We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the City of Dreams Hotel”
Review of The Countdown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Countdown
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This stunning Hard Rock Hotel which located in a City of dreams complex, which across the street from The Venetian Resort...The Hard Rock Hotel have sets the stage for unsurpassed indulgence and unforgettable excitement.
I've got a room which have a pool with the beach & tropical panoramic view. The room is designed in a modern retro style. But , for me the Venetian Resort's room more better compare to this Hard Rock's room. At the lobby we can find a legendary Hard Rock Cafe & Hard Rock Souvenir store. Tasteful Decorations, an enormous Casino and plenty of great shopping & restaurants, making the Hotel guest fulfill with their needs.
If you travel with family and bring your kids a long. Don't worry your kids will get bored, because located of the 2nd floor of Hard Rock Hotel is a Kids Land.
The Hard Rock Hotel Macau offers everything the traveler might expect from the luxurious Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TroelsJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enrich your Travel experience with Hard Rock MACAU as unique and authentic as the destinations in which this hotel and casino are located. Embark on most fascinating Voyage of discovery at the Hotel & casino.

Room Tip: A touch of your current life style to your next big discovery , even the prices is expensive if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YongKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the double queen bed room. There were 4 of us and the room has more then sufficient space for us. In Macau, we notice that the complimentary bottle water is very small just 200ml and only 2 are given in each room. Luckily, the hotel provided more when requested. The bottled water sold is extremely expensive.
The hotel at the city of dreams is also very convenient as at the ground level there are quite a lot of shops for shopping.
The hotel also have many shuttle bus services to and from various location around Macau so it is very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kohogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Quirky rooms, very spacious (we had a corner suite) there is a large shower room and bath in the middle of the room. Large spacious lounge and king size bed.

Music all around in the hotel and great staff eager to please. we also got a good deal looking direct in their website (a suite for nearl same price as normal room) so i would recommend doing this.

The city of dreams is alos a nice place with 3 hotels and is central on the cotai strip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamez1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My overall experience staying at the Hard Rock Hotel was pretty good. However around 5am or so, there was someone banging loudly on our room door. After a while the banging stopped however this experience was definitely not pleasant.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family remember to request for a room not in the casino floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MavisLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Unlike the Venetian Macau lobby that's always buzzing and busy with guests/visitors, the HR lobby was reasonably quiet. Check-in was smooth and fast, the receptionist and staff were courteous and helpful.

Our room was spacious for 2, overlooking the Crown hotel and its swimming pool. Nice enough view :-). The bathroom was simple but carried all the amenities you could think of. I quite like the smell of the toiletries : sweetgrass.

I love the swimming pool with its cabanas, pool-bar and low lounges. There's sandy area next to the swimming pool that makes it look like a beach-front resort. The "Leisure-Attendants" by the pool were friendly and helpful. They tried hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible in an unobtrusive way.

Just like any other hotels/casino in the area - there are high-end shops near the lobby. Even though the casino was quite busy - that doesn't seem to affect any other area which I like. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who comes to Macau: good hotel, good service and good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forrestfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is situated in the City of Dreams where the Water show is, and also other shows. Everything at your doorstep. And the Venetian shopping is just across the road. Perfect location. The rooms were spacious and fitted our family of 4 well (with 2 queen beds). Pool was remarkable! There was sand and music, and lounge chairs just above water level, cabanas aplenty, great music in the background, a good bar for cocktails, a hot pool and also colourful swimming coils for the kids. Bliss....
I also have to mention breakfast: at the HARD ROCK CAFE!!!!!!! Wow!!! Food was great, as was service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPP_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.2 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#23 of 94 in Macau
1,009 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.6 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countdown

Address: City of Dreams, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau, China (Formerly Hard Rock Hotel Macau)
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $114 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countdown 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the Rock 'n' Roll lifestyle! A hotel with attitude, Hard Rock Hotel Macau entertains guests' dreams of a rock 'n' roll lifestyle. Check into any of our 322 guest rooms including two ultra-chic and luxurious Rock Star Suites, take in the stunning views of Cotai, and soak in the atmosphere in the guitar-shaped pool, the hotspot for parties and entertainment. It's 24-7 indulgence and everyone's invited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Countdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing