We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel, Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed October 16, 2008

we chose this hotel on a late booking, based on recommendations from this site. We were not disappointed at all and enjoyed a relaxing week of hot weather in beautiful surroundings. This hotel has a wow factor which hits you when entering the foyer. It is very clean, the decor is of a very high standard and the staff are multilingual and very helpful. Little touches like champagne on arrival, made us feel very welcome. we had an elderly relative with us who had her own room next door, both our rooms opened into a private lobby area with an outer door into the corridor, so we could lock that and safely leave our doors open if we wanted access to both rooms. The pools were well laid out with private areas for sunbathing, each pool has spa's and a bar area. Beach towels are provided each day ( by a really happy guy ) the rooms are spotless and very spacious. We stayed half board, the food was good and varied, although like other comments the time allocation system can be restricting and make you feel like your part of a process. Evening entertainment was a little uninspiring, but sitting in the huge sofa's in reception listening to the pianist or sax player was really pleasant . The childrens entertainers did a great job early evening with the youngsters and spoke in all languages.
Mogan is a quiet area with good restaurants and bars. they are not " tacky " like some places in Puerto Rico. The beach is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, it is sandy and safe for children. Their are some good quality shops and the usual souvenir outlets and a huge market appears on Fridays which is well worth a visit. we usually stay in Marriott Hotels when taking short breaks as the quality is very high, this hotel is better and we would definitely return again.

  • Liked — high quality throughout
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmagloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,083
    816
    155
    29
    14
See reviews for
1,122
2,400
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

Read many (if not all) of the Trip Advisor reviews before chosing this hotel and they were 99% accurate.

A beautiful hotel with the most exquisite gardens and florabunda. The harbour, which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel entrance (or 5 minutes if you walk through the gardens to the back door) is beautiful. Especially at this time of year, no crowds, except on a Friday when the market comes to town and so do tourist from all over the Island! It's massive and full of traders who have lots of "copy" products and if you like to barter, then you could get a bargain, but be very, very careful - remember you only get what you pay for!

The staff at the hotel were wonderful. We had booked a Junior Suite which was located next to the Chapel (no bells thankfully!) and we were greeted by not one, but two glasses of champagne which got the holiday off to a good start.

The breakfast in the morning was extremely good, except we thought the cereal variety very poor, cornflakes, plain rice crispies or coco-pops - OK for kids. No Muslei or oat-based healthy cereal.

The only grumble we had and so did MANY of the other guests was the two sittings for dinner in the evening the hotel operate! We, like many, booked half-board (wont do that again) and you either had to be at the first sitting by1830 and have to be out (or they ask you to go!) at 2000hrs. The next sitting is at 2030hrs to 2200 hrs. In each case it's a RUSH for the food, which is getting cold as it had been laid out at least 30 minutes before the opening time. The food and the two settings let the hotel down. Why they don't keep the restaurant open from 1830 to 2200 hrs is a mystery?! You are constantly looking at your watch, shoving your food down so you can eat within the time frame. You are also having to rush to get their on time to get a decent table.

We will definitely be returning to the Cordial Mogan Playa, but not half board as there are some fantastic restaurants at the Harbour and lots of choice. Also cheaper than eating at the hotel.

One little gem we and couple of others from hour hotel stumbled across was the Taverna Verdi which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. As you walk down to the Harbour on the pedestrian walkway, about 300 yards on the right is a walk way and if you walk along you will see written on the wall of a small building the name of the tavern. From the minute we sat down we got the warmest of welcomes, and we experienced a true Spanish family atmosphere where the proprietor, friend and son play Flaminco guitars and harp. They sing for nigh on 3 hours with only a short break in between and they have the most hilarious parrot hid in the bushes! We went there two evenings in a row and when we left on our last night we felt part of the family.

We have travelled to the Caribbean and Far East and have to say this was one of the best short break holidays we have experienced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Trees Blocked Light Into Our Bedroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

My partner and I have just arrived back after a relaxing week staying in this wonderful hotel. We booked this based on other reviews we had seen and were not dissapointed. All we wanted was a quiet week away in the sunshine with nobody to bother us and to be left to our own - this is exactly what we got. We booked a Junior Suite which gave us ample space to unwind. This also gave us the use of a seperate breakfast area away from the main hotel, this was pefect as felt much more relaxed in the mornings with no need to rush around. Staff were friendly, no bother getting sunloungers and plenty of shade available if required. I would recommend changing your half board to Lunch instead of Dinner as there are numerous restaraunts and little bars in Mogan that serve great meals in a beautiful setting by the harbour. If you want a place to relax and unwind then you can do no wrong with this hotel

  • Liked — Peaceful Atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davies on holliday
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Dave & Jean Keith & Christine

Just retuned from 1 Week in the Cordial Mogan Playa Gran Canaria 4*plus. It was one of the best hollidays/Hotel for a long time,Very clean .Food Exellent and plentifull Staff Very sociable and polite. Rooms were very nice cleaned everyday.Fresh towels
everyday. Entertainment could be improved but generaly ok.

Only fault (my grumble) checking in was a bit slow . We arrived in the early hours about 5am.only 2 checking in staff 1 bellboy
could not face welcome Champagne at that time of day.
Nice bottle of red wine and bowl of fruit in room.

Extra Charges 1 Euro for Fridge per day if you don,t have minibar.
2.50 per day for safe.
As said BRILLIANT HOLLIDAY WAS HAD BY ALL.
WILL DEFINATLY GO BACK

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Holls30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel in the early part of September. We were really impressed with every aspect of the hotel, especially the champagne on arrival! The staff were very friendly and welcoming and also had a fine grasp of most languages. The room was very clean and big enough for two people. It was cleaned daily. The pool area was very laid-back, had very little noise, which was great for a relaxing time by the pool. It was also really easy to grab a lounger. Another impressive aspect were the grounds which were very green and picturesque. One of our favourite features of the hotel was the spa. It was pleasant and very quiet, we often found ourselves to be the only ones there! The food was of a high quality, with a large variety of foods. Mogan itself is a really quiet town, ideal for couples wanting a relaxing break, maybe not for a wild holiday. The only downside was the nightly entertainment in the hotel which often consisted of cheesy acts. Overall our stay was excellent and we'd like to thank all the staff for making our time there very enjoyable, especially the guy who works at the small shop. Legend.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, spa and volcans
  • Disliked — Night-time entertainment
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We have just returned from another excellent holiday in Puerto Mogan! This Hotel is one of the best in the Canaries and is not to be confused with the Cordial Mogan Valle Apartments, which are part of the same complex but a separate entity.
We booked the Thomson Premium service which allows you to have express check in at the airport, though we didn't need it as Manchester was the quietest i'd ever seen, the premium also gets you a complimentary drink on the flight, but you need to ask! The main benefit of the premium is that you are guarenteed first or second drop off, this saved us 90 minutes on the journey to Puerto Mogan (the offer doesn't include returns, so we know how long it takes).
I would recommend that you take a while to find your way around the restaurant as it is set up in a strange way, as you enter, to your left about 20 yards away is a station with 3 different types of fish nightly, ice cream, cheese and Soup.
Straight ahead there are usually 3 meat courses + chips, potatoes etc along with a selection of cold meats, fish and salad.
Beyond that there are trays of various different foods, sometimes Chinese, sometimes local or some other styles.
Breakfast again has a huge variety of choice and Cava available every morning!!!
The pool areas are always clean and tidy and the gardens very well maintained, i would suggest that you stay away from the lower pool if you want some peace as this is set up for Children, shallow end etc., the higher pool is much quieter.
If you want to visit other parts of the Island, i would go on a Friday or Saturday, as the Hotel gets packed with Spanish and their ill mannered offspring!!
The only downside was our keycard stopped working and needed 3 visits before it was fixed and our neighbour left his TV on 24/7 (never left his room!) and moved the furniture around 24/7 (Bizarre!) so we didn't get a good nights sleep in 14 nights.
I also suggested that they provide non smoking blocks as our room did smell of cigarettes from the previous tenant and people's smoke from neighbouring balconies was an issue.
The entertainment is never to my taste in these places, however, others did seem to enjoy it.
A safe is available for 2.20 Euro's per day and a fridge at 1 Euro per day, if you ask for ice at the bars for your room they will give you a bagfull!!

All in all a fantastic holiday and we will be going back.

  • Liked — Food and Pools
  • Disliked — Other people!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NGNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Have just returned from a week at the Cordial Mogan Playa and this was definitely enough. The hotel and gardens are beautiful, however the food and entertainment are very disappointing.

The restaurant is totally disorganised and frantic. By the time you manage to get your food and sit down it is cold. The plates were cold and food was not always replenished. We changed to lunch on the last day but found that you don't really want a 3 course meal in the middle of the day if you are sitting in the sun, although it was the best meal we had.

The resort is still being developed and quiet is an understatement. Drinks are very expensive in the hotel and in the small number of bars by the harbour.

Entertainment started at 10.00 pm every night and varied between the animation team miming and prancing about and some dancers with holes in their tights! Not impressed.

The holiday itself was very expensive and we felt totally disappointed by the whole experience.

  • Liked — Very clean and modern
  • Disliked — Price, Food & Entertainment
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ForestTwo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
452 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing