We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pest problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Venecia de Canarias
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Through Hotelopia we've booked a one bedroom apartment. We've requested a roofterrace and got one. Our apartment didn't have a normal balcony, only a French balcony. The roofterrace with lots of flowers and two sunloungers was nice, but it didn't have a lot of privacy because there are a lot of terraces together.

Parking is Puerto de Mogan is very difficult, you can park near the apartment and the beach, but the cost is almost 10 euro's a day.

The apartment was furnished with old furniture and IKEA furniture. Puerto de Mogan is very charming with lots of flowers, shops and restaurants.

We do not know if we want to return. During our stay we've seen lots of very little ants in the apartment and an enormous (6 cm) cockroach in the showercurtain. The cockroach was removed by a cleaner. The cockroaches come in through the doors and windows, but there is no mosquito netting and due to the absence of airconditioning, you have to open the windows in the evening because the apartment has to cool down. If we return we shall take mosquito netting and tape ourselves.

The Puerto de Mogan beach is rather small and was crowded because a lot of Spanish families were present. The part of Puerto de Mogan where the Spanish people live is very ugly. Some houses have got big Spanish flags. I don't know if that is related to soccer or being proud of being Spanish.

Staff at reception was friendly and efficient. The site was quiet during weekdays but I think there will be a lot of noisy Spanish families during the weekend.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms got private roof terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Basic, clean self catering accomodation units on blocks of two appartments. I recommend booking a second floor appartment with a roof terrace. Apart from great views, this allows total privacy for sunbathing and has a shower in place. Daily maid service except Sundays. No aircon was a small problem. For a longer stay, this would have been a bit of a problem I think. There are fans available at reception. As with most s/c places abroad, there is only a two ring hob and a microwave. We ate out every evening. The reception area is next door to the Zoo bar. NOT A PROBLEM! All these places are closed by midnight. It is a refined, sedate town/resort, scrupulousley clean. There was a wide range of age group (I stayed in mid September) It is not the resort for 18-30's and you will not find any larger louts kicking beer cans and throwing up on the pavements.

Room Tip: Top floor apparments are more private and request a roof terrace before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canarytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Beautiful place to stay!!!!! If you don’t want those concrete resort kind of places, this is perfect! The apartments were nice and clean (bathroom could do with a little refurbishment) and the location is lovely, with very nice staff. It’s within easy access to everything, including the beach.

It’s really romantic and I would stay there again, however, there are a few negative points you should keep in mind: in my opinion, the beach is not great. It’s small and the water tends to be dirty what with all the sunscreen and petrol from the boats (we stayed there 11 days and I only bathed there once!) and they don’t have showers on the beach either (just taps to clean your feet). Also parking is an issue but if you look further away you’re bound to find something.

All in all a lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Nice apartment on a marina complex next to a man made golden sand beach. None of the electric items worked properly - plug on the toaster had to be held in for it to work, some sockets didn't work, fridge was useless and cooker not really big enough for a family. But there are many restaurants to choose from so you won't starve. Challenging cliff road from Puerto Rico which means everyone staying in Puerto Mogan isn't scared of heights.
The problem is apart from the beach and eating there isn't much else to do.
One final thought - the Spanish, including small children, wake up at midnight and start running around screaming and shouting which may not help your sleep patterns.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Le venecia de Canaries is a lovely and charming place to stay at.Rooms cleaned everyday, clean towels everyday and a bed change in the week.We also had a roof terrace which is an added bonus.It is ideally situated near to the shops and restaurants, the beach a couple of minutes away.Will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My advice to anyone booking this accommodation is to get a guarantee that you will NOT be allocated Room 305.

This room has no area to sit out and relax in!! For the sake of clairty...NO terrace, NO balcony, NO roof terrace!! But you may be one of the lucky ones who is allocated a room which has a balcony AND a roof terrace!! How is this fair or reasonable? It isn't....AND to top it all ... all the rooms are priced the same?? Never, ever in all my years of travel all over the world have i ever experienced such an UNFAIR pricing structure.

We requested a roof top terrace room and if we had been advised at the time of booking that this wasn't guaranteed then we would never have booked it. I believe this information is witheld deliberately as they would never sell this room if people were advised of its lack of facilites.

We feel we were denied the usual holiday experience which we enjoy...eg coffee on the balcony in the morning...glass of wine in the evening...relax on a lounger in the sun...not a lot to ask....just basic normal holiday expectations.

The furnishings were extremely basic uncomfortable. The bathroom was BADLY in need of refreshing...the grout on the tiles....UGH!!! Towels were only changed twice in the week! The noise level is high...in respect that everything echos...so if you like peace and tranquitiy then this is not the place for you. The reception staff were offhand and had set answers to any of the complaints about the lack of balcony/terrace .... we can only assume that whoever has been unlucky enough to be allocated this room makes a complaint... we got the distince impression we were not the first....as if they were just waiting and prepared for us to raise the issue!!

The positive is that it is in a perfect location...handy for the beach and the marina. Its a lovely wee resort if you like to enjoy the sun and there are an abundance of nice restaurants with good quality food. The beach has golden sand, which is a bonus on the Canary Islands.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Elainegiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Spent three nights here & found it a refreshing break from the norm. This low-level, tranquil development borders the harbour and has a very unique style to it both inside and out - the photos describe it much better than I can. Our apartment, considering it was a standard, was bright, clean and quite spacious. We decided to make our own breakfast and eat out at other times (plenty of places to eat out by the way) so we found the kitchen equipped with jug kettle, microwave, coffee-maker and toaster perfect for this purpose. The bathroom floor wasn't dirty as such but was slightly discoloured probably as a result of the cleaning fluid used by the cleaners. Don't leave food out though as each morning we found half a dozen ants roaming around the sink but I'm talking about ants that would easily fit on a pin-head so please don't let that put you off! Cleaners were efficient. We were always out & about by 10am and never saw them as a result. We had no balcony but that made no difference to us as the adorable beach was just 5 minutes walk away and besides there were sun beds available on the roof of the complex if that's what takes your fancy. This is not a location for nightlife though so stick to Maspalomas/Playa de Ingles if that's what you're after. We found the location such a breath of fresh air, a chill-out zone if ever there was one & would gladly stay there again upon returning to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.0 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.1 mi away
Volver Beach Hostel
Volver Beach Hostel
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Mogan
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cordial Mogan Valle
Cordial Mogan Valle
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Mogan
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Venecia de Canarias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Venecia de Canarias

Address: Urb Puerto de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $105 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Venecia de Canarias 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a selection of high quality one and two bedroom apartments all situated in the Mogan Marina area, either in the first or second line. All our apartments are unique with a large roof terrace and / or balcony and access to our large swimming pool just metres from your apartment. They are all fully equipped with everything you'll need to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Venecia de Canarias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Venecia De Canarias Hotel Gran Canaria
La Venecia De Canarias Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing