We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel in world class botanical garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2011

What makes this hotel unique is the amount of effort, thought, and money invested into the gardens separating the various buildings of the hotel, described in their brochure as; "Luxurious botanic garden distributed over a surface of 48,000 square meters with over 200 species of subtropical plants." The plants global originations are carefully labelled and their size and quality are magnificent. I particularly liked the cactus garden.

Service is friendly and well managed for a hotel that can accomodate approx 1000 guests.
The Los Guyares Restaurant is highly recommended for those, like myself, who prefer a full service restaurant with a larger wine list and a grand cru glas to the self service buffet, which had a very wide choice of fare.
The hotel was full during our visit, creating slightly overcrowded conditions around the pools, but no problem for swimming due to the large size of the major pool.
Direct access from the hotel to a pedestrian 5 minute walk to the very attractive Puerta Mogan fishing village, and marina, with its 50 boutique restaurants and bars was a major plus.
Internet access with wifi was limited to the lobby and surrounding area.

The weather at the end of Dec. during our stay was ideal, 20 to 24 0 C during the day, and warm enough to dine outdoors during the evening if one wished, but a little fresh for breakfast outside, although many people chose this option.

Many Europeans will now be choosing destinations like Gran Canaria for a winter break, motivated by the volatile climate change weather conditions to the north.
We intend taking a much longer break next winter in the Canary Islands in preference to the tropics or the american continent, because of the attractive climate, beauty of the Islands, relatively short flight (4 hours) ,great infrastructure, and the increasing problems elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ventcap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,153)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,553 - 2,559 of 4,155 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

We booked a suite for the 2nd week in January at this hotel hoping for a week of sun and relaxation- and we got it!
One point I would make is initially we were given a suite where the small garden was facing reception- it was extremley dark and didnt get any sun. After a quick call to reception we were offered an alternative that faced the beach (although you can't see it) much lighter and brighter garden area, and we received free wine and fruit along with it!
The hotel was spolessly clean, the suite was cleaned twice daily- highly impressed.
We only booked for breakfast to enable us to sample the many eateries in Puerto Mogan- and feel we got it right- however 10/10 for the breakfast, there was absoluteky nothing left wanting and the timings from 8-11 am were extensive.
We enjoyed the daily aqua aerobics in the pool- again spotlessly clean.
Our only other negative comments would be that the double room is 2 beds pushed together and uneven on the floor so turning over in the night was noisy- and I dont like single beds!
The other negative coment was the T.V. Paying the price they ask in such a large hotel we expected more of the T.V- only 3 english channels, and no Sky sport- disappointing.
Having said that we came back totally refreshed and relaxed having felt as if we had a holiday and I would certainly recommend this hotel and Puerto Mogan for those travellers who are not seeking night clubs of Gran Canaria, but some fabulous restaraunts and a harbour with character

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharonHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Our first Xmas away and we wanted it to be Special,Enjoyable and Relaxing.
As we walked into the amazing Atrium and were handed a Glass of Cava each as we checked in we new we had made the right choice.We were told to relax and when we were ready they would take us and our luggage to our room.
As i am prone to bleat on i shall try and summarise everything.
The whole hotel is spotlessly clean.
The two pool(heated) areas are lovely as are the surrounding gardens.The pool beds are incredibly comfy.
The way the hotel has been layed out it feels that you are in a smaller hotel than you actually are.
The rooms are of a good size and are well equipped and we had a nice balcony view of the top pool.The beds are comfortable(a little hard some may find) and you can choose a different pillow if required with room service(small charge i think).Rooms have an empty fridge which is handy as there are shops opposite the hotel.The rooms also have a safe but you have to rent this(I wise hotels would just include this in there room rates).
The restaurant/buffet room is nicely decorated and tables layed out well.
Food was of excellent quality and we found the choice to be mesmerizing.Fresh Fish and Meat was grilled to your liking and was very tasty.I stayed away from the pasta's etc and ate mostly spanish style food which was all good especially the hams and cheeses.
Breakfast was equally as good apart from one morning when i moved away from all the fresh fruit ,hams,cheeses,and lovely Breads and attempted to construct a Full English.Frankfuters and streaky bacon just does not do it for me :-)
Plates are removed the instant you finish your food which we found to be efficient rather than pushy and at no point did we feel we had out stayed are welcome at our table.
Evening hotel entertainment is Hmmm evening entertainment at the hotel.Nufff said on that !!!
If you are half board you can swap Dinner for lunch and spend the Evening out in lovely Puerto Mogan which has lots of restaurants and nice bars to sit and watch harbour life.
This is a lovely friendly hotel in a great resort.
Last mention goes to the staff as they work very hard indeed to make sure you want for nothing on your holiday and every day they give you a friendly smile and a Hola.Thank You.We really appreciated it.
Sorry i do go on a bit !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We picked this hotel based on our travel agent and trip advisor and we're not disappointed. We stayed in a junior suit which is located at the back of the complex. This was good as we could use the back gate to pop into the delightful town of mogan. The room was very clean and modern with a great balcony. Only complaint would be thin walls as we could hear the person in the next room snoring quite loudly.
Food has been much debated in the reviews. Personally we really enjoyed it, there was always something lovely hiding in some corner of the restaurant. The fish deserves a special mention as it was outstanding. If it's not to you're liking there must be close to 50 restaurants within 10 minutes walk so food shouldn't be an issue.
Pool area was superb, we never had any issues trying to get a sunbed and it was quiet enough to sleep/read all day without being disturbed.
On a side note make sure you try the submarine trip off the harbour in mogan, £28 each but it's fantastic and takes you down to a sunken ship!
Overall a fantastic holiday which has everything you could want for a week in the sun at a sensible price. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fullylit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We had two wonderful weeks at the Cordial Mogan Playa in August 2010. Sorry for delay in writing review.
Arrived late and the helpful receptionists took our luggage and took us straight down to the restaurant to eat,and told us to check in after we had eaten. You are allocated a table for evening meal, for the duration of the holiday, we were very happy with our round table in the main part of the restaurant.
Fantastic selection of food at both breakfast and evening meal.

I had emailed the hotel to request two rooms next to each other on a high floor, with a pool view, and got exactly that. Rooms are very spacious, we had three in one room with no problem at all. We used the fridge in room free of charge, to put drinks in from supermarket.

Housekeeping excellent, rooms and all public areas very clean.We ran out of shower gel in the bathroom and when I mentioned it to reception, it was replaced within 15mins. I hadnt even asked them to replace it.

Every member of staff we spoke to had a smile, and the hotel had a relaxed atmosphere.
The pool area was beautiful and we didnt have to fight for sunbeds after breakfast which was a refreshing change with five of us.

The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that the quality of the evening entertainment is very poor. We saw most of the shows as we liked to sit and have a drink after our meal in that area and although one or two could be rated as good the majority were poor and unprofessional.They did give us a laugh but not sure that was the intention!
Mogan is a pretty little place, we enjoyed strolling round in the evenings and had lunch a few times in different restaurants and my daughter and I loved the market days. We thought the beach was a bit small and crowded but that wasnt a problem as the hotels facilities were so good, we were happy to stay there.
Overall a quality hotel that we would like to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fiveamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I chose this hotel due to the great rating it has on TripAdvisor but I was surprised by how friendly everybody was at the hotel. From the reception desk people to the waiters in the restaurant to the barman, everybody was pleasant and helpful.
The hotel itself is in a small town at the bottom of the Canary islands. The town itself is "quaint" with a beautiful port and a small beach with loads of restaurants. This is the perfect place to go and stay, since the disadvantage of this hotel is that it's far to do sightseeing since it's an hour and a bit from the capital city.
The hotel has beautiful gardens, two nice pools, the food is good for a buffet and on New Years Eve they had a fantastic dinner with lobster and filet mignon and a a dance and fireworks. It was great and we were all impressed.
The rooms were fine. They were large, there was a table and chairs outside on the balcony, they were clean. The only complaint here was that for older people the bathtub was a bit dangerous and they didn't have rooms that just had a shower, which would have been safer for people with mobility problems. They could also have had more pillows.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesinSeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

My second holiday at this wonderful hotel did not disappoint. This time I joined the guided tour of the hotel and saw the clean and organised kitchens, efficient laundry and marvelled at the systems to service this well run complex.

This year we had a ground floor junior suite - wonderful to be able to sit out amongst the lush tropical plants. We also dined in Los Guyaros restaurant, a first class restaurant deserving the awards it has received.

Planning a third holiday here-a first!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank broadoakrossett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
461 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $182 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing