We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been excellent.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belcancao

Belcancao
Ranked #69 of 708 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Could have been excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Its not my first time to visit this restaurant and is due to their superb qality of food and service that attracts me back with my family.
No doubt the food quality and selection continue to be the best in town and my favorite, however this time the service was a little disappointed.
Everything went superbed until the time i went for dessert, ice cream, when it was emptied and i tried to inform their chef who in return ask me to inform a serving staff about it.
Well I'm a guest and i believe he should take the initiative to inform his fellow to assist me if he is unsure of what can be done when the ice cream bucket is empty.
Hope improvements can be made by providing more guests interaction classes to the chefs who stays at the front and give them more situational trainings.
Anyway, other staffs were great and proactive, maybe is just this chef who was not in the mood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veteranito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    31
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every time we visit Macau,we have to have the buffet at the Belcanção.It's on our must-do-in-Macau list.Their buffet is always fresh and very delicious.
The service is excellent and the managers always find time to enquire about your meal. The waiters and waiters are very attentive.
What I love the most is their dessert.It's a pure delight! They have a huge variety to choose from.The chef will suggest you to try all,but it's almost impossible!
Belcanção will stay one of my favorite places in Macau to eat. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnofTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's hard to believe that quite a number of reviews did not rate this restaurant 5 stars. The dining experience was simply superb. It was 2 years ago since I last dined there. It still topped the lists of buffets I have ever had worldwide.

If you are looking for heaps of food in a confusing variety, this restaurant is not your cup of tea. To me, it is great since the place is not crammed with pushing or shoving guests devouring the food like crazy!!

Food quality was superb, there were some mild fluctuations due to seaons though. Every aspect was like fine dining although it was just a buffet. We met with the beef promotion with made-to-order wagyu carpaccio, strip loin and braised cheek, not up to the standard of a Michelin 3-star restaurant but not bad indeed especially the wagyu cheek. Agreed with the previous review, almost no Portuguese food was provided but as there were plenty of portuguese restaurants out there in Macao, this was not a big problem to me.
I think it's not fair if one tries to compare its double decker macaron with Laduree; its double boiled soup with the first class Chinese restaurants; its seafood with the platter in Nice or ts sashimi with the fish market in Japan & etc. Fruit may not be that sweet at times but it's far better than those soaked in syrup before serving as in some hotels.

I couldn't recommend the assistant manager, Mr Henriqie Kaner, highly enough. He remembered each of the guests & their tables and was extremely attentive. With a team well trained, the services were excellent and added credits to the dining experience. Hot water bottle, though not heated with a tea light, was constantly replaced to keep it hot! Let's bear in mind it is a buffet restaurant that costs only $488+10%, the service is impeccable. In terms of food, service and atmosphere, the dinner buffet is enjoyabke and is worth every penny spent. I shall return despite the huge selection of buffet restaurants available in Macao now!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
239 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“5 star buffet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Great buffet. It is expensive but you get what you pay for. Seafood is crayfish scollops prawns crab and more.
steaks are cooked as you wish .
there are many chef stations with Indian Italian Asian and salad selections. great range of sweets too.
wine deal of the day is worth having if you have 3 or more drinks.
service was great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Buffet Selections ~ moderate price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

great for buffet...both lunch and dining. Nice decoration... cozy and good selections for pan asian, indian and western food. The dessert is great too. Seafood selections is great, fresh and enough variety...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnimaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belcancao also viewed

 
Macau, China
 

Been to Belcancao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing