We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of The Countdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Countdown
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Service: I received very pleasant and genuine service from the staff at Hard Rock. The check-in staff was most helpful and eager to help us navigate Macau as she found out that it was our first time there. I also phoned the operator to request for nail clippers and they delivered it to me almost immediately. Upon check-out, the bellboy offered to bring our luggages to the basement shuttle bus area for us, even though we could clearly manage on our own.

Room: We stayed at the corner suite that was utterly spacious with a gorgeous view of the Venetian. It was a very lovely stay at an affordable price.

Location: Hard Rock has arranged for many shuttle buses to bring you to different places in Macau - Taipa Ferry Terminal, Galaxy Hotel (where you can take a shuttle bus straight to Taipa City), Sintra (where you can walk to Senado Square & St Paul Ruins). Also, the House of Dancing Water (must watch!) theatre is located right at the City of Dreams where Hard Rock is. Absolutely convenient!

Thanks for the lovely stay, and I will definitely be back at Hard Rock when I next visit Macau!

Room Tip: corner suite, high floor, view of the venetian, non-smoking floors for the non-smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kct37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twindragonfly, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments. This makes us wanted to 'rock' harder. We look forward to welcome you back to Macau soon. Till then, keep rockin'

Love-All-Serve-All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 978 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived late to hotel, and had only a few minutes until a show we were seeing started. The staff fast-tracked us, and we made the show with time to spare. The staff was attentive and friendly with every other encounter we had with them. The accommodations were also quite nice, and the group package deals are worthwhile.

Room Tip: Go see House of Dancing Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twindragonfly, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. It is definitely encouraging to the rockers to receive positive comments and we will keep rockin'

Look forward to see you soon!

Love -All-Serve-All

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm actually writing this review now in this hotel! It's the best out of the best in Macao in terms of services and value and everything! Me and my bf booked in to the corner suite today (wed) for our two years anniversary , reasonable price. They gave us a bottle of beautiful red wine and desert and fruits on arrivals! Service is amazing. We called the front desk for iPhone 5s charger, ice and everything, they always attended to us within few mins. Everyone in the hotel speak perfect English with warm smile! Great view from the room, shower shipper powerful and fancy mini bar! We stayed in all the five stars hotels in Macau, this one is best if you want a romantic weekend away with quality and value! Real crystal wine glass in the room and full set of mix station! U can download the latest song for free and order a classic quit at to play and mix and record your own album! Super location and just perfect!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Billena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Billena,
Congratulations again on your second anniversary! We are glad to know that we have managed to rock your stay.

Your review is definitely encouraging for our rockers to continuously strike for better service and we look forward to celebrate more anniversaries with you and your partner.

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at the Hard Rock for only one night on January 7th, it was my first time in Macau and the staff were really nice and helpful. I had requested a non-smoking room with a higher floor, they gave me the 25th and the room was clean and had a very nice view of the Venetian.
On the next day, I was moving my bags to my university, so I wasn't able to check out at 11am and the receptionist allowed me a late check out at 2pm free of charge.
Also had breakfast and lunch with room service and both were delivered in less then 30 minutes with all service in English.
My room also had an Ipod/iPhone dock station, iron, safe, water boiling machine, and free wifi internet (wich was working perfectly).
The Hard Rock Hotel is located on the resorts area outside of Mainland Macau, but they have free buses going to the airport, Taipa Ferry Terminal, Sintra (Mainland Macau), Macau Tower, and The Galaxy Complex wich is just 10 min. walking distance but buses are much more easier.

Room Tip: Higher Floors with a view to the Venetian, A/C and elevator are not particularly noise, so it should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Marjorie,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on us. We were very lucky to have you stay with us since this was your first visit to Macau.
We wish you all the best in university and hope you will come back and celebrate with us soon.

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Two other more expensive hotel in the complex called City of Dreams, including the Grand Hyatt, but Hard Rock easily puts the Hyatt to shame in terms of value, staff politeness and service. Its superbly run with attentive staff, not the coldness you get from the Hyatt. I think the Grand Hyatt should use their hotel in Macao as a case study on how a hotel can go down so much in such a short time since the opening.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks out across to the Venetian and the rest of Cotai and what is mushrooming into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisLHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Louis, thank you so much for your wonderful review on us.

It is really assuring to know that our rockers are always there and ready to rock your day. We will continuously to strive for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau, hopefully soon!

Till then, keep rockin'

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotels staffs were friendly and professional. We phoned to the reception to complained about the rusty kettle and they responded quickly and got it changed. Despite not situated in Macau city, there were free coach services from Macau ferry pier and Macau city to the hotel which is very convenient for guests. There are wide selections of TV channels for hotel guests too. Plus, there are free tickets to watch the Dragon's Treasure when you present your room card. Most rooms are connected to one another. Furnitures and electricals are a bit old for a 4-star hotel which made it slightly pricier than other similar grade hotels. The kettle was rusty, cups were dusty. Wall mounted shelves in the toilet were scratchy and there were some stains on the walls. There weren't many food options for hotel guests too and most restaurants within City of Dreams are very expensive. Guests may need to walk over to the Venetian right across the road for better food options (Venetian has plenty of food stalls for lower budget dining).

Room Tip: As most rooms are connected to one another, if privacy is of importance to you, state your preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank py0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us.

It is definitely discouraging to know that we are unable to create a memorable stay for you during your last visit. Please accept my apologies that we were not able to deliver the experience you were hoping for.

We take all our guests' feedback seriously and will use it to better improve ourselves. We hope your experience with us before will not hinder you from returning to us and give us a second chance.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Hotel Macau.

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed a night, came over from Hong Kong by ferry, easy to get the bus to the hotel and great service at the hotel.
Room had very good amenities and tremendous views. Pool on the 3rd floor is fantastic with a swim up bar.
Good place top stay to see House of Dancing Water which is downstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMacau, Manager at The Countdown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your review on us.

It is motivating to know that we have made your stay a memorable one. We will continuously to strive for better service and we look forward to welcome you back to Hard Rock Macau, hopefully soon!

Take Time To Be Kind
Connie Kaw
Manager, Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
761 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.6 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countdown

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China (Formerly Hard Rock Hotel Macau)
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $114 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countdown 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Countdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing