We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, picturesque setting and delightful planting in grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleby Barwick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel, picturesque setting and delightful planting in grounds”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Cordial Mogan Playa in May this year for two weeks and were joined for the second week by my sister. We had a fantastic holiday and congratulate the staff at the hotel for making our stay so memorable. Our room in building one on 4th floor overlooked the pool and was southfacing...excellent. When my sister joined us she was located next door-but-one to us - ideal. We spent most of our time in and around the hotel but Puerto de Mogan is a very pretty place with an attractive harbour and pretty houses and lots of flowers. Only thing we could say is that the evening entertainment could have been better. We are looking to return to the Cordial Mogan Playa in the future, something we haven't done before.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyInglebyBarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,052
    802
    153
    29
    12
See reviews for
1,101
2,377
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Beutiful hotel well worth the 4*+ rating

Large choice of all kinds of food and a big plus was the fact that people with allergies ( gluten / wheat intolerances) could always find something suitable to eat.
Cant understand previous reviews saying meals were much of a muchness because there was every variety of food to choose from each night had a different theme and there was always several fish, meat, and vegetarian dishes as well as cold meats and salads. Breakfast even had 2 kinds of caviar and champagne if you wished.

Hotel itself is vast but spotless. We found all the employees to be very friendly and all spoke english. 2 large pools with plenty of sunbeds with lovely thick padded cushions to relaxon. Towels were provided and could be changed as many times as you wanted.
Would definitely go back to this hotel and its only a 5 minute beautiful walk into the harbour.

Only thing i would recommend is that the entertainment should be extended until at least midnight , at the moment everything finishes at 11pm. Shows put on by the childrens entertainment crew were awful but other shows were very good.

Puerto de Mogan itself is beautiful with nice (not tacky) shops, but as said in previous reviews- bars didn't stop open very late. Again, i think it would have been nicer if they stayed open till midnight. (If they stayed open any longer i think it would detract from the beauty and serenity of the place after all there's plenty of other places to stay on Gran Canaria if it's the 'night life' you want. Majority of shops were closed by 6pm which was also disappointing because thats the time we usually like to take a stroll around them.

On the whole - one of the most beautiful places i've stayed in and definitely one of the best hotels

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mariewelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We spent a nice week in the hotel which is like a little village with beatiful flowers and swimming areas. Easy to spend a holiday because you have in the hotel area everything you need but you even have the shops quite near when you like to go for a walk. The hotel was also recommended in the Finnish tourist magazine. We are looking forward to come again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finland34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I am 14 years old so i am basically writing this review for all the teenagers to read. I have been n some amazing holidays before such as to LA, New york, France etc...
This year me and my family decided to go to gran canaria and was by far the best holiday i have ever been on. the staff were very kind and polite and helpful,the rooms were amazing and always kept clean, the pool area was lovely as it was clean and beautiful and the food was excellent! There was a lovely short walk up to the shops such as a SPAR for food and water etc for nights and clothing shops such as Lacoste. By the shops there is a lovely peaceful fishing harbour where you can go on nice walks around it and look at the amazing views from the side! At the hotel there was evening entertainment it started off as not very good as the acts wernt good but by the end of the week there was a couple of very good acts! Overall a very enjoyable stay! oh and the weather was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoey101_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

A very good quality 4 Star hotel with excellent staff but not 5 as some people suggest as though I dont have a single complaint there are a few things that need improving for this hotel to be 5*

The Pro's -

Staff are polite, happy and attentive.
The hotel is very clean and tidy
The interconnecting rooms we had were ideal for 2 adults 3 kids
Buffet food quality and quantity is well above average with all tastes & ages catered for
Two pool bars,1 with buffet 1 x restaurant, both extremely good inc Henry the roaming pool waiter
Two pools, one used by the adults and generally quiet, the other with kids so all kept happy.
Great Kids club especially Lisa who looked after my little girls evey day (at their request)
The grounds are pretty & beautifully manicured but in comparison to many hotels in the Far East, Caribbean or Central America they are not a sprawling tropical wilderness as suggested by many. I can only presume the contributors who have made this point are used to the normal concrete jungles found all over many destinations in Spain?

The Con's

Our beds were too hard (personal choice)
I felt the room safe should be included in the price and not charged as an extra
Gym is antiquated and needs a serious overhaul with better equipment
The animation team are excellent especially Katerina & try hard to please all but I felt a little more variation was needed.
Evening entertainment was hit and miss - Dance acts great but Lionel Richie was terrible.
The resort of Mogan is "ok" but needs finishing as the place is tarnished by being scruffy around the edges, which drags the good parts down.
Awful smell of sewage from a holding sceptic tank close to main canal next to beach.


All said and done a fantastic relaxing break in a well deserved 4* Plus hotel but with a little more attenion in certain areas this could be a superb luxury hotel.

Thank you

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel. Everything about it is set up to make sure that you have a truly wonderful holiday. The hotel is spotless, food delicious and the hotel gardens like a tropical paradise. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we could find no criticism to make at all. We are a mature couple and the location close to the very pretty marina and fishing village suited us as we like a gentle stroll after dinner. The entertainment was of a high quality and the public areas of the hotel very well designed. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. All in all an excellent hotel and our thanks go to the managers and staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We're off in just under two weeks for our third holiday to the Cordial Mogan Playa and can't wait to get there; it's our little bit of paradise.

The hotel is immaculately kept in evey respect; with two beautiful pools; lovely rooms; good, varied food; friendly, helpful staff; and absolutely stunning gardens.

It's a hotel for all ages, with the friendly animation team encouraging everyone that wants to, to join in with the activities (boules, football, table tennis tournaments etc), but leaving you in peace if you just want to laze by the pool and have time out, dozing on the cushioned sunloungers that are kept free of early morning towels by the concientious pool staff.

The rooms are very comfortable and air conditioned, and though you have to pay to use the safe, all rooms have free (unstocked) mini fridges that you can stock up from the hotel or the excellent Hyperdino supermarket that is just across the road.

There's a huge selection of food at each meal time buffet. We really loved the omelettes and pancakes at breakfast and the fish and meats in the evening, all of which were cooked right in front of you. The only pity is that breakfast and evening meals have to be taken indoors as at these times there's no outdoor dining facility open - still, the verandah overlooking the waterfall is a lovely compromise.

The resort is picture postcard pretty. It's mainly quiet; except for market day, on Friday, which is mad! Then hundreds intrepid travellers brave the hairpin bends and death-wish coach drivers in order to invade our little bit of paradise, bot otherwise it's pretty perfect and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HRS, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing