We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient Church, Air Raid Tunnels, Fort and Lighthouse plus Cable Car Ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guia Fortress

Guia Fortress
Ranked #10 of 242 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Ancient Church, Air Raid Tunnels, Fort and Lighthouse plus Cable Car Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great attraction with nice views. This is a historical that represents many facets of Macau. The ancient church was built in the 17th century. Tunnels under the fort are open and served as an aur raid shelter. The lighthouse includes a display of weather signals used for storms. The cable car ride iced the cake on this visit for us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank waterfall9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    247
    68
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxing place to visit - great views of Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Avoid the big hilly walk up by the cable car at Flora gardens - its ridiculously cheap and will save your legs. Unlike the other sights in central Macau Guia Fortess is very quiet - with only some tourists hanging around. The gardens are lovely and quiet and the views are worth it. The chapel & lighthouse at the top are worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestreviewer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good walk up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The view aint very fantastic over there. And we had trouble finding this place. We couldnt find the bus service to this place, and hence we asked for directions for the bus service and we ended up walking to Guia Fortress by foot from Grand Lisboa. Tiring trip indeed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank QinYi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a great 360 degree view of Macau and mainland China. Great contrasts between the old and new architecture. The museum is not open on a Monday so that was disappointing. A must see location!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
603 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Good views but same as the other fort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

looking at a map, it seemed easy to walk from the ferry terminal to the fort. What we didn't realize is that there is a huge ridge that comes out from the southwest side of the fort hill and the only way to go around it is to walk all the way to the Grand Lisbon Hotel and then head north, took us about an 2 hours to walk from the ferry terminal to the fort. If I had to do it again I would either walk along the east side of the fort hill (along the highway) or take a taxi. Once you get to the southern fort hill entrance, the way to get uphill isn't clearly marked. Make sure to go up from the west (left) side to get up faster or take the jogger long route around for 30 mins like we did. Once you get up you get some city views, but they are mostly the same views you'd get from the Fortaleza do Monte (fort near the St. Paul ruins). At the top you could see the light house from the outside and go inside the little church and see some old frescos. If I was pressed for time, I'd skip this sight all together and see the other fort or go up by cable car which i didnt learn about until much later. The only benefit I found was that it was significantly less crowded and I got to see the flora garden on the way down.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guia Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing