We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic maitre'd really made our night”
Review of Don Alfonso 1890

Don Alfonso 1890
Ranked #72 of 730 Restaurants in Macau
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic maitre'd really made our night”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Walking in we felt like we had been transported back to the 70s. If we hadn't booked a table we would have surely walked out just on the look of the place alone, but as the night progressed things improved. Our Maitre'd Salvatore took us through the extensive and intimidating wine list which looked more like a telephone directory. He recommended a very drinkable bottle of Dolcetto and after the chef's taster we enjoyed the sour, creaminess of the Artichoke in “Giudia style”, followed by the home-made scallops gnocchi. I would only recommend the gnocci if you love black ink sauce with sea urchins because the taste is strong but delicious if that is your thing. The Don Alfonso spaghetti was next with simple flavors and a sweet, tangy sauce that held itself to the pasta without a hint of oiliness. Our main was Ossobuco in gremolada with marrow and saffron risotto. A melt in your mouth dish, the meat came away clean from the bone and the marrow scooped from the middle was delectable. The ambience in the restaurant was flat and if it wasn't for Salvatore, who was chatty and full of food knowledge and recommendations, our night would have been average. We picked up a bottle of Don Alfonso virgin olive oil which I highly recommend even if you don't choose to dine there, and marmalade which I'm yet to sample.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mish8doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bland, and not very Italian”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A decent lunch, but very expensive for what is was.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ihbToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food but atmosphere is sterile.”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Don Alfonso 1890 is located in Grand Lisboa hotel and Casinos and is branch of the famous Michelin star restaurant in Italy. The decor is classical european with chandeliers but i feel it was too tacky. We had the lunch set menu which was very good value for money. Choices of 2-3-4-5 course menu with the cheapest at MOP$288 excluding taxes is very good value for what in effect is a top class establishment. The wife had a 2 course and i a 3 course. Each course was cooked perfectly. The poached egg with truffle oil was exquisite and the angle hair pasta with prawns was beautifully cooked, my main of the spring chicken was a delight and their is a extensive wine cellar as well. The quality of the food can not be faulted, the only negative is the sterile atmosphere, there was a good 6-7 tables there and not empty which i can imagine it to be with the but it didn't seem to work for me, maybe its the tacky decor. Anyway i would highly recommend this place especially for such a good value set lunch menu.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 5_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creepy, empty, and mediocre food”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

To be fair three of the people I was dining with had the pasta and tomato sauce and thought it was quite good. My $80 sole was terrible and about three bites worth of fish. Another dinner at my party had the lasagna and was not impressed. When paying $35 for a pasta dish it should be better than ok. The restaurant was completely empty at peak dinner hour and the decor was tacky. The wine list was impressive but the food disappointing and the atmosphere was bizarre and scary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kvv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“High class dining at the Grand Lisboa”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We were unable to get a reservation at Robouchon a Galeria, and wanted our 14-yr. old son to have a "fine dining" experience in Macau, mostly to see if he remembered how to use utensils other than his fingers to transport food to his pie-hole.

Don Alfanso is a very lovely space, with well-trained staff who try very hard (maybe a little too hard) to please. Tables are nicely spaced. We thought about doing the tasting menu, but there was so much on the menu we wanted to try that we decided against it. (The whole table has to commit to the tasting menu.)

The sommelier, Joseph Leung, is a charming Italian who has lived in Asia for most of his life. The wine list is ridiculous; it's the size of the NYC phone book, so unless you really know what you want, you will want to rely on Joe to help you out. We ordered all over the place, so he had quite a job, but fulfilled it very well.

A wonderful meal in a formal, yet accessible setting. Presentation is exquisite, if a little self-conscious. Don Alfanso himself designs all the dishes, etc., which they make a big deal about, but seemed a little like overkill to me. You really don't need to order dessert, as the complimentary plates of petit-fours do very nicely, but we did split the chocolate ravioli and it was great.

You'll pay a lot for it, but it is a wonderful meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollybloom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Alfonso 1890 also viewed

 

Been to Don Alfonso 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing