We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4-star hotel for mass tourism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My wife and I went to Puerto Mogan in Gran Canaria for a couple of days in February to get a bit of sunshine. Weather was good, but it also rained quite heavy several times.
We stayed at Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa, which we chose based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor - my 'travel bible'.
Hotel was good, rooms are in very good condition and clean. Service was good in general and food in the restaurant mixed. There is a lot of choice for both buffet breakfast and dinner - some dishes are great, others are not. In February the majority of guests were older couples enjoying a holiday in the pleasant climate of the Canary Islands. Price of drinks was reasonable. We went to the spa, which I don't think is worth the extra money.
My disappointment was Puerto Mogan in the sense that I expected a more authentic local village, but found a resort completely built for mass tourism same as other resorts - can't see what is authentic in Puerto Mogan. Compared to the other resorts, there doesn't seem to be much nightlife - it is oriented towards a more quite holiday.
Overall, Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is good 4-star hotel if you like big hotels geared for mass tourism.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,746 - 2,752 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 10 days in February and had a fantastic time. Weather was not great so even more important to have such nice surroundings. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms set around lovely pools and gardens and were kept spotlessly clean. We were on a B&B basis and buffet breakfast was excellent with something for everyone. We also ate one night in the a la carte restaurant which was superb. Only negatives were that although hotel had a policy of not reserving sunbeds this was not enforced and it was sometimes difficult to find one unless you were there first thing, also the gym could do with a bit of an upgrade. Only short walk to village where there are plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronbon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

A lovely hotel. I won't repeat what others have said but will try to add to their comments. We stayed for 3 weeks so opted for a junior suite which in addition to a large bedroom, has a sitting room with 2 comfy arm chairs and a sofa bed The bonus for me was that we had 2 recliners with really thick matresses on our balcony as well as the standard 2 chairs and table. There is a small drying rack - bring pegs. We faced south and had sun all day until 5-6pm. Be aware that many balconies in the hotel face north and get no sun at all which may be a good thing in summer but in Feb I like my sun. The downstairs suites had small lawns but were enclosed by hedges and looked dark.We were next to the back gate at the furthest part of the complex away from the reception area and over looking an open lawned space which was part of the towns recreation area. We reached our rooms by an external wooden staircase of 18 steps. The 12 suites in our block were arranged on 2 levels around a beautiful enclosed tropical garden with goldfish pools and a wooden bridge ( Think Singapore Raffles). The beach is 2 or 3 mins away from the back gate and the Spar shop and buses 2 mins. (Ask a driver for a timetable) Fares are very cheap.However it was a 5-10 min walk through the complex to the restaurant for dinner! This was a problem in bad weather as there is no cover and we arrived at dinner in our waterproofs and finery one night when there were some bad storms. Brollies are useless in the wind which often gets up late afternoon but luckily it then suddenly drops in time for drinks on balcony. We had lovely warm weather the rest of the time 26 - 32C but when it was wet it was cold.
The guests in the suites had breakfast in 'The Blue House' which was a light and airy restaurant overlooking the second pool and a 1min walk for us. Guests in hotel rooms breakfasted in the main restaurant.We brought our own mini kettle and tea bags but they do have some kettles to borrow at reception. Spanish idea of tea is warm water and a teabag. Breakfast is magnificent. You can start with champagne or Bucks Fizz, move on to a smoothie, a choice of yoghurts, cereals, pastries, breads, cheeses, hams etc, crepes or bacon and egg. coffee or warm water and teabag. I asked for very hot water from the kitchen and sometimes I got it. Because the Blue House caters for the suites there are a lot of babies and young children who can be a bit wild.
I cannot understand why some people do not like the dinner in the main restaurant. The choice is huge and varies each day. . I chose to have the very fresh grilled fish nearly every day which was delicious. There was always a choice of meats cooking whilst you wait and a couple of dozen other different hot dishes and plenty of cold dishes and salad and a variety of sauces. Their choice of fresh veg was limited.
We bought our own bread rolls and ham for lunch on our balcony or ate in one of many restaurants in the port. There is a fridge in the room.
There is also an a la carte restaurant for special occasions and the food there is lovely but the wine was pricey ( the euro had almost reached parity with the £)
Puerto Mogan is a very attractive fishing village with Bouganvillea, bridges, quaint streets, beach, marina bars and fish restaurants and a large Friday market and smaller craft market on a Monday both of which start near the hotel back gate.
We went up to Mogan village which is in the mountains one night in a taxi for 4 to a rustic fish restaurant.( Called something like Alcedo) Super food and a flamboyant display of flaming coffee cups on another table.
My main gripe was that as we did not have a rep so we did not know about some of the facilities. Some are mentioned in the booklet in the bedroom but some of this is out of date. After the first week I discovered a library with several shelves of English books which people have left and 3 computers for emailing ( 1e for 10 mins). After 2 weeks I discovered that the hotel shop has some DVD's to borrow for free. I left some of my freebies there. All the rooms have DVD players so take some with you as you can only get CNN and BBC World News on TV. In the 3rd week I discovered 2 noticeboards showing different daily activities, one on the stairs to the dining room - we used the lift so never saw it and one by the lifts to one of the blocks which we did not go near. Just before we left we found that there was a Friday tour of the hotel when facilities are pointed out. It is put forward more as a kitchen tour and only a dozen people came on it. It was a bit late for us but it was very interesting as besides being shown all these extra facilities we were taken behind scenes and found a network of roadways under the hotel between all the different working areas
Other things which are not obvious are a 10 pin bowling alley, squash court, free 'taster' diving lessons, trips out can be booked by indep travellers where they book diving lessons under the Blue House. We booked an 'Around the Island Tour'. The West coast is magnificent.
The 2 or 3 shows we saw after dinner were were toe curlingly awful. The lights in the lounge go off at 11pm each night.There is a bar outside near the back gate which from what we could hear seemed to have regular music sessions but even these finish at 11pm. I don't know what goes on in the port as we did not go down at night. It is lovely during the daytime..
Yes. There are towels at dawn but you can usually find a sunbed. I personally did not like the sand around the pool. Its been used to make it like a beach and so relieve pressure on the small beach in Puerto Mogan. However it gets trodden onto the paths and as it is like fine gravel it is painful to walk on. The lower pool, which we used, is lovely with various depths and heated in winter. There are trees and bushes as well as parosols for shade. Pool towels are provided.
There is a hairdryer. You have to for the safe in the room.
The guests are from UK, Scandinavia ( lots of Norwegians) Germany etc.
It is an unusual hotel well suited for older couples and young families. Not so good if you want night life.Lovely tropical gardens
Would we go again? - like a shot. There are lots of returning guests which speaks for itself.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
9  Thank MGSRochdaleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This was our second visit to Cordial Mogan Playa - and the first time we have every returned to the same resort/hotel, last year (Feb 09) we had a room overlooking the pool - this year we opted for a Junior Suite, plenty of room, kept spotlessly clean, balcony that had the afternoon sunshine. The food was as excellent as it was last year with plenty of choice and fresh fish cooked to perfection, breakfast in the dedicated breakfast area Tamaragua left us spoilt for choice and a treat in the restaurant Los Guayres was again a highlight of our stay. All of the staff were very friendly without exception and nothing was too much trouble. There was plenty of activities laid on if you wanted to join in. The local harbour and shops provided morning and evening strolls and just wandering round the garden smelling the flowers and listening to the birds was very relaxing, we did not feel the need to venture anywhere else for the week. (we think that if we were staying for two weeks we would probably have wanted to escape and sightsee more. This was a perfect winter break and one which we hope to repeat again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSMEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We found this to be a comfortable, well run hotel with good facilities. The staff were excellent. The facilities in the gym need upgrading. Good choice of food with lots of fruit etc. However, the hotel is badly let down by the quality of the hot dishes in the buffet..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The hotel is indeed as lovely as the reviews say. Amazing gardens, two lovely pools (one warm enough to keep our toddler happy for hours), and helpful staff. It was absolutely relaxing and enough to do so we barely ever felt the need to go out. Perfect for families with young children, of which there were many. Do check the beach out at Playa de Mogan, it's small but the water is warm enough for swimming in the winter and if you like to do laps, much better than the pools. Another guest told us there is a lovely walk to the top of the ridge across from the hotel, with stunning views. Too far for us.

Puerto Mogan is at the end of the end of the coast road, so once you get here you probably won't bother going anywhere else during your stay, unless you are very motivated. It's too far for an evening out in Las Palmas, for example, or for a visit to the interior villages. So not the best location for sightseeing. Having said that, don't bother visiting the other resorts - Meloneras, Maspalomas - the horror, the horror.

I can't think of any fault with the hotel. My only criticism - it's all about mass tourism, so if you are looking for exclusivity and solitude, look elsewhere (not the Canaries!). The pool areas get very crowded (although there were always enough deck chairs), and the breakfast and dinner buffet can be frantic. Upgrade to the junior suites if you can afford it, and enjoy the quieter dedicated restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanna09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was our second visit. Having been 12 months earlier we were keen to repeat the experience to see if it was as good as we remembered, it was. We wanted a holiday of complete relaxation with the option of doing more if we wanted. This small beautiful town has to be seen to be believed, the flowered streets are stunning. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and the meals covered the tastes of vegetarian and meat eater alike.
We had the best ever weather of any foreign holiday we have ever had. Our grandson who was 1 and a bit, had never been in the water before and once in we had difficulty keeping him out. This holiday is to be repeated in 2010, but this time for 2 weeks. Here's hoping for equally good weather.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobytime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,295 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $166 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing