We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our second visit to the Cordial at Mogan and we were not disappointed with it. On this occasion we hsd requested a room overlooking the main pool and were pleased that this request had been fully observed. The facilities, staff and food were all upto expectations.

It was noticeable that there appeared to be far fewer British guests this year, the majority being German or Scandinavian, this is intended as an observation, not a negative comment.

Joining the Cordial club and booking directly with the hotel was a distinct advantage, giving a good discount and prefence in room choice.

The only negative comment would be that the entertainment could be better and the viewing in the entertainment lounge is very poor because of the pillars.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank burys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,667 - 1,673 of 4,295 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

we have been holidaying, yearly for the last 6 years, at the cordial mogan as an extended family and we love it. Staff are all helpful and attentive. Food is of a very high quality as are all the facilities in the hotel. Just a short walk is the lovely harbour with some lovely shops to browse. If you are up for an early morning jog or walk round the harbour you may see the fisherman bringing in the daily catch. Can't rate this hotel and staff highly enough really would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilacdexy153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband picked out this hotel as we stayed in Amadores last year & visited Mogan a couple of times & as we were not going all exclusive, we wanted to be in a place with restaurants & some shops. We had a very relaxing week & enjoyed all the hotel has to offer. The Cordial is in an ideal location in Mogan, about 10 mins walk to the harbour and you can walk through the gardens if you want to & come out on a street and you are half way there. Our room was a double & had a nice balcony with a really nice bathroom, very spacious incorporating the toilet with a door in the bathroom. The sun hits the hotel about 11am and our balcony then had the sun till about 6pm which we enjoyed. The layout of the hotel, pools etc is good and easy to get around, very clean everywhere & we still saw the cleaning ladies at 11pm at night in the main hotel. The variety of food was very good & catered for everyone.Everything you could think of was available at breakfast as you would expect & the evening buffet. We ate in the pool bar some lunchtimes which was fine but also ate in Mogan which we preferred as lot more choice & lovely to eat overlooking the beach. Hotel has not bad entertainment every night & we really enjoyed the Country Legends act in the downstairs bar which is a good size & you don't have to fight for a table. The bar & surrounding sitting areas in reception are very comfortable & even sitting outside the entrance in the evening was nice. There is a shopping centre opposite the hotel which has the shops you need & incorporates a big supermarket with lovely bread & cakes.The port of Mogan is very quiet at night at this time of year after 9pm, but it is still nice to go for a walk down there after dinner & look around the pretty buildings with all the flowers. There is a very good market every Friday till about 2pm in the streets surrounding Mogan & on to harbour so worth checking out.All in all had a very relaxing week in a lovely place & will definitely be going back next year. You won't see many cats in Mogan as they have a system in place to control numbers & being cat lovers we were really pleased to see that first time ever there were designated places around the hotel where the cats have food & water trays. They won't bother you & just have a very nice life sleeping amongst the gardens & rocks.

Room Tip: Not a noisy hotel but rooms located in the blocks in the gardens nearer to the beach end are probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimbaChingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel was excellent. We can only agree with what everyone else says. We had two double rooms with three kids 3, 8 and 11. Even if the hotel was fully booked they managed to switch our rooms the second day so that we could be in a family room. The family rooms are located in the corners of the building where two double rooms were connected by an outside door. We could keep the inside doors open and have a much bigger space. We had two bathrooms, 2 tvs and two patios. The only negative was that it was not a great view and no sun. We thought it was worth to change and we are very happy that we did. The front desk were so helpful and all were informed and very professional about our room situation. They even asked the day after how it was working out remembering us by face.

The food was very good. The breakfasts were better than the dinners in our opinion however the dinner had something for everyone. My husband is gluten intolerant and they made bread for him in the mornings. It took a little time to receive it but was much appreciated. The food was not labeled so he had a hard time knowing what he could eat. They said he could ask but who wants to go around every meal and get explanations? One thing to keep in mind is that this hotel is not an all-inclusive so all the drinks cost money at meals or bars. We didn´t think about this before but was no big deal if you are aware.

Overall, we would go back and I have never said that about a charter hotel before. Thank you for a great vacation!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room facing the pool and on one of the top two floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Restillsammans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just back from a week's stay in this hotel with my husband and 11 month baby girl. We had a ball and the staff were fantastic with our baby, so helpful and friendly to her. The food was great and of a huge variety. if I could I would go back now!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saysa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just returned from two weeks in late January having read the good reviews on Trip advisor.
We agree with much of what has been written about all of the excellent aspects of the hotel. It may help to put a different perspective on some who had concerns in some areas.
WiFi was without doubt the best we have ever experienced and quicker than our optical WIFI at home. So in every Hotel location we had instant Free WiFi which was superb.
We did not find any rigidity with the meal times, if you go in at the beginning of your sitting its clearly quieter than at the end of the sitting but after a day or so you get used to it and we met some great guests on nearby tables.
We strongly recommend reading the Becordial magazine in your room its give much of the information you will need.
We also recommend going on the Hotel behind the scenes Tour. It was being run for an hour or so on Fridays when we were there. Then you will understand the incredible work that went into the design and management of the hotel. Underneath much of the Hotel are the Heating, Water, Pool, Laundry and interconnecting passageways which enable clean sheets and towels to be brought to your area via staff access to your block without corridors being blocked by trolleys which is a familiar sight at most hotels. And below you will see all is spotlessly clean with a pride in the work they do.
Staff are clearly well trained and selected.
The place is just brilliant.
We have never met so many people who have returned time and time again to this hotel.
As friends John and Joyce said. Once you have found perfection, whats the point of looking elsewhere.
We hired a car for the two weeks. Secure underground parking was brilliant and always plenty of space despite the hotel being full.
Although some guests wanted South facing rooms, in reality most agreed they spend very little time sitting on their balconies.
The general guidance on Trip advisor is good advice. We hired a kettle and took a small travel iron.
The hotel does not promote some events as much as we would have liked. Like the Hotel Tour or the Astrology presentation. So best use the giant iPad in reception or ask one of the receptionists. Apparently one of the reasons you do not get pestered by street merchants like some other towns, is that the town has its own private security. As a consequence you always feel relaxed and safe walking around the Town at night and its great fun trying out the huge variety of places to eat.

Room Tip: Select North or East facing rooms if you want them to be cooler as they will get less sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I'm writing this review from my sunny balcony, overlooking the beautiful pool, in this lovely hotel. We came here largely based on the Trip Adviser reviews, and are not disappointed so far. I emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a room overlooking the pool, and with a sunny aspect. They replied straight away to say they would do their best but could not guarantee it. However on arrival that was exactly what we got, and I couldn't be happier. The journey from the airport was only about 45 minutes, with just one stop on the way. After hearing horror stories of 4 hour transfers we were very pleased to arrive well in time for dinner. The dining room is busy, but you soon find your way around it. We always try to find a table at the back of the restaurant to get away from people milling around when you are eating.

We hired a kettle on check in, but there are no cups in the room, so remember to bring some, or you have to borrow some from the bar!

The staff here are all very friendly and efficient, and you really feel as though you are welcome here.

The hotel is much larger than I first realised, but it doesn't feel too large. The rooms are in blocks, we are in block 1 which is near reception, and gets the sun from lunchtime till gone 6, perfect.

Room Tip: High rooms in Block 1 (4th floor) facing the pool, are near reception and the restaurant, and get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyndaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
486 reviews
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $160 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing