to the MGM, the Wynn and within walking distance to both of the Lisboa hotels. One complaint, however, centers around service. After checking-in, I tried calling customer service to arrange for a wake up call and order room service but no one seems to be manning the call center - this is surprising considering MO's commitmemt to service. It took more than 3 tries to get through. Also, the breakfast at the MO is nothing to brag about, wouldn't recommend buying it unless it came with the room. Everything else is Great!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Woodbury729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Truly a five-star hotel with service to match. This was our 2nd stay at Mandarin Oriental Macau - service was excellent as always, making for a v pleasant stay, and even more so this time with the upgrade to the lovely Waterfront Suite. The staff here are amazing and it feels like they will put in every effort possible to enhance your stay. Love that they use Aromatherapy Associates products! And the fact that it wasn't built above a casino in this city. Pool small but nice/uncrowded. Perfect for a weekend getaway, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
2.7 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Macau
Banyan Tree Macau
#5 of 94 in Macau
1,233 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,630 reviews
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Macau

Address: Avenida Dr Sun Yat Sen, Nape, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $194 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Macau is ideally situated in the heart of Macau's business, entertainment and high-end retail districts, offering easy access to all major tourist sites and transport hubs. Both Macau International Airport and the Macau-China border are only 10 minutes by car, while the Hong Kong-Macau ferry terminal is just a short five-minute drive away. From here, Hong Kong's airport can be directly accessed by ferry in 45 minutes and Central Hong Kong in just one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing