We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Nearby Hotels
$191
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
MGM Macau(Macau)
$204
$141
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$228
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Lapa Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
$128
$91
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Hotel & Casino(Macau)(Great Value!)
$105
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveler rating
714
142
34
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
142
34
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvida ricapremier viewferry terminaldeluxe lake view roommgm casinocake shoproom checkcorner roomdim summain restaurantan excellent hotelstar serviceshopping mallhotel experiencebuffet breakfastlobby loungeexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 904 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The new Mandarin Oriental in Macau is in a great location next to the lake with quality views over the bridges, however it does not offer good value for money. The rooms are very nicely decorated, if a bit on the small side. The main problem I had with this place is the lack of cohesion in the design; it's all a bit of a hodge-podge of art deco/modernism/ minimalism/gaudy fake plasticism.
For a five star hotel I much prefer the old Mandarin Oriental (now renamed the Grand Lapa) just 5 minutes away. Also, the service, although friendly they were not much help. Finally, If you want to get a taxi from the hotel entrance be prepared to wait (a long time) or head through to the MGM as the taxi's seem to avoid the Mandarin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinkAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Superb rooms, friendly staffs, very nice facilities quite pricey but it is worth the price. Great food! Had a nice stay :) and the view too from our room is stunning! Accessible place also. There's no casino, i think or i havent just seen it. Haha.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisRoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We decided to have a weekend splurge in Macau (from HK) and chose the Mandarin Oriental purely because of it's name and reputation and we were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we made our reservation the hotel stayed in touch, offering all sorts of incentives, including a free shuttle to the hotel from the Ferry Terminal.
On arrival in Macau, the hotel's representative found us and helped us into a very comfy van for the short drive to the hotel, where we were greeted (by name) by an avalanche of porters and guided to reception who offered a free room upgrade if we were prepared to wait a couple of hours until the room was ready. As it was only noon and the regular check-in time is 3 pm we didn't mind, especially as the hotel is connected to Macau's newest shopping mall, Centre One. After a very disappointing yum cha (everything was either cold or lukewarm) at Centre One's Square Eight Restaurant, we returned to the hotel and were immediately shown to our glorious room on a high floor overlooking all of Macau. Of special delight was the amazing bathroom and a luxurious King Size bed with beautiful crisp linen. Plus a flat screen TV with DVD player, a Nespresso coffee maker and free WiFi. The features were endless.
The only downside is a lack of restaurants in the hotel. There is only one called La Vida Rica, which is very formal and quite expensive, especially if you're looking for a fun, relaxed and casual weekend. Wandering (again) through the adjoining mall looking for somewhere to have dinner, we found another restaurant called Rossio, featuring a reasonable seafood buffet in a very casual atmosphere at an affordable price. Only downside, which really applies to all of Macau, are the loud Mainland Chinese tourists and hoards of noisy unruly kids.
Breakfast the next morning was served at La Vida Rica and we were glad we hadn't tried to eat there the previous night as the decor is truly awful, but the staff are amazing, just like the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor, even if it means paying a bit extra. The views are worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyAussieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked the Waterfront Suite for three nights to celebrate wedding anniversary and it was truly amazing. The room overlooks the Sai Van Lake and offers near panoramic views from both the living and the bed room. The hotel is centrally located next to the MGM, the Wynn and within walking distance to both of the Lisboa hotels. One complaint, however, centers around service. After checking-in, I tried calling customer service to arrange for a wake up call and order room service but no one seems to be manning the call center - this is surprising considering MO's commitmemt to service. It took more than 3 tries to get through. Also, the breakfast at the MO is nothing to brag about, wouldn't recommend buying it unless it came with the room. Everything else is Great!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Woodbury729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Truly a five-star hotel with service to match. This was our 2nd stay at Mandarin Oriental Macau - service was excellent as always, making for a v pleasant stay, and even more so this time with the upgrade to the lovely Waterfront Suite. The staff here are amazing and it feels like they will put in every effort possible to enhance your stay. Love that they use Aromatherapy Associates products! And the fact that it wasn't built above a casino in this city. Pool small but nice/uncrowded. Perfect for a weekend getaway, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews