We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Great hotel , nice rooms and great staff. Where the hotel lets its self down is in the evening. The food is ok but very salty and there is not a great choice if you don't like fish(i don't).The most annoying thing is how long you have to wait to get a drink in the main entertainment hall . We waited over 30mins just to be served and a further 15 mins just to get a drink. If they only had waiters that served a particular area and additional barman they would sell many more drinks. The evening entertainment is also something to be believed, you will have outside acts coming in that are great but the hotels annimation team are appalling. We had to watch the Grease show twice just to see if the first show was a whind up.
All this apart we had a great holiday . One excursion i would recomend is Garbo's , great night out (great food, great singing, great fun)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,147)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,745 - 2,751 of 4,149 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights with my friend and it was fantastic. Clean, met with a glass of champagne, pool area is lovely, food is fantastic, plenty of sunloungers tho you need to get down early to get a good spot. We went half board and swaped dinner for lunch on 2 nights which was useful as we could eat out in the local town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I recently spent 1 week at the cordial mogan playa and to date, this is the best hotel i have ever stayed in. On arrival, the staff are very welcoming and greet you with a complementary glass of champagne. The food is of a very high standard with a huge variety to suit every possible taste. The grounds and entrance hall are spectacular and are extremely well maintained. When walking around the hotel, the staff are always courteous and polite and always happy to help. The two swimming pools and jacuzzis are fabulous and there are lots of different areas in which you can choose to sunbathe. There is lots of things to do such as a gym, pool tables, bowling, bowles, tennis and a fabulous evening show every night. I would defintately return to this hotel in the future and i hope that i can come back soon!!!.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on a full board basis in October with my 16 year old daughter. We stayed in a junior suite which was ideal and gave us the option of going to bed and waking up at different times without disturbing each other. We arrived about 6pm and was swiftly checked in with a welcome drink. They could not find a bell-boy though and we had to wait 20 minutes for someone to take us to our room which was a bit tiresome at the end of a long journey. Room was very clean. Hair dryer didn't work but we had a replacement within an hour or so. This one was a bit temperamental but I didn't like to ask for another one! Pool towels were provided and all towels were exchanged in the early evening when they did the turn down service. We opted for late dinner which started at 8.30. There was plenty of choice with buffet style food including freshly cooked meat and fish. There were different themes each evening to provide variety. The drinks service was very slow though and after having finished our meal before we managed to procure a drink on the 1st evening - I focused on attracting our waiters attention first on subsequent evenings so that we had a drink served to us before fetching food. We retired to the entertainment each evening after dinner and this was mostly terrible! The in-house animation shows were so bad they were funny with at least one of the team each evening clearly not knowing the routines. They were also miming songs which they also didn't know the words to and costumes were amateurish. On the 2nd and 4th evening there were external entertainers and these were much better - the acrobat was actually very good. This evening was let down by the singers who again didn't know the words with Dire Straits "Walk of Life" becoming the "Walk of Jive" complete with jive routine! It was vaguely amusing in a John and Edward sort of way! The grounds and pool were lovely and we enjoyed our days just relaxing. Breakfast and lunch were served in a separate building (think this was because we were in a suite) and we had very good service. All the staff were courteous and friendly. We were unable to obtain a late check out but there is a courtesy room for showers etc so this wasn't a problem. The hotel is located about 1/2 mile from the beach and port area and there is a large hole in the ground opposite the hotel which I'm assuming will be another building at some point. There is pretty much nothing between the hotel and the beach / port area but it is well paved and flat. The beach and port area is very nice but largely consists of restaurants so whilst its ok for a wander - it might be a bit limiting if you were staying for a longer holiday. For me, the design of the hotel was its best feature with all the buildings being in a village type style - there is even a little chapel. It had a Portmeirion feel to it - even a giant chess set! In summary, I would recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I travelled with my adult daughter late in October having been previously on a day trip to Puerto Mogan. The hotel was indeed fabulous, the staff friendly and very helpful. An extra pillow was delivered within 30 mins and trouble with the hot water was attended to within 10 minutes. The room was comfortable and though main curtains did not meet the back-out curtains below, did. The grounds including the amazing plants-lemon and lime trees bird of paradise plants cacti etc, pools and snack bars outside were brilliant. There were lots of small areas to sunbathe but annoying small pebble areas simulating sand but uncomfortable to walk on. There were lots of smokers sunbathing which was also annoying but of course nothing the hotel could do anything about. The choice of food both for the breakfast (bucks fizz and smoked salmon went down well) and the dinner buffet, was immense, spoilt for choice- with no squashing or pushing. I was abit disappointed with desserts, not much imagination or variety. A table was allocated for dinner so no queueing, you could sit anywhere for breakfast. Waiters and chefs were quick and hardworking. Cleaning and care of the grounds was constant and unobtrusive. The use of the spa was reasonable with great facilities. Don't forget the library with books donated in many languages - lots of choice, and cheap internet connection. A short walk to the great harbour, try Club Hula Hula with patron Jan, the cheapest we could find with great atmosphere. All in all a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldertraveller_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel 22 to 29 October 2009. We were impressed with reports from people having previously stayed and were not disappointed. The hotel is quite lovely with the grounds layout being the star of the show in my opinion. The plants were exceptional and so much detail had gone in to the design it was indeed a tropical paradise.
The hotel rooms were lovely and all other ancilliary areas such as Reception Gymnasium and general areas were really nice and well thought out. The staff from the manager downwards were really friendly and so helpful, nothing was too much. The Dining area was first class and we really enjoyed our food with no complaints.
I have to say this is probably the best hotel we have stayed at on the many holidays that we try to cram in. The location is really nice, Peurto Mogan being a lovely and relaxing place. We have no hesitation in recommending this place to others and we will hopefully be returning for a week in February 2010.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkiewiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

my husband and I visited this hotel for a week in October and all the reports are accurate The hotel has lovely grounds and our room which was a junior suite was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. I believe the rooms are also very nice but if you want a bit of luxury go for a suite. Excellent cleaning service and turn down service at night in the suites. Booking with Thomas Cook this was less than the price of an ordinary room with First Choice. The Suite consisted of a living room with comfortable chairs, settee, desk , coffee table and television and a large bedroom and bathroom with separate shower. The grounds of the hotel are outstanding and very well kept. Customer Service at the hotel is extremely high and any slight problems are dealt with efficiently and without a fuss. We spent our wedding anniversary evening in the a la carte restaurant (15 euros each paid if you eat their instead of buffet) and although we had a slight problem this was resolved more than adequately by Victor one of the Customer Services Managers. Customer satisfaction is a huge priority in this hotel and it shows. Maybe a bigger menu would be good if I have to make any slight negative comment on the restuarant. Lovely harbour area and beach which was really nice to walk round during the day or the evening. The hotel allows you to swap dinner for lunch which is nice but because the pound is poor at the moment it can be very expensive to eat out. Cant comment much on the entertainment as it wasn't a high priority for us but what we did see looked okay. Very quiet so if you are looking for night life and clubs forget this hotel and area, however if you want to chill out in nice surroundings would definitely say this is an ideal place to go. We will most definitely return again to this hotel in the future and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ChrissieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $182 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing