We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Macau experience”
Review of Antonio Restaurant

Antonio Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 756 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Authentic Portuguese Cuisine Open Everyday From 12:00 Pm To 12:00 Pm Last Order - 10:30 Pm
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classic Macau experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not a place to drive to, being in the old part of Taipa with little parking nearby. However, the building, street and interiors give an indication of a classic Macau experience. On top of that, the Antonio where the restaurant name comes from is usually there, full of emotion and passion recommending meals and explaining to the full. Not the cheapest place, but never has disappointed yet, and always makes me leave with a smile on my face. It is my favourite place to bring tourists to when I was a local.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valdis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    118
    57
    31
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saltford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Antonio's gets better and better”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have visited Antonio s 3 or 4 times, this visit being my first to the new premises. The place is contained over a number of floors with the top floor having an outside dining area. The food is still maintained at a high standard cooking traditional Portuguese dishes. The decor in the new place raises it's status to luxury dining. Still a place I would continue to go to when in the area. My previous reviews have also covered the delights of the food so I do not need to expand further on this review, which covers the new premises.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good Portuguese food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

António was suggested by the concierge at the Sheraton Cotai and I recommend it. Very good food, great wine and ambience with fado music playing in the background. I suggest the grilled codfish.

Helpful?
Thank gdaniel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Antonio is a star”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is one of the best Portuguese restaurant this side of Europe. Antonio himself has been a mainstay and name for good cuisine in Macau for a long time. They fly in all their ingredients from Portugal (not sure about the CO2...) as you do not get succulent vegetables in China. The wine list is second to non and if you need to celebrate a sable sword is at hand to cut open that bottle of bubbly. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TCDHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Portuguese When in Macau”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found the venue a little hard to find however a friendly local walked my friends and I to the restaurant. Small & Cozy with a huge painting of the Chef as a main backdrop. Service was attentive and efficient. The cod fish balls were very good, almost brought me back to Oporto. The rice with seafood was also very tasty. Overall a nice escape from bling bling Macao.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_DEBOERDORREGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Antonio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing