We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, New, Comfortable Hotel!”
Review of The Countdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Countdown
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Hard Rock is a Relatively New Hotel. Staff are warm and helpful. Funky design and very Comfortable beds. Even though the hotel's policy only allows 2 in a room, but i'm sure it can sleep 4 people comfortably in a 2 queen bed room. Hotel isn't as crowded as the ones in Venetian. Has a Food Court the 2nd level, mostly branded shopping. Hard Rock Restaurant serves really good food, a live band from canada was performing when we were there.

Best thing of all, There's FREE Wfi provided for both visitors and hotel guests throughout the entire City Of Dreams (which comprises of Hyatt, Hard Rock and Crown Hotel) You definitely won't be able to find unlimited free wifi elsewhere in Macau!! This is also a good place if you want to get away from the crowds..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 984 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

You know what you are getting when you get a room at the Hard Rock, regardless where in the world you choose to stay at when it comes to accomodations at this fine establishment.

However, Hard Rock Hotel Macau is relatively new and though the staff are very warm and welcoming and helpful, and the hotel is swank and brand new, with comfortable rooms and great views of the city of dream and the ocean, the two issues which bothered me were:

-the lack of themes in the macau hotel rooms..they were just like any other typical 4 star hotel. Compared to the bali establishment, the macau rooms just did not tell you/remind you where you were and what was so special about the hotel

-the attached mall in which the hotel is based is dull, boring with so much of wasted space, and for the cost to build the hotel and "mall" you wonder if they actually got value for money to begin with.

The food at the restaurant on the 2nd floor (hard rock restaurant) was average and nothing to shout about. Had ribs and my partner fish and chips and we both left with nothing much to say other than "yea, it was alright."

Atmosphere in the restaurant is average at best, though the staff are lively and attentive but the hotel just...misses for me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for four nights in two connecting rooms. The view from 25th storey facing the Venetian was fantastic. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Apart from the issue on having a toilet separated from the bathroom which most reviewers had commented, we have no problem with the rooms.
Breakfast was served at Hard Rock Cafe with a decent spread, and service was good. The concierge was also very helpful with travel advice, and even helped us to make a trip to Venetian to arrange for our cotaijet tickets back to HKIA.
The City of Dreams (where the Hard Rock is located) provides several shuttle services - not just to the ferry terminals, airport and borders, but also to travel attractions such as Macau Tower, Taipa Village and Hotel Sintra (from there you could walk to Largo de Senado within ten minutes). To go to Coloane (e.g. to Panda Pavilion), one could take the public bus from the bus stop (T375) along the main road, as there are several buses that go there.
Its rates are the most competitive ones in Cotai, and considering the good service, clean rooms, and good accessibility, i would strongly recommend Hard Rock Hotel.

Room Tip: if you are intending to watch House of Dancing Water, you could consider to book the package which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It's on November during our honeymoon in Macau. It's the first hotel in our itinerary. We choose this hotel because it's simply we want to watch the famous Dancing Water Show and they offered a package that's including the show and the room with a reasonable price.
The hotel Itself located in City of Dreams, an integrated place consist of hotel, shopping mall & casino.
The room is tidy and very clean. It's not a big room but it's more than enough for both of us. It has modern and minimalist design. we love the view as we can see the famous Venetian hotel across the road.
Surprisingly we love the breakfast, not many to choose but they serve a very good taste of food mainly western style with some Asian selection.
As expected we really enjoyed the Show. It's really amazing a world class performance.
l would recommend this hotel and the show to anyone who travel to Macau.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunawan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is very cool place for any thing you would like to do. Let it be Disc...Casino...action shows....well maintained rooms.... Flashy stuff all around....Only thing it looks little away from reality... You will feel that you are at Movie Set.....But Nice experience for a short stay.......

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Its a round hotel with very good view all around....try to be on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayKMaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

great service.
huge and clean casino.
excellent Hardrock Cafe...
...
the room is so big, very clean and comfortable.
the view of room is perfect.
...
i could do everything in this hotel.
shuttle bus from ferry terminal, gift shops, casino, bar, restaurant, etc...
the place connected with 'City of Dream' and very close to 'Venetian' and other spots.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosAHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a short stay in Sept'12. A standard Hard Rock Hotel. Good thing is it's part of the City of Dreams and opposite the Venetian and Sands Entertainment Complex with the Galaxy a stone's throw away. 5 minutes from the airport.

Got a standard room which is smallish but nice. 3 fixture bathroom which is odd if it is a 5 star hotel. Heard the pool is lovely but did not use it also did not try breakfast.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.4 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countdown

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China (Formerly Hard Rock Hotel Macau)
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $116 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countdown 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Countdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing