We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lisboa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Lisboa
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stay in a standard room, 13th floor. Stay here for 2 nights (21/12-23/12) and check in service is fast. Staffs are friendly enough. The room is big for 4 people, providing there is a sauna room(which is also a bath area) and jacuzzi. The toilet is a separate room too. WiFi is free of charge and also the mini bar's drinks. It's worth of money of course if you use the facilities much. There are 3 TVs (1 main and 2 at the bath room). Only the cleaning service is slow. The lady came to tidy up the room at 8pm the next day we arrived. Anyway, it's an excellent stay.

Room Tip: There are 3 towels in the room and we are not allowed to ask for extra one. Drinks in the minibar ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dew82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    119
    31
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
92
35
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Let me start by saying I did not stay at this hotel. My partner and I did a day trip to Macau from Hong Kong just to visit 25 years later and see what's happened to both HK and Macau. The forst thing we noticed was the oddly shaped tower, which I want to say they really tried making it look like a lotus flower, but missed big time.

The only way to describe this hotel is tacky, way over the top with a nouveau riche tacky cheap looking decorations were just thrown all over by King midas. There is enough gold colour, to put Las Vegas to shame.

The casino is very smoky and if you don't want to smell like an ashtray after 15 minutes, might as well stay out. we went to the casino bar and lasted 3 minutes because of the heavy cigarette smoke.

Unfortunately this is the way Macau is going. With increase tourism from mainland China, the place is crazy busy and not in a good way.

If you are on the ferry, cab drivers will not take you to the ferry terminal from around hotel area, and cabs are strictly for hotel guests if trying to pick one up at any hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos Xavier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We did not stay here, but did go into the lobby to look around. It was incredible. We probably spent half an hour looking at stuff. The outside shape of the building draws you in, and once you are in, you will enjoy. Better than a museum....they had huge vaces, carvings, and all kinds of stuff that was just facinating to look at. Even if you don't stay here, it is worth going into!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

To be clear: we did NOT stay in this hotel, but only visited for some gambling during a day trip to Macau. We were drawn by my rather peculiar fascination with bad taste. When it's done really well, bad taste can reach the highest pinnacles of creativity that humanity has to offer.

From Macau's most famous tourist attraction, the ruins of the Sao Paulo cathedral, you have a sweeping panoramic view of the city. One high rise building stands out, the kind of structure that can only make you gasp in disbelief followed by gales of laughter. Somebody's parents scrimped and saved to send their kid to college to become an architect, and this was the fruit of their efforts.

The building has an overtly botanical design -- though not resembling any flower found on this planet. It's gold windows, streaked with runoff stains, reflect the pulsating neon of other nearby casinos. At the very summit an especially odd structure protrudes, evoking a "what the hell is that?" reaction.

Once inside, it's quite literally a jaw-dropping experience. We wanted to linger longer to marvel at some of the most garish and vulgar decor I've seen in my entire life, but the cigarette smoke ultimately forced us out.

So if you think that Elvis on black velvet is fine art, and that Liberace epitomized the ultimate in style and fashion, you will simply ADORE this hotel. Give it a visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomInAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The grand Lisboa is located close to the central plaza downtown. From this location we were able to walk to most areas in Macau. Service was excellent, Inside the hotel is stunning. The art and carvings displayed throughout the hotel are beautiful. The room was spacious, and clean. Bed very comfortable. Staff was very helpfull. We would definately stay here if back in Macau.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDA_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

From its contribution to the Macau skyline to the many things to see inside, Grand Lisboa is one of, if not the most visually stimulating hotel there. We also stayed at Wynn Macau and the Venetian-Macao, both also very beautiful, but the character of the Grand Lisboa really stuck with us. The lobby had many interesting pieces scattered around, like large jade art pieces, ivory pieces, a huge emerald, and a huge diamond (can't remember the size, but it was the biggest one I've seen up close.)

The room had 3 TVs, one in the bedroom, one in the commode closet of the bathroom, and the one built into the bathroom mirror. The bedroom TV had surround sound with speakers above the TV and above the bed. The room was clean and comfortable with tons of storage space. Slippers provided were very comfortable. Across from the closet was a seating area with additional oversized drawer storage to the bureau, night stands, and cabinet below the TV.

The doormen are all eager to serve and seemed to always be on the lookout to help someone before they ask. We had a problem redeeming a comp, but when the doorman heard us, he walked us to where he knew someone could help us. He escorted us to the place where we needed to go and back and loaded our numerous luggage pieces into the shuttle and got us on our way- all with a big smile. We felt like royalty! We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSalFuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our first time to Macau. Staying here is an *experience* -- one you may or may not enjoy, depending on your personality. My husband really hated it. I was glad we stayed there just once for the experience (we live in nearby Shenzhen). But, we'll probably try somewhere else on our next visit!

What we liked:
-Very centrally located, within walking distance of some of the nicer casinos as well as a few historical sites like St. Paul's
-Interesting artwork, etc. on display throughout the hotel
-Feels like you're on the set of a James Bond film
-Fancy shower (several shower heads & steam options)
-Great sushi restaurant inside (if you can find it!)

What to know:
-You WILL get lost constantly -- the layout of the hotel is complicated and it's very hard to find signs or get help from staff to find your way
-The rooms are dim and the furniture/bedding seems a bit old
-Prostitutes roam the hallways outside of the casinos
-Casinos inside are pretty empty/lifeless

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jraylymbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Lisboa Hotel
Lisboa Hotel
#19 of 93 in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#27 of 93 in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#20 of 93 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
StarWorld Macau
StarWorld Macau
#43 of 93 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lisboa

Property: Grand Lisboa
Address: Avenida De Lisboa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#31 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Lisboa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lisboa Macau
Grand Lisboa Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing