We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I don't really understand all those "fantastic" reviews. This hotel is just average. There isn't really anything special. "Everything is focused on your holiday?" I don't think so.

But to get to the point:

GOOD THINGS:
- free wireless internet (although only outside, not in rooms but still good and reliable)
- wonderful and well kept gardens and pools
- warm water in pools and nice jacuzzis
- impressive reception hall

AVERAGE:
- rooms (very basic)
- service (staff is generally ok with few exceptions)
- size of the pools (they are NOT huge as somebody mentioned - sometimes very crowded and you can't really swim)
- entertainment
- view from the rooms (nothing really special - there is ugly supermarket next to the hotel, few buildings and some empty dirt field)
- you have to walk 10min to the beach and town centre

BELOW AVERAGE:
- you have to pay for the safe (tiny safe anyway)
- you have to pay for almost everything (tennis court, bowling, pool table (1 broken and another one was failing also))
- food (apart from few things like fresh fried eggs or fish the food is terrible and very basic)
Few examples: 5min eggs turned out to be burnt and solid inside, melted ice creams always the same 4 flavours, cold fries, out dated bread etc… The food was almost always the same, tasteless and cold, drinks are not included for lunch and dinner. The choice of the food is not really great, very limited to few things.
- you have to choose sitting for a dinner which is strange
- you are assigned to a table for a dinner but not for a breakfast (funny rules) - new people coming in had to stand and wait for assigned table (while there were always plenty of free tables anyway)
- there are strict rules about dressing for a dinner! It is not a restaurant! It is a buffet with rubbish food. Honestly, chicken nuggets are better in macdonalds. Yes! Chicken nuggets, this is the food they are serving.
- drink prices - you will pay 2.20 euro for a small water or cola (in a supermarket 20m away from the hotel the same water 0.50euro). I can see now why they are not offering any drink for a dinner for free (half board/full board).
- rooms walls are very thin and if you have noisy visitors next door you won't sleep
- smell of the sewage on the balcony every morning and evening
- rubbish old TV which will hurt your eyes after few minutes watching
- patches of gravel in some places around the pool. I don't know who was such an idiot to do that. It hurts when you walk on it and it messes the pool area and the pool itself.

It seems that they want to get extra money on everything. We had to check out from our room because our flight was scheduled at 2am at night (this is how we booked through First Choice, it is not what we planned, this is FC schedule). They did offer our room for 'longer' but for extra 30 euro! I wouldn't mind if the room was booked for somebody else but just for extra 6 hours 30euro? We wouldn't even sit in the room.

The hotel is still nice but totally overpriced and overrated on tripadvisor! 94% ?! Joke.

This is a good place for german pensioners because 80% of the visitors are from Germany. If you come here for 2 weeks and don't want to sit everyday at the pool you better rent a car and go for a ride around the island because in this town there isn't much to do.

Overall the hotel is not that bad but not as good as all those reviews here.

If you really want to go there, don't go with full board. It is a waste of money!

VERY BIG MINUS for FIRST CHOICE here. Our transfer from the hotel to the airport took 3 hours! They had to pick up all those people on the way to the airport.

and BTW the beach is not 300m away but 600m.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank petersonpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danubio25, General Manager at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear guest, thank k you for sharing your comment about your stay with us. I am really sorry to learn that we have not met your expectations. I understand that our reputation in the internet creates high expectation and that is a big responsibility. I can assure that your comments will be analyzed in detail and some actions will be taken to improve our service.

We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Mogan and show you our good side.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto Pernalete
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,155)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 4,155 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

Hubbie and I stayed there for a week of pure indulgent laziness - and I really don't think we could have found a better spot.

From the luxurious surroundings, to the beautiful pools, to the great service - everything was really fantastic.

Great breakfasts! Good dinners and lunches [we were half board].
Great location - just a few minutes walk from the beach and the waterfront.

Honestly, I just couldn't complain about it if I tried. It was bliss - clean, great staff, good food, glass of bubbles on arrival.
It has a dive centre for the more adventurous, lovely pools, and pretty gardens.

I would definitely go back and would recommend anyone to go!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuZeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This hotel is by far the best that I have ever stayed in abroad, the rooms were clean and spacious, the staff could not do enough for you and genuinely seemed to enjoy working there. The food quality and selection in the restaurant was second to none even the entertainment generally was alright as far as entertainment abroad goes. We will definitely be going back again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stickinsect_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Excellent service, always friendly and helpful.
The room was very smart, clean and everything worked. The fridge and safe are included so you don't need to pay extra for them.
The Hotel is built on a gentle slope with colorful gardens, all the amenities are kept in excellent condition.
Its so peaceful and friendly, we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Hotel architecture cannot fail but impress and the gardens would rival any attraction in the world.The hotel is spotless and gardens likewise.
The restuarant is a buffet style and the food choice is varied but not always as hot as it might be but that said,it is a busy hotel and they have to cater for a large clientel.The service is good but sometimes they clear the tables so quickly you feel a bit hurried if they are doing this near where you are eating.
I would suggest you venture out to the harbour area as there are a number of good eateries and if we ever go back,we would go Breakfast only to have a bit more choice.
Room itself was very good but we were at the front so did have to listen to the coaches come and go day and sometimes,night.Bed was good especially with extra cover and the bathroom facilities are first class.Aircon worked well the only downside is just two English speaking TV News Channels.
The pools are very clean and well worth a trip and we had no problem getting a sunbed.
Overall,very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avengerfish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

hotel wonderful and although food self service it did not take away the pleasure of dining.
the hotel is about 10 minutes walk to the beach,shops,harbour and bars

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhamcity022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

my wife and i returned to this hotel this summer for our second stay and yet again we had a truly fantastic time, the hotel is stunning and is built around three pools and gardens which are kept imaculate as is the entire hotel, its cleaned every day from top to bottom, rooms are very good with maid service once a day, resturants are very good and the amount and quality of food is excellent, staff are very friendly and most speak english, german and spanish, there is loads to do within the hotel complex such as scuba diving, bowls, tennis etc, theres plenty of places to eat out side the hotel aswell and the harbour is truly lovely at night, we have just booked for 2011 so go on and try this hotel its well worth it !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDD3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
461 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $182 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing