We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel i ever stayed”
Review of Ole London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ole London Hotel
Ranked #41 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worst hotel i ever stayed”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

this is really terrible. waited for so long at reception to check in, where there is no queue.
the room is so stuffy & hot & air cond is not working at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lealoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    357
    165
    29
    19
See reviews for
82
119
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
quezon city, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We never paid for a ride since everything is walking distance (Senado square is 10 min walk). We are near restaurants,small shops and bus stops. The hotel rooms are quite small(1 side of bed is against the wall) but clean and newly renovated. We have windows that opens to a side street. There is a small park and playground in front of the hotel. Since we spend most of the time outside touring it's a good place for just sleeping.

Room Tip: Some floors are in between elevators, so you take around 3 steps up or down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank penoybalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nong Khai, Nong Khai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I couldn't believe the size of the room at this hotel, no room to unpack your suitcase, it was minuscule , and I have travelled to this part of the world before, so I expected small, but this was ridiculous . Not only small, but no window so it felt more like a claustrophobic cell than a hotel room. We asked for a bigger room with a window, but it was hardly bigger and was going to cost an extra 100 HK dollar per night, so we stayed put.

On the plus side, the location is good, you can walk to all the main attraction easily, and there is a free shuttle bus from the top of the road to The Venetian Casino. There also a host of good restraints in the small lanes behind this hotel going towards the main square( turn right outside the hotel and first left and weave your way through)

Finally, 2 years ago we stayed at The Sun Sun Best Western next door for about the same price and had a much better experience. I would recommend you check the room before checking in at this hotel

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It’s conviniently located not far from Senado Square (but far enough from the main street so it has more quiet environment). There is a public park in front of the hotel so it is nice to stroll along. There is a money changer next to the hotel that sells and buys money from several countries, not US dollars only. However, Hongkong dollars are widely used in Macau. If you have Hongkong dollars it is NOT necessary for you to buy Macau currency.
Public bus stops are nearby. The bus stop to the free shuttle to City of Dreams is also not far from the hotel.

Our room is a private twin bed. It is quite spacious , clean & nice. We’ve got a flat TV, a hair dryer,an electric teapot & beautiful cups as facilities in the room. The room is cleaned everyday.
The shower & toilet are clean. There is a glass partition to separate toilet & shower. We’ve got towels changed everyday. There are toiletries kit such as soap, tooth brush, shampoo, and even razors. The hot shower works well.

Maps of Macau are stacked on the front office desk. A lift is also there to go up or downstairs. I always love lift when I carry heavy luggage.

The young female staff who takes the day shift speaks English. Although she seems to be always busy with her computer, she will help you if ask for help. The old man who takes the night shift doesn’t speak English but he is attentive, helpful and always smiles politely.
I can’t say that the price in Ole London Hotel is cheap for a budget traveller like me but I think the price is still worthed the facilities & the convinience it offers.

Cons:
- The wifi doesn’t work in the rooms. You need to go to the lobby to get strong connection.
- My problem as a muslim is finding halal food. I think it will be very helpful for us if the hotel can help us find the halal food for muslims.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekazfootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Macau does not have many great options for a family of 4 on a budget. I came across Ole London Hotel after extensive searching on the internet. I could not find a family room anywhere so 2 double rooms were our best option economically. It is true that at Ole London you get what you pay for. Check-in was charmless and we had to ask for direstions to our rooms on the mezanine floor. We had rooms 103 and 105. Both were cramped and very basic. One had only a tiny vent for a window and the toilet was in the shower so the toilet got soaked when you turned the shower on it was so small. The other room had no window but instead had that delightful mouldy swamp-bog aroma you get in some cheap hotels in asia. The toilet was not in the shower though. We could see the better rooms from the street. These are the rooms shown on the website. If booking here, we suggest you request rooms not on the 1st floor.
The hotel was only a short walk to the town centre area (Centro) but don't expect directions from the front desk. We walked to this area for the taxi stand because there we no taxis closer to the hotel. We spent as little time in the hotel as possible and recommend the butterfly pavillion at the MGM Hotel if it is still on. Our kids (5 & 3 years) loved it.
If you want a refuge away from the hussle and bustle of Macau, I suggest you spend a bit more money and go somewhere more welcoming and comfortable. But if it's a cheap room you want, this is the place with low ceilings and wiffy smell thrown in.

Room Tip: Avoid level 1. Ceilings are low and there are no windows.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgirlinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Check-in was efficient.
Not very hospitable, youll get an electronic key and are pointed at the elevator with a roomnumber.

The room is small but clean.
Nice flatscreen-TV and a desk to write or to put your laptop on.
Toilet and shower are in one room, I didnt like the shower and the wash-basin is a bit small.

Beds are ok, I slept fine.
Staff arent really friendly, no basic politeness-skills like greeting or being friendly.

If you are in Macau it is ok to spend some more money to stay in another hotel.
Hotels are a bit overpriced in Macau so why not pay more and stay in a hotel where you are welcome?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richmer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Bottom line: rooms are clean. 10-20min walk to Ama Temple, lots of local eating placers nearby, a Macca's only 5min away, a 7-11 2min away and of course a 2min walk to the free Venetian shuttle bus.

However don't expect a warm or welcoming greeting if you check-in at night and see a bored looking, 'couldnt-be-bothered', 'what are you doing here', 'do I actually need to serve you male desk clerk in his mid-20's. He even told us, "you're room is on the 2nd floor...but actually it was on the first floor".

If you want better service, go to the Best Western 20meters next door.

-Mark

Room Tip: Go to the Best Western next door, if you want Standard hotel service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgrrholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#39 of 95 in Macau
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
0.1 mi away
Macau Masters Hotel
Macau Masters Hotel
#53 of 95 in Macau
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hou Kong Hotel
Hou Kong Hotel
#62 of 95 in Macau
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
1,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ole London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ole London Hotel

Property: Ole London Hotel
Address: No.4-6 Praca de Ponte e Horta, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ole London Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, contemporary and very discreet, Macau Ole London Hotel is an ideal place for the sophisticated traveler.Conveniently located in the Historic Center of Macau – a World Heritage Site, the hotel is just minutes away from popular attractions like the Ruins of St.Paul Church, A-Ma Temple, Ponte 16 and Avenida de Almeida Ribeiro - Macau’s commercial center. The hotel also right next to the Yuet Tung Terminal and only 15 minutes away by car from the New Macau Ferry Terminal and Barrier Gate.Surrounded by gift shops and restaurants that offer multicultural cuisines, Ole London Hotel is a perfect choice for backpackers and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ole London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ole London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing