We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only for Children - took Nephew now in is 30's”

Curraghs Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ballaugh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Curraghs Wildlife Park is on the Ballaugh Curragh which is a site of special scientific interest and designated as an internationally recognised wetland habitat of importance (Ramsar site). With nearly 100 different species set in over 30 acres of open walk through exhibits and a beautiful tranquil setting this is a wildlife Park with a difference. The Park is s laid out in geographic regions; African Bush, Asian Swamp, European Marsh, Amazon forest, American Trail, Outback and the Pampas. In the popular children's adventure play ground area you will find the Meerkats and Prairie dogs. The Orchard line miniature railway is one of the longest miniature railway line in the British Isles and is loved by all ages, it runs every Sunday as well as other holiday days. With the Giant Bouncy Jumping Pillow and Mni-diggers this is the premier all day attraction on the Isle of Man. For rainy days there is an indoor soft play area to keep the kids entertained.Summer 2014 will see the adition of an exciting new play area called 'Enchanted Wood'. The restaurant is open every day and serves everything from snacks, home baking and ice creams to sit down meals. The nature trail is an excellent easily accessible way to see the Curragh (Manx willow bog) and all the diverse indigenous species it supports. You can spend a whole day here and just relax but even if you only have a couple of hours it's still worth the visit. We are open every day from 10am-6pm from Easter until the end of October, in the winter we are open weekends and school holidays. We are a BIAZA and EAZA member attraction.
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not only for Children - took Nephew now in is 30's”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was on our list of things to do in IOM, - Nephew wanted to visit especially to see the "red panda's" - and we did see them, they are quite timid, but due to the lovely afternoon sunshine, they came out and we viewed and took many photographs- lovely creatures. The park also has a lot of interesting animals, birds and we must have spent at least 2.1/2 - 3 hours visiting the various different enclosures - Amazon Rainforest, African Bush, Australian Outback- South American Pampas -nice cafe- views onto the small lake- and managed to take some good pictures of peacocks. Park is expertly kept, animals look happy and content.
Would recommend this to any "animal lovers", not only for Children- Adults will enjoy and make a lovely afternoon/day out- good service by buses also, which stop outside.
Good day thanks Uncle & Nephew. Good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torremolinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for writing about it. You make a very good point that that the animal attractions are indeed substantial and value for money. The play features are just a bonus for families with younger children.

We have been developing recently and the Park does continue to evolve and we have new enclosures and species planned so we hope to see you again one day if you return to the Isle of Man!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    37
    19
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to visit”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As a regular visitor to this loverly island Curraghs Wildlife park is great for all ages.The animals are all well cared for and you can amble around at your own pace as there so much to see .the café sells hot/ cold meals at reasonable prices .Also there is a miniature railway that charges 80 pence per ride great value and a good ride for the money. This is a must place to visit when on the island

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for visiting us, especially in January, the weather has been a bit hit and miss recently! On the plus side with less leaves on the trees some animals are more visible, like the Red pandas. Hopefully see you again the next time you are on the island, and thank you for writting a review, we do love to hear what our visitors think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“interesting and informative”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

you do not need kids to visit this wildlife park, we went yesterday, we being couple in our sixties on a week holiday on isle of man. Animals in good condition, interesting enclosures where often the humans can walk through with the animals. And a great bonus the only place we found on the Island to offer a concessionary price to pensioners !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ryalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Park while on holiday. Great feedback thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing super exotic - just a real family pleasure”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a wonderful, charity run family entertainment location. The animals are all in super condition and there are some really exotic residents -You've got to see the Red Pandas, the lemurs are great fun and on a quiet day they are friendly and will approach you. Children are really well catered for lots of things for them to do, great play areas and a Sunday visit is a must! On Sundays there are the two small steam trains that travel around the park - have a ride, wave to everyone, get smuts on your face and have fun.
A terrific hidden gem that even Manx people don't see enough.
It is heavily into conservation too - so the rare animals are a treat to see.
You've got to visit if you go to the Isle of man

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rayharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for your support, it means a lot to us. The trains are run by a really nice bunch; the Manx model steam and railway club, they often put the trains on for special events, also during the summer school holidays on a Thursday as well as the Sunday. It’s nice to know sometimes they are on at other times. If you are a Facebook user liking The Curraghs Wildlife Park page is the best way to keep up to date with animal news and events, and we pop a note on there to let people know when the train will run outside the scheduled Sundays! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great family day out”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited curragh's in August with my husband and two children aged 20 and 15. We have visited this park before around ten years ago. I was worried that the children would have out grown it, but I need not have worried. This a great attraction that suits young and old. The animals are obviously well cared for and the park in general is well looked after. There is a great mix of animals, lots of which roam free. The bat house was a particular favourite! We had lunch in the café and the food was hot, fresh and tasty, and not to badly priced. Since we were last there, a new children's play area has been added, and although this was no use to us, it must be of great benefit to parents with young children, particularly the free indoor play barn - wonderful for showery days! This is a great value day out not to be missed when visiting the Island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LCunningham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen G, General Manager at Curraghs Wildlife Park, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for such positive feedback- you make a good point that you don’t have to have young children to enjoy this Park; it is appreciated by all ages. The couple who run the cafe are always keen to hear feedback, as well as providing snacks they cook all meals fresh to order and it has been expressed to me that people feel they provide very generous portions for the cost! Thanks for reviewing us it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curraghs Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Curraghs Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing