We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, near Senado Square, sights and restaurants”
Review of Hotel Man Va

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Man Va
Ranked #74 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The good:
- Not-so-young but nice and helpful receptionists.
- Awesome location. It's just near Rua da Felicidade, Senado Square, and Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro where you'll find bus and taxi stops.
- Offers basic amenities (tissue rolls, toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo (Kao "Feather" brand) and body wash in big pump bottles, hand soaps, and combs)
-TV, electric kettle, air purifier
-Wifi available in all floors
-Lei Hong Kei Restaurant just right in front of it, small porridge eatery and a mini convenience store beside it
-Shower heater works well
-Simple

The bad:
-Hard beds
-Carpeted floor looks dirty/stained
-Type G electrical adapter in outlets available didn't work and I noticed Type I sockets were used. I had to unplug the air purifier and use the outlet (converted to Type A) to charge my phone and camera. (outlet guide http://wikitravel.org/upload/shared//thumb/8/85/Plugs.png/400px-Plugs.png )
-Receptionists understand little English so you might need to know some Cantonese or show street or venue names in Chinese letters if you'll ask for directions because they might not understand the indicated Portuguese names
-Minor flood from the street might enter the first floor (entrance/reception area) if there's a terrible storm (better check the weather forecast)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The receptionists are very helpful, they even patiently show us the way to the places we wanted to go, room is affordable, cheap, clean, big, have a small bathtub and the bed is comfortable. They even gave us a bigger room so that my whole family can stay and sleep well. Hotel at the great location, walking distance to all the historical attraction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeYen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Again, it was difficult to find a triple room within our budget in Macau and we found one here. Getting to the hotel from ferry terminal is easy - take bus #3A, 10, or 10A to M142 金碧文娛中心 (Kam Pek Community Centre). On your left is a small alley - hotel is 5m away. Good location, close to most of the tourist spots.

I feel the rate it's a bit expensive for a hotel within it's class. Nonetheless, the room is clean and the bathroom is big for a room this size. The mattress was a bit hard (as commented by some other reviewers) and I had to bear with the cigarette smell for our 2 nights stay here (in fact everywhere in Macau smells of cigarette smoke, especially the casinos). WIFI did not work some of the time. The hotel requires $200 of any currency for key deposit, returnable upon check out. Front desk staff was friendly, but that maybe because we can converse with them in Cantonese. Many tourist site are within walking distance from the hotel - so good if you are here to do sight seeing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenchime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Offers basic amenities, but still a good choice for those in tight budget. we stayed for 2 nights, room is fine, clean, big enough for 2 adults, a/c. TV, kettle, is fuctioning well. Good location. tourist spot is near by and within walking distance. But the hotel is not easy to find, pls prepare a good map or else flag a cab to go there. Staff is just ok & still helpful and assist us to get a cab to airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caterpillertrakindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel just offers basic amenities. But definitely good choice for budget travelers. First, the room is ok. We booked the triple room and it is clean, big enough. The aircon is well functioning and the bathroom is decent and tidy. The location is also recommendable because it is near senado square, ruins of st. Paul , shopping and souvenir shops. If you want to have casino, Grand Lisboa is just a 10 minute walk. Transportation is also ok, since the buses going to ferry terminal are passing by to this street. And the manager of this hotel is very very helpful. He has good english that able us to understand his directions.. 

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aizer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our flight coming into Macau came late at night and so it made sense to book a cheaper hotel in the city. As I found out in Macau, even the so-called budget accommodations didn't come cheap. It was $100 or so a night at Hotel Man Va booked via agoda. What greeted me was a hotel smelling of Chinatown with a lobby that eschewed all principles of interior decoration. Our bedroom made me happy though since three beds were neatly laid out for all three of us (my two daughters & me) There was an old box type TV and the hot & cold shower was fully-functioning. This was clearly a no-nonsense hotel that didn't susbcribe to any aesthetics that I expected of hotels but it served its purpose. The great plus factor is its location since it was right smack in the old quarter of Macau with its bakeries, pastry shops and Chinese restaurants. A good Chinese meal was just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annalyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Upon arrival I didnt have enough Patacas to pay for the taxi and asked for reception lady to lend me 20 PAtacas, aprox 2 EUR, She was shouting and refusing, even the taxi was in the middle of the street obstructing traffic.

Lady at reception even refused to change money, shouting (she didnt speak any english) while the driver was as puzzled as I was.

The rooms look more like a college residence than a hotel, small beds, hard as stone and wireless not working.
At least it was clean...

Close to Senado square, just 5 min walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juanratokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
East Asia Hotel Macau
East Asia Hotel Macau
#72 of 94 in Macau
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#87 of 94 in Macau
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hou Kong Hotel
Hou Kong Hotel
#63 of 94 in Macau
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macau Masters Hotel
Macau Masters Hotel
#55 of 94 in Macau
94 reviews
0 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#37 of 94 in Macau
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#43 of 94 in Macau
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Man Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Man Va

Address: No.30 Travessa da Caldeira, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $66 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Man Va 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Man Va reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing