We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Regency Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regency Art Hotel
Ranked #57 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'm not sure why so many people complained. I was pretty wary of booking this hotel but due to limited choices in December peak season and relatively cheaper room rates from Regency, I booked 2 rooms for the family.

Hotel may be a bit old, but grand enough. (Heck, even (Grand) Lisboa was old! You can tell from their casinos and toilet decor). Rooms were clean, toiletries supply provided, taps and bathroom faucets were working.

Breakfast was decent with quite a spread. Taste was ok too.

Counter staff were quite helpful with their replies, not particularly rude. We asked them about buses to take, and exchanged big notes for shillings with them.

Regency hotel is conveniently located near a bus stop heading to town direction. From the hotel, walk out and turn left to locate the bus stop. It's like 5 mins away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kieryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 435 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had friends visiting HK and decided to take her to Macau. We booked online via Agoda - knowing the std of all 'other' Regency Hotels - we expected the same level of service / decent room.

Check In - Reception pleasant (Thats about all)

On way to room - Got out of lift - they booked us on a smoking floor (We requested Non-Smoking Floor/Room) - Entire floor level stank of cigarette smoke and wet carpet mould smell including the room.

Room
Entered and Left Instantly back to reception to Check Out - Disgusting!
They told us because we booked via Agoda there was no refund - so we had no choice but to stay there - We insisted on a better room and different floor - they said they had better rooms and agreed to 'upgrade' us - they took us up to a different level to these 'much better rooms' - NOT - the room exactly the same as first one except no smoke smell.

Room was really small (Surprisingly cleaner than expected) - Thin mattress that looked Very well used - Dirty carpets - Pretty much the scene of a motel room you see in the movies that truck stoppers use on side of road. Bathroom also old and well used with mould around the edges of shower/bath
See attached pics of Low Grade Slippers (Rather don't give guests slippers if you can't offer decent quality).

Breakfast
We still thought to ourselves 'well they can't really mess up breakfast which should be decent' - NOT!!!
I cannot begin to imagine how any head chef of this type of hotel could be displaying such a dismal array of bad quality / old food - he should be ashamed.

The "Buffet" was disgusting with a make shift buffet with a few cornflakes and warm milk in a jug - and loads of congee etc. - the few bits of cheese looked like it had been re-fridgerated for over a week when the ends curl up - the fruit was really dark... meaning it was over-ripe - the "bacon" was processed ham squares floating in a silver tray of warm water - the only eggs on offer were ready boiled 'cold eggs' in a bowl at buffet - So for us, it was simply toast for breakfast with the only jam available (marmalade) and some watered down 'tea'

Never Again!!
Shame on you Regency Group.

Room Tip: The only tip needed is - DONT GO THERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leiperd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we came to macau from hongkong, and then before go we call to the hotel to ask if they can fetch us. and then they said they have bus at airport so we can use that bus. after we arrive at airport we looking for the bus but nothing. we call many times, the bus not yet come. finally after waiting until 2 hours the bus come.
at night we try to order food from our room, we call the restaurant but someone that answer our call said that we have to call to the housekeeping. that is ridiculous.
taxi won't pass in front of the hotel. we need to walk first to the bus stop if we want to go.
will not stay there again if we go to macau

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valencio2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The pros:
1. The room was very spacious and clean and the bathroom was spacious enough.
2. Free hotel shuttle also a bonus to get into town for free and visit the main attractions.

The cons:
1. Upon check-in, we were told that our booking had been cancelled despite us having a booking confirmation. This took the staff over an hour to sort out and it was found that it was their back office fault! We were not offered any compensation or explanation as to how this had happened. Not happy!
2. We could hear the couple next room having some physical loving time! That as one can imagine, is not pleasant!
3. The bed was hard and springy whilst the pillows were so soft and flat so we hardly got any sleep!
4. The free shuttle bus is not air conditioned! As it was in the middle of summer in Macau when we visited, it was like being in an oven!

Would not recommend as the location is not great either. Best to stay in town!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Avoid taxis in Macau, we nearly got charged double from the airport to the Regency Hotel and had to get a policeman to assist us in getting a driver to use the meter. When we got to the hotel, the driver still shortchanged us, so lesson learnt. I say learning the easy bus routes is a way out of taking taxis. Charging only 4.80 yuan (prices may have changed), you can take no.33 from the main island to taipo and no.33 stops just outside Regency Hotel.
The hotel itself is clean and provides decent breakfast spread and wifi access. The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The location is not that bad if u can get familiar with the bus routes... breakfast is just ok with a range of food available but not as fantastic as what I have read from other comments... we were first given a room with very strong smoky smell n it was changed immediately upon request. Staffs are friendly n helpful especially the bell boys... overall, it worth the money paid...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacktwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well beyond my exceptions. Maybe, my perception had been distorted after 2 nights in Hongkong hotel that was much more expensive and much smaller. Keep that aside, the rooms are big, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful too. Thank you very much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickstator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Grandview Hotel
Grandview Hotel
#62 of 94 in Macau
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#47 of 94 in Macau
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taipa Square
Hotel Taipa Square
#52 of 94 in Macau
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,374 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
2 mi away
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Hotel Beverly Plaza
#48 of 94 in Macau
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Art Hotel

Address: No.2 Estrada Almirante Marques Esparteiro, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Macau
#26 Casino Hotel in Macau
#42 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $84 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Art Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Regency Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing