We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some updating , but a good value in macau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency Hotel
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels in Macau
BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs some updating , but a good value in macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at the Regency Macau in early january 2012. While the rooms furnishings , bathroom etc are a bit outdated , as far as Macau goes a decent value for the money. We ended up paying just over 85$ CAD a nite, all taxes in. It is in a good location about halfway between the big casinos on Cotai, (Venetian , Hard Rock etc), and the big casinos on the main part of the city like Grand Lisboa, Wynn etc. While there is a free shuttle from the Regency across the bridge to the Grand Lisboa and the pier to catch the ferry, there is not one to the venetian or the airport. So you must rely on the buses and taxis .
No casino right in the hotel, but one across the street, so it is actually a quiter section of town. We didnt spend much time in the room with only 2 days to see the sights in Macau , so didnt see the point on spending the extra on lavish 5 star hotel.
Breakfast was included in the price , and it was a very standard buffet , nothing special to report. The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke good english, and really were the only 5star part of the hotel. The swimming pool is seasonal and was closed while we there,
but there was a gym , spa etc. Internet was provided free on two old desktop computers near the restaurant, but no free wifi in the rooms.
Overall was satisfied, but for those who want to spend a lot of time at their hotel in their rooms, maybe not a good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out across the bridge , had a great view at nite. Not sure if there was nonsmoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    165
    128
    51
    25
See reviews for
76
97
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aamchi Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were off to an all boys trip to Macau last week. We decided to stay in the Regency as the prices were good although the reviews we got were not very supportive.

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, rooms were clean and big although needed a little refurnishing. If you are lucky enough to get a room at the front of the hotel you get a great view of the city lights at night. The breakfast is a buffet style and very good.

The staff are excellent and most speak and understand english, the service is also very good, the pool area is excellent and caters for all ages from children right through to adults with a very picturesque setting. The location of this hotel is great while not in the hustle and bustle of Macau (on Taipa Island) it is only a short taxi ride to all the casino's and tourist attractions.

The Room rate was HKG $800 and the price did not change on weekends like the other hotels in Macau. I would suggest to book a tour package to Macau.In India , Antilog Vacations is quite cheap & Big in Macau sector & offers cheap packages.We booked from them & Got a nice service & discount on hotel rates. To our surprise, we even got an upgrade to the harbour view room. Now that is really cool

The only real negative is no internet connection in your room, there is a couple of computers (free) for hotel guests in the lobby.

This is no flamboyant hotel like those recently opened. However, it has a relaxing
atmosphere. I was allocated a smoking room upon my arrival, which caused serious allergy to my friend. However, the staff was prompt in arranging a non-smoking room.. I don't know why people moan about hotels like this. It's cheap and cheerful;. All in all a very comfortable stay , would recommend it .

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor on the side facing road offer gud views at night
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tathagat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Hotel is Aging but remains neat and peaceful for travellers who don't want a casino Downstairs. Buffet breakfast is included in the inexpensive price in relation to her 5-star rating.
No free shuttle bus,anyway!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_HKSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEBU
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

I love Regency Macau because it's clean and homey. I had a great night sleep there as my bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is huge. I was told it was the old Hyatt hotel and it shows that the property is aging and maintenance is much needed soon. I love their breakfast buffet as it has lots of options for you to try. When going there avoid the bus, instead use the taxi. We wasted 2 hours looking for this hotel when it only sits across Altira Macau which most drivers wont miss. From there everything is a bus ride away to nice tourist spots. I wish they have free internet connections and free coffee. That makes me a happy camper.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, rooms were clean and spacious although a little old. I f you are lucky enough to get a room at the front of the hotel you get a great view of the city lights at night. The breakfast is a buffet style and very good. The staff are excellent and most speak and understand english, the service is also very good, the pool area is excellent and caters for all ages from children right through to adults with a very picturesque setting. The location of this hotel is great while not in the hustle and bustle of Macau(on Taipa Island) it is only a short taxi ride to all the casino's and tourist attractions. The only real negative is no internet connection in your room, there is a couple of computers(free) for hotel guests in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the front of the hotel, the view at night is excellent with the bridges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boldscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

the hotel is big with nice swimming pool, fitness gym, spa , recreational facilities but a bit old.
though the location is not centrally located they have free shuttle service( have to check from the front desk the schedules for departure) to drop you off to Sintra Hotel which is at senado square . they have complete supplies of toiletries, bath tub a big bottle of water everyday, cable tv,hot &coffee maker + empty mini fridge hahaha. another funny thing i noticed was their towels because the embossed name in them "grand lisboa" they also serve good decent buffet breakfast everyday with plenty of choices. can even request late check-out. above all, we had a great stay at regency hotel ...

Room Tip: choose deluxe king room @ the 9th floor because of the nice view from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filipinaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We booked this hotel thinking we would live in a resort with low rise dwelling, based on what the website showed us. But we in for a rude shock when we discovered that a 11 storey building is where our rooms are.
Anyways, the rooms are decent and well decored in Portugese style colors (yellow, white, green) and there is an old world charm about them.
The 'resort' area (heavily publisized on the website) is a nice area with deck chairs and a really nice pool and sitting areas.
Service, is poor - there was no coffee, tea, sugar satchets in our rooms and when we asked for them via phone the housekeeping guy told us it would cost us HKD 45!! I went to the reception to complain but the response was cold and impersonal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goozooviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.6 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#50 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taipa Square
Hotel Taipa Square
#49 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandview Hotel
Grandview Hotel
#64 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#36 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel

Property: Regency Hotel
Address: No.2 Estrada Almirante Marques Esparteiro, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing