We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

stayed at this hotel for 7 days and we wish we had booked for 14.Everything about the hotel from smiling friendly staff to the wonderful food was A1.We had booked half board but were upgraded to full board.Would have no reservations about recommending this hotel to friends and family,in fact we have already.We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forre123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,889 - 2,895 of 4,259 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2009

Warning; Do NOT read this review if you are hard to please or want every aspect of the holiday complex uncovering.

We returned from Cordial Mogan Playa today and are pining to go back already! We have visited Maspalamos and Puerto Rico the previous two years with the mentality of enjoy the experience of a holiday and then move on to the next place. Cordial Mogan Playa breaks this rule on every level and we SHALL be returning (soon!)

We arrived at 3am (approx) to be greeted by a) the amazing decor and b) the option of chilled orange, water or champagne whilst a night porter transferred our luggage into the rooms.

No detail is missed within the maintenance and decor of rooms. They are fully equipped with shower/bath, toilet, DVD player, air con, TV, hairdryer, nail files, sewing kits, chairs [inside and out], safety deposit box, brochure guides, a-z of the hotel and fridge.

Me and my partner are 21 and 23 with high expectations of security within a holiday complex. The Cordial Mogan Playa has secure surroundings, 24hr professional security patrol and 24hr reception staff.

Food (full board)
Restaurant. Breakfast 7.30am-10.30 am
Lunch in the blue building. 1pm -3.30pm
Dinner - either 6.30 - 7.30pm or 8.30 - 9.30pm.

Breakfast you sit anywhere. There are a wide selection of cheeses, cold meats. pate, breads, crepes, cereals, toasts, jams etc, fruit (apples pears banana kiwi melon pineapple), croissants, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, browns, beans, tomatoes, sausage. Drinks included tea, coffee, hot choc, water, fresh orange, peach, apricot, and champagne :)

Lunch you sit freely again. Breads, salads, tuna, paella, fish fingers, pizza, chicken nuggets, pasta, chips, cheese straws, meat cooked fresh for you, lasagne, beef stew, canary potatoes, desserts, ice cream and plenty other dishes. Your drinks are placed on room tab here.

Dinner. You pick a sitting when you check in and are allocated a table you remain at the entire duration of your stay. You can ask for a specific area where you would like to be seated. Some of the reviews state how the seating was 'canteen' like, all i can say is I wish I’d of attended your school. We had no qualms with it. The men are asked to wear long trousers and EVERYONE in general stuck to this.
The food included. Pastas, meats, sushi, salads, breads, fresh meat and fish, stir fry, spring rolls, veg, chips, tuna, and MANY MANY others that i cannot remember. It is self service and once again your drinks are placed on the room tab.

The only down side to this was ( due to the waiter and the fact we dined here during 'Spanish weekend') the meal can feel some what rushed. The restaurant has a pleasant amount of staff with a distinctive head of house who is very professional (which can be said for all Cordial Mogan staff)

Pool Side; Beautiful, clean and spacious. The sun beds have blue mattresses and you collect fresh towels daily between 9am - 10am. There was one pool near the blue building had a child’s play area and a baby pool so this was more busy with children whereas the pool near the reception area was very quiet. It was a big pool with a shallow area, waterfalls and Jacuzzis area. The reviews state about the sand – grit, in all fairness this area covers less than a quarter of the entire space so basically just don’t sit there if you don’t like it. There is a pool bar but unlike many other hotels we have visited there are no pressures about purchase they happily accept people bring their own drinks from the supermarket (hyper dino literally 2secs across road).
Kids club – even though we obviously didn’t travel with kids we saw the animation room which is more or less like the crèche you’d pay to send your kids back home. The room is decorated with things they have made. On the door of the building is an itinerary for each day, when passing we saw cow boys and Indian days, baking cookies, aqua day, Olympic day, painting, face painting, clowns etc there is an animation team in the bar most nights for the children.

Adults – animation team were friendly and not overly persistent you are invited to play darts, bowls, salsa, Spanish lessons, hotel tour, water polo, yoga, water aerobics and nightly shows (reptile, mamma mia, salsa etc) on at the bar and a live musical act every night.
The complex. To the right of the reception desk are stairs up them is a place you can read or exchange books and internet computer facilities ( the only down side to cordial Mogan is wireless is available but you have to pay per week for it) downstairs is the travel guides for every tour operator your rep details, departure times and local info.

There is a spa, games room, gym, snooker table, ten pin bowling, tennis courts, gift shop and archaeology centre.

General observations; The housekeeping is excellent never had a problem and the little details made me smile daily, they put our towels into kissing swans etc. Staff are well presented and cannot do enough for you seriously!! (And ladies there is an extremely hot guy on reception ;) )
There were a wide range of nationalities and disabilities with the resort which told us it was a good hotel as popularity and accessibility for all people. The fridge in your room opens with a nudge in the right direction ;) and the safety deposit box cost us 23 Euros for two weeks.

The village itself is a small fishing village with scenic streets and a busy harbour. There are many gifts shops with cheap duty free. On a Friday morning at 9am there is a market all I can say is go for the experience, keep your eyes peeled and bartar! There is a spar supermarket which stocks just about everything you need and one of the few places that stocks most English newspapers a hyper dino 9am -9pm across the road which isn’t as well stocked but generally more accessible and more convenient.
Checkout- you have to leave your rooms at 12pm and can leave your luggage in a room next to reception. We weren’t told any of this by reception staff it was word of mouth around the pool. Vacate rooms at 12pm and ask for vouchers for your meals so you can still eat. The courtesy room is open all day for you to use at your disposal. DVD, TV player, sofas, 3 bedrooms and baby cot, showers and fresh towels and toilet facilities.
The hotel is peaceful located beautifully, has a high standard of cliental and leaves no detail missed in making your holiday everything you need and more. 
If you want any more info (I wish I worked on commission at this point) feel free to email me samanthavva@hotmail.co.ik

Happy Holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank svatmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

cannot really fault this hotel it has everything you could possibly want for a nice holiday.
The rooms were very nice we had one on the 5th floor overlooking the top pool. The pools were wonderful with just the right temperature. The grounds were beautiful, you would have thought you were in botanical gardens. There was so much choise of food it was a job to decide what to have.
It was nice to walk to the harbour in the evenings, just the right distance for a couple of young pensioners. Look out for the fantastic shoe shop on the way, it is the biggest I have seen anywhere.
The supermarket was a real bonus being right outside the front of the hotel. I think it was called Hipo Diner.
If I had to be really picky I would have liked there to be more morning waitresses as we did have to go hunting for coffee and tea some mornings which was a bit of a pain.
I would also have liked the outside bar to have stayed open into the evening as it would have been nice to sit outside for a pre-dinner drink and a coffee after early dinner.
These are only minor niggles nothing to spoil the wonderful week we had at this lovely hotel.
We will definately be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

The Cordial Mogan is as described in the brochure. On arrival one cannot fail to be impressed by the character and opulence of the hotel. The greeting on arrival is superb with a welcoming glass of champagne. The reception staff are welcoming and the porters efficient.

We opted for half-board at the hotel. The food is to an excellent standard and very diverse but sometimes repetitive. Evening meal may be taken at 6.30pm or 8.30pm. We opted for the later time but you can change this by arrangement with the restaurant. At your first sitting you are allocated a table. This table is for the duration of your stay. Do not make the mistake of assuming that you can sit anywhere in the restaurant. Sadly this was not explained to us and we were met with a very irate waiter who demanded to know why we were sitting at the wrong table! You can change your table again by arrangement with the restaurant.

We did find it quite puzzling that the exact same bottle of water bought in the bar next to the restaurant cost more in the restaurant than the bar.

The hotel offers a range of activities during the day and has its own bowling alley. Entertainment is also offered in the evening but this usually consisted of the same singing duo followed by a disco or the entertainment staff miming to a performance of Grease. As this was not our cup of tea we usually ventured outside the hotel in the evening. Sadly there is only one bar within a reasonable walking distance and a small selection of shops. A wider range of bars and shops are a 10 minute walk away in the Port.

The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high quality and we were surprised to find a bottle of wine and fruit in our room on arrival. Our balcony had a pleasant view of the pool but we discovered that the walls could benefit from added sound proofing as we were disturbed on more than one occasion by the television of our neighbours to the left and the regular moving of furniture by our neighbours to the right.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSunburnKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Hotel is one of the best looking hotels I've stayed at, it's impressive to look at and is situated in a good location. The hotel inside and outside is very impressive and staff are very friendly. The hotel rooms were very big with a large bathroom, very nicely furnished.

The food in the hotel was generally ok, nothing bad but nothing special either the breakfasts didn't take my fancy bit the choice was plentiful. The buffet evening dinner was also good but nothing special, I've had better elsewhere.

Mogan is a nice town but dont go there if you want a bit a small bar after 9-10 to have a drink or two- there isn't anything there. I went down for a meal around 9:30 one night and most places were empty or shut.

One aspect of the hotel that dissapointed was the pool bar (La Fula) - I've never seen a pool bar so quiet, maybe something to do with the expensive prices, €3.50 for a local beer and €1.50 for a small bottle of water. People seemed to be voting with their feet and avoiding it. It's something the management should closely look at if they want to attract people to actually spend their money there. At the supermarket across the road you could get a dozen beers for €6 and a 2l bottle of water for a euro, put them in the room fridge and save a fortune. One cheap way of getting the fridge is just order an initial 6 mini mar drinks, after that just use the fridge with stuff bought from the supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Just back from a week's holiday there. The foyer definitely has the wow factor, however, we had to queue for 20 minutes to check in, by which time it was 22.30, & the hotel could not offer us anything to eat at all. Previous hotels ( 3&4 star ) have offered us sandwiches at least. We had difficulty locating the lifts ( signs would help, ) but once you know your way round, it's easy to see why other reviews find the hotel & gardens stunning. Perhaps we were just unlucky, but during our week's stay, the tiles in the foyer were being dug up with a pneumatic drill ( not pleasant ) & the bridge across the pool was under repair, with unsightly yellow plastic barriers at each end, which didn't exactly add to the view from our balcony. I would have thought they would have had their maintenance programme mapped out BEFORE the holiday season. The food itself, was ok, but no better than we've had in lesser hotels. Unfortunately, at breakfast, on our second last day, we witnessed a rather large cockroach scuttling across the dining room floor. I mentioned this to the manager, thinking he would be appalled, but he just said, it's a hot country, & that's to be expected. Well, it's NOT what I expect from a 4* plus hotel. So, to sum up, I really wanted to be giving this hotel a great review, as the building itself, & gardens are absolutely stunning. It's such a shame that these niggly little things are letting it down, so, c'mon, guys, get your act together! Almost forgot, I found the bed a little too hard, so reception said they would put a soft mattress on. I'm still waiting.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We loved the hotel, felt we were in paradise for a week. We have holidayed in many places and this has got to be top of the list. Normally we steer away from buffet food, usually too dried up or cold for our liking, but was pleasantly surprised. We looked forward to our evening meal every night and didn't eat in the harbour once! Upgraded to a junior suite as there was my husband and I and our son, it made a difference, just that bit more space and cost us an extra 350 euros for the week. Our only gripe was having to pay for the safe and the fridge (even after upgrading). We paid 2 euros per day for the fridge and couldn't get a key that would work. In all we tried 3 keys and still had problems with it. Come on Cordial, guests pay enough for the holiday , why not include these in the price of the room. Overall an excellent holiday, staff great, food great, weather great, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OLLIESLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,324 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $166 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing