We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard Rock Macau - my second stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hard Rock Macau - my second stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Hard Rock Macau (HRM) in May 2012 while holidaying in HK & Macau. The experience was good. So I have returned to stay 4 nights at the HRM again in Oct 2012 to reaffirm that its quality is consistent.
I would say I was not disappointed. The service and room qualities are just as good as my first stay. Such consistent quality is a reflection of a good hotel.
The standard room that I stayed in both times is spacious and comfortable. Comtemporarily designed and furnished. Front desk staffs are helpful and engaging both times I stayed there. The room rates are very reasonable for its quality.

The HRM is one of 3 hotels in the City of Dreams casino "integrated resort". The other 2 being Hyatt and Crowne. On the ground floor there is a shopping arcade filled with fashion brand name shops, restuarants and cafes. Along it are 2-3 access entrances into the casino.

Dining at the Hard Rock Cafe in the HRM is unfortunately only an average experience. On the other hand the Beijing Kitchen (not in HRM but in City of Dream) is quite delightful. There is a food court for budget eating called the Food Paradise somewhere on the second floor. Not the most exciting place in term of food varieties on offer but a great view down onto the water feature at the front of the City of Dreams casino and across to the Venetian casino.

When in Macau one MUST NOT miss the Water Dance show in the City of Dream. It's simply spectacular.

The City of Dreams is adjacent to the Venetian and Sands casinos. The Galaxy casino is about 5 minutes drive away. Amongst all the major casinos in Cotai part of Macau they provide enough shuttle bus services to/from almost everywhere in Macau (ferry terminal, airport, city, inter-casinos ...... ).

I would not hesistate to recommend it to any fellow traveller who is visiting Macau.

Kewlmeister
Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kewlmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    334
    90
    29
    25
See reviews for
234
310
59
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel in Macao and the attention and service was very good. The decoration of the rooms are great, pool is very neat and the SPA is amazing! To improve, I believe that the casino is very small and if you are going for the gambling, I strongly suggest you go to the Venetian just accross the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is my second time to stay here, this time with cousins. We stayed for one night and booked for a package that included meals (breakfast, food and entertainment vouchers) which was excellent value! The service was consistent from my first stay,courteous, polite staff members. The whole atmosphere was fun. If you want a short term stay with friends accessible to the bigger hotels such as the Venetian, Galaxy - this is the place for you. We had dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe (open until 2am) and they had a really cool band playing. Hotel room was clean, the internet access was a little slow and kept cutting off but enough to get access to your emails etc. Wish we had more time to watch the Dancing Water and the Dragon Treasure sure which came as part of the package but perhaps next time. I'll definitely be back here and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try and ask for the Venetian view as the back part is like a desert!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went to Macau for a weekend with my Daughter to (a) hang out in Macau and (b) see the big casino show called Danding Waters.
The Hard Rock was the cheapest of the hotels included in a package deal for the show and is attached to the City Of Dreams casino complex where the show is based.
Very modern, huge rooms, great pool area (with music playing underwater as well as out). Spent afternoon lazing around said pool, which after both of us working solid the previous weeks was great. Not many people there. Great warm spa!
Dancing Waters Show, reputably, cost US$500mil to put together. Mega. The staging was staggering. No story to speak of, just a platform to show off more and more death defying stunts.
Show finishes at 9.30 (judging by the age of the audience it was their bedtime) so we went to the Hard Rock Cafe to watch a band and have some drinks. All very enetertaining.
Breakfast is served (included in package price) in the HRC. OK but pretty basic. The only low point was the egg station. The guy there either didn't care, was incompitent, or it might have been his first day. Whatever for not may people there he took 10-15 minutes to do each job. Usually it is a speed art performance with 2 pans going. Is there anything easier to cook than eggs? I will say the head floor guy did spend most of his time personally cheering up each disgruntled egg fancier so cudos to him. The egg guy has to go. I even offered to do ours!
So all up, great for a night. Went to the old town of Macau on the Sunday which is small but nice. Portugese tarts are great.
Recommended.

Room Tip: For old town ask you cab to take you to St Pauls and walk down the hill to the Portugese streets. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here overnight during our Macau weekend trip. We stayed in the king sized bedroom. They had a good package that included the room booking, buffet breakfast for two, 2 tickets to the House of the Dancing Water show, 100HKD entertainment voucher and 2 tickets to the Dragon’s Treasure show. Had a great time because of this.

Overall: If the package still exists the next time I stay in Macau, I’ll take this hotel. If not, I’d probably try another one that isn’t in the City of Dreams. But I would still recommend this hotel—it’s cool.

Pros:
- Staff spoke good English, I barely had to reword or act out anything when we checked in/checked out. Very attentive.
- Very modern room. Compared to the other hotels that I stayed in before, the TV in this one allowed us to check our latest bill, which I thought was cool if you wanted to keep track of your spending. Good music selection. We had our own bar equipment, too (Yey!)
- I liked the layout of the pool area. There seemed to be a buffet BBQ lunch of some sort.

Cons:
- Though there are cafes and restaurants nearby, there’s no foodcourt (like in the Venetian or Galaxy) for a quick fix.
- Not as many shops as the other hotels.

Room Tip: Though they might cost a bit more, get the rooms facing the Cotai strip. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAnnah Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Just had a one night stay at Hard Rock hotel. It was in a standard room and fairly nice size. Comfortable and clean. Check-in was easy too, very easy when compared to Venetian. Also service was good too.

I would skip the 'food paradise' at the City of Dream though, its more like 'food prison'. The food was terrible - we tried three of the different stalls, and gave up in preference to McDonalds, which we generally try to avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
150 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located on the Cotai Strip within the City of Dreams complex. Venetian is right on the opposite side of the main street. 5 minutes by taxi from the airport. Shuttle buses available to/from the airport.

- Checking in was a breeze.
- Typical “Hard Rock” style – loud, garish colours, retro-like and with sounds of rock music
- Hard Rock casino, although linked with the Crown Towers and Grand Hyatt casinos, is less crowded and rock music is played. Liked the atmosphere but don’t think most gamblers would appreciate it!
- Shopping mall located within the complex itself, although nowhere near as large as the Venetian shopping mall.
- Rooms are decently sized. Most importantly, it’s clean. Interiors are colorful and modern.
- Nice hotel pool
- Mattress is soft but firm. Sleep quality is good.
- Food at Hard Rock Café is average, at best. And the price of alcoholic beverages is on the high side.
- Although shuttle buses are available to downtown Macau, it is a 20 minute ride. You may take a taxi, but it’s a bit on the expensive side.

Would certainly recommend this hotel - its slightly more unconventional, more hip & with rock music. Good value for money too. And it feels less crowded and chaotic compared to the mega huge hotels nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#5 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Macau

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Macau
Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Macau 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing