We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Alfonso 1890

Don Alfonso 1890
Ranked #79 of 724 Restaurants in Macau
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wasn't Impressed”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I went in to Don Alfonso with really high expectations because people had mentioned it was real authentic Italian food. Don Alfonso which was originated in Florence, Italy - been there and this Don Alfonso did not do it justice. Pasta was good but everything else was pretty much a miss. The Fish and Osso Buco needed seasoning. They didn't even make their own Bon Bons - which I found surprising. However, the service was up to par. If you don't want to wait for other restaurants nearby Don Alfonso will definitely have seating!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average food, sad atmosphere”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of my worst eating experience in Macau; I invited overseas friends and fell ashame by the poor quality of the food and total lack of taste...
Italian food can be so delicious but not at this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great ambience and excellent service!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I celebrated my birthday at the Don Alfonso in Macau in Feb this year. Their services were excellent and flawless. The restaurant style was vintage. We ordered a set dinner with at least 5 courses, plus we also got unlimited refill of chocolates and sweets from the buffet table. All the dishes were perfect. I would definitely return again next year for my birthday.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unun218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Michelin star food quality”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went to this restaurant at lunch, I always love their lunch set which is really value for money, I usually picked the 3 courses set lunch, do ask their staff for recommendation as the menu will change in a regularly basis, and the staff could suggest what will be the chef's signature dish to you, staff are very friendly!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Begonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really delicious portuguese food!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Alfonso is one of my favorite restaurants in Macau. The place is small and intimate. The food is non pretentious and not too pricey, while being some of the most delicious Portuguese food I have eaten.

Helpful?
1 Thank OuterLimitTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Alfonso 1890 also viewed

 

Been to Don Alfonso 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing