We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Ali Curry House

Ali Curry House
Ranked #112 of 770 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was wandering around the lake and found this gem. Will second another post: the African Chicken was quite good. Really tender meat and lip-smackin' curry flavor (not spicy, though, if you like it hot). Beer comes in a giant mug if that's the mood you're in. The patio was cozy and quiet with great views across the lake to the tower.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leslei n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great Noodles”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were taken here recently by friends when visiting Macau. The restaurant is typical Portuguese style - small and unprepossessing but the food is good. We particularly liked the Singapore noodles which were spicy and full of vegetables and prawns. The beef curry was also good and the two soups we tried - vegetable and beetroot were also tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swissericsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great view of Sai Van Lake and Macau Tower from the restaurant. Awesome and tasty food in a very warm environment. They offer outdoor seating at night too, so the view plus the food makes it all the better. The bar can rarely been seen and it's not distinguishable enough to even call a bar, but you know where the drinks came from. The atmosphere is great with passing service. The waitresses do have an attitude.

The Bacalhau com natas is a very fulfilling dish, if you're into salted fish with potatoes shred. It is a little too salty, but the taste is unique. Another recommendation would be the beef or lamb curry. Aromatic taste that is different from others. BBQ skewer is a great appetizer and awesome with rice! We also ordered a stir-fried calms in sauce, very buttery taste and amazing. They offer a variety of seafood so you could try them out. A LI fried rice is house style, all the flavors are very eventful! The fried shrimp "balls" was a disappointment in terms of quantity.

As for drinks, DO NOT open the water bottle at your table because they WILL CHARGE YOU! If you wait long enough, the waitress would bring you glasses of water. We did order a jug of Sangria to be celebratory, and it was strong! Great flavor, but definitely not for the weak!

Price are reasonable as we did not order a lot considering we have 6 people. We do keep the rice coming to match with the curry, skewers and bacalhau com natas!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sadista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,701 reviews
1,777 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12,214 helpful votes
“Very good African chicken dish, highly recommendable”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had lunch at the Ali Curry House recently and quite enjoyed my meal here. This restaurant is known locally for their mixture of Indian and Portuguese foods and is located on Avenida da Republica, along the shores of man-made Sai Van Lake.

For my meal I greatly enjoyed the African Chicken (MOP60). The chicken meat was very soft, tender and succulent, falling right off the bone and the curry sauce was very tasty. Not sure exactly what was in the mix but it had a peri peri quality to it that really complimented the soft chicken well (rating 4.5 of 5). I enjoyed every bite and will happy reorder this dish again in the future. Large beer was (MOP32), rounding off a very nice lunch.

Also, I quite enjoyed being able to sit outside and enjoy the view, although sky conditions were poor on the day. You look across the lake at the Macau Tower and enjoy the breeze, there is little traffic on Avenida da Republica as well.

Overall, Ali Curry House has a nice location and serves up some lovely, affordable African chicken. Not the easiest restaurant to get to but well worth going to if you want some curry like dishes. Would love it if this restaurant was in Hong Kong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTUGAL
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good choice and great view with outside dining”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are not many choices for dining around Sai Van Lake and also being outside for dining is very rare, so this restaurant can have these two requirements together being always a good option in Macau. Ouside dining has a great view over Sai Van Lake and Macau Tower. They have a very wide variety of food from Macanese, chinese to indian and portuguese. We choose portuguese food and was nicely prepared and is not overpriced as the restaurants in Barra near A Ma Temple. Nice environment and good service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFONSINHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ali Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing