We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portuguese cuisine in the Michelin level but affordable price”
Review of Le Cesar Old Taipa

Le Cesar Old Taipa
Ranked #241 of 990 Restaurants in Macau
Price range: $4 - $51
Description: Opened in 2017, is the second restaurant of our group founded in 2004. Located in Old Taipa Village, it offers genuine traditional Portuguese food, prepared by our experienced Portuguese Chef. With a wide selection of wines, the diversified menu also includes homemade pizzas and pastas. Very spacious dining room for groups or family celebrations. Warming atmosphere for couples.
Restaurant details
Description: Opened in 2017, is the second restaurant of our group founded in 2004. Located in Old Taipa Village, it offers genuine traditional Portuguese food, prepared by our experienced Portuguese Chef. With a wide selection of wines, the diversified menu also includes homemade pizzas and pastas. Very spacious dining room for groups or family celebrations. Warming atmosphere for couples.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

I am a Portuguese Cod Fish (Bacalhau) lover, and I have tasted Bacalhau in many restaurants in Macau, Hong Kong and Portugal, the Bacalhau and Portuguese cuisine in Le Cesar Old Taipa are very authentic. I would like to say that it is Portuguese cuisine in the Michelin level but affordable price.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCesarTaipa, Social Media Coordinator at Le Cesar Old Taipa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Hi Victoria,
Thank you! We are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2017

An excellent new addition in Macau, Le Cesar Old Taipa is a real restaurant, unlike the one in New Taipa, which is basically a cafe serving meals. The space is very nice, service is good, food is good as well, judging by the seafood rice I ordered, and the manager (I assume he was the manager) is very friendly and attentive. If you want to try a starter and you are not sure about which one to choose, ask the manager or order immediately the puff pastry stuffed with Chèvre cheese, apple and honey, which was his suggestion. You will not regret it. I will surely return to this restaurant and I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank geodonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCesarTaipa, Social Media Coordinator at Le Cesar Old Taipa, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are very much valued and we stand by what we write in our website - "The mission is simple" to serve delicious, genuine food that guests will want to taste week after week".
Obrigado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

It is my third visit to this restaurant, and it is currently my favorite Portuguese Restaurant in Macau! You can try pretty much everything on their Menu! Staff is very sweet, and the owner very considerate to their guests! Amazing experience!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCesarTaipa, Social Media Coordinator at Le Cesar Old Taipa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Hi Rita! Thank you so much for the inspiring review. We are very happy you enjoy it and we hope so see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Being familiar with the original Le Cesar restaurant, I was curious about the recently opened Le Cesar Old Taipa.
Located in Old Taipa village and with a much larger seating area, I found it equally welcoming and with the same excellent cost-quality ratio.
Food is great, cooked with fresh ingredients and attention to detail is evident.
Service follows in the footsteps of the original venue, with friendly and helpful staff.
Will definitely visit again and highly recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose Aires R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCesarTaipa, Social Media Coordinator at Le Cesar Old Taipa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Hi! Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are grateful. Hope to see you again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

The name is very well known in Macau and that's the only thing that connects the new Cesar with the old one. Everything else is different, and as explained by one of its owners it is only due to licensing reasons. But in what concerns food and wine this is one of the new temples to enjoy good Portuguese food.
Here you can find excellent Portuguese dried ham ("presunto"), cheeses as well as magnificent Portuguese wines. I specially recommend to try the seabass and clams rice, for sure the best you can find in all Macau region, with lots of fresh coriander.
The beef steak, the "ibérico" pork steak, the fresh prawn curry, the Portuguese clams, the seafood rice, the grilled octopus with olive oil and new potatoes, the cod fish, are also choices that you won't regret.
Besides you have always a good wine to go with since Diogo Giraldes, the resident director and manager, is also a wine lover. Leave some space for the desert because the Chef is a Portuguese of the younger generation and he knows what he is doing.
Prices are very reasonable for the quality of what you can get (HKD/MOP 300/600 person/meal, varying according to what you eat and the wine you drink) and this is a very important option nowadays when the town is loaded of fake Portuguese restaurants, whose owners and "chefs" never learned properly how to eat and cook Portuguese food, with awful service and lack of cleanliness, where you are charged astronomical prices as if you were dining in a Michelin starred restaurant. Remember to book in advance.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SAC_Portogallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeCesarTaipa, Social media coordinator at Le Cesar Old Taipa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Portogallo, thank you very much for the kind words and the time you put into writing. We are grateful. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Cesar Old Taipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing