We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable dining experience”
Review of The Eight

The Eight
Ranked #21 of 742 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unforgettable dining experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

One of our fellow hotel guests in Hong Kong highly recommended that we try The Eight during our day trip to Macau. And boy, am I glad that she did!

Tucked away behind an automatic door on the second floor of the Grand Lisboa Hotel and Casino, the dining room at The Eight transported us to a culinary haven. Extravagantly designed with dropped chandeliers and goldfish images on the lighted walls, the decor was impressive. As one of last parties seated for lunch, we essentially had the restaurant to ourselves. We were a little rushed to order but our waitress offered some suggestions for their more popular dishes and dim sum items.

We started with amuse bouches of minced meat, as well as abalone and pomelo, which was so delicious and refreshing. Shortly after we finished those delightful bites, our table was filled with shrimp dumplings in the shape of goldfish, pan-fried barbecue pork buns in the shape of hedgehogs, sauteed cristal blue shrimp with cashew nuts and bell pepper in chili sauce, prawns with eggplant in pumpkin sauce, braised lamb brisket, sauteed kale with dried shrimp and shrimp paste in casserole, and honey beans. Dessert may have been the best part of the meal. We enjoyed mango and coconut pudding with coconut ice cream, and a puff pastry with sweetened winter melon paste in the shape of a chick in a birds nest accompanied by pear sherbet. The baked alaska with red bean sherbet was set ablaze at the table and it was the best baked alaska that I've tasted.

The entire meal was incredible and the presentations were so inventive. The service was attentive and exquisite, which reflected the pride that they take in their food and in their 3-starred Michelin restaurant. Eating at The Eight was definitely a memorable experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    81
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“My favorite Chinese Restaurant in Macau”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The dim sum is good, the service is good, the price is reasonable, the atmosphere is good, the decor is good.... What more you can expect? The only thing to remind is, booking in advance is a must! Walk-in dinning is almost impossible!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laichunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food in Opulence Setting”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The restaurant setting is very luxurious, a mixture of dark and red furnishings. Once you stepped in, you are just wowed by everything.To save cost, we chose from the dim sum menu. The dishes were all so delicate that you couldn't even bear to eat them. You could see the effort being put into preparing the dishes. Goes without saying that the food is tasty, one of the best dim sum I had. Service was very attentive. The waitress continuously top up our tea. Great attention to details. The cutlery is normally located on the right side of the table but one of the waitress immediately shifted one set to the left upon seeing that my wife is left handed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Of price and sense”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The 3-Michelin-star Chinese-style restaurant “The Eight” is one of the top-class in Macau. Yet, its quality outputs are quite price-reasonable as different from many at that level. The dishes are well-served by highly-selected young waitresses dressed in cheongsam. One can really get immersed at foods and at their appearances simultaneously. The restaurant’s location on the Macau Island is easily accessible by foot and by public transports, which is an important point to many travelers in this today’s congested small city.

I would recommend trying “The Eight” for lunch first and choosing the various dim-sums such as shrimp dumplings, porcupine-like roasted port bun that is, in my view, better to have its bottom fried for a while before being served on the table. Bigger choices are Barbecued Pork (玫瑰蜜汁叉燒), Deep-fried Cristal Blue Shrimp Mousse filled with Goose Liver Pate (鵝肝醬藍天使蝦丸), Chilled Shredded Chicken with Bean Sheet Pasta and Sesame Oil (麻香粉皮手撕雞), Fried Rice Vermicelli with Shark’s Fin and Shredded Conpoy (桂瑤魚翅炒米粉), etc.

At the end of the meal, a tiny Portuguese tart and a small cup of milk tea, both not on the menu and not for take-away, will be followed to draw one's quick return. There are two notes for patronage at “The Eight”. The first is to book in advance. The second is to go in the number same as provided for the advance booking. Otherwise, any additional patrons may not be allowed to sit together as a rule to maintain their comfort standard even though to one's eyes, the table could be large enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R22LCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
954 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
“A unique and fun Cantonese Restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Eight is a unique Macau casino restaurant with lots of space between the tables, self-opening doors, a really impressive entrance, creative and fun-loving chefs, and cheongsam-clad waitresses with limited English who try very hard to please the small proportion of their customers who can’t speak Cantonese or Mandarin . We don’t feel that the restaurant should be judged by Michelin restaurant standards because about 80% of visitors to Macau are from the mainland. About 4% of visitors, and thus their customers (if they like Cantonese food), would be from Hong Kong or the West. Waitresses and supervisors are still struggling with English. For instance, neither our waitress nor her supervisor knew the Cantonese word for “oyster sauce” until a manager stopped by our table and told us. We were charmed by the culinary artistry of the chefs who formed the crispy barbecued pork in bak pao bun into the shape of what we thought was a hedgehog and cut a cherry tomato into the shape of a rabbit. We enjoyed also their mango and pomelo pudding and sesame pudding with sesame ice cream. We felt the price was quite reasonable compared to Hong Kong prices. It's good to book ahead of time. We were lucky to get a table for two when we asked at 10:15 am. There was only one table available, and was at 11:30 am. Be sure to appreciate the light show on the dark floor as you walk out of the restaurant: goldfish “swimming” with life-like motion, projected on the floor in front of you. We recommend The Eight for a good Cantonese meal and a fun overall experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eight also viewed

 

Been to The Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing