We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful holiday at beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked this trip at the last minute having looked at many, many hotels on Trip Advisor most of which sounded awful! Cordial Mogan Playa certainly had the best reviews and we weren't disappointed! Lovely room just where we'd requested on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. Beds very comfortable with the mattress toppers provided. Previous reviews said beds very uncomfortable. We decided on bed and breakfast as we love to experience the local cuisine and enjoyed our walks into the Marina most evenings as there are many lovely restaurants there. Felt very safe in the area and the walk into the Marina was lovely being flat, well-lit and pretty.

The staff were all very helpful, smiling and pleasant. Couple of improvements could be made to the Bar area where when busy staff a bit harassed! Also we found the music overpowering and mainly classical whether it be recorded or live with the violinist playing in the bar area. We love classical but not ALL the time! It was very heavy and dreary and it could do with some lovely Spanish music (we are in Spain after all!) or some lighter music generally. We found the breakfasts very good and the overall layout of the hotel with the beautiful tropical plants inside and out were lovely and made this quite a unique hotel.

Entertainment could be better especially by the 'animation team' whose rendition of Grease was rather painful to say the least although I appreciate they do work very hard. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor - room 1427, overlooking the pool with lovely afternoon sunshine. Our room...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,149)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 4,150 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, professionally run in beautiful grounds. A few things to note:-

* Mostly couples aged 50 plus but with a fair sprinkling of families with young children.
* No kid free pool or outside areas.
* Animation team low key so no loud music- a definite bonus.
* Good selection of fitness facilities/ activities (Tai chi, yoga, stretching, bowling alley, squash, tennis. Very good bikes to hire.
* No coffee making facilities in the standard rooms but kettle available for rooms at reception.
* Safes available at a charge.
* WiFi slow and unreliable.
* With half board evening meals can be changed to lunchtime as required. Recommended.
* Food good but ambience not relaxing, tables tightly packed, often queues at cooking stations, two sittings did not suit us.
* For the ladies- decent hairdryer in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Room 6302 was great, quiet, overlooking the spa area with late afternoon sunshine.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are typical 4* Spanish accommodation with comfortable beds, nearly all seem to have a view of one of the pools.
Our room and several parts of the complex suffered leaks during a 24 period of rain and to our horror many of the light fittings were leaking water!
Waiters in the bars are excellent but the dining experience left a lot to be desired. You chose either a 6pm or an 8pm sitting for dinner with a table allocated for the duration of your stay. Unfortunately the staff appear incapable of managing this process as we, and many others, found others occupying our table and despite being allocated another the same issues arose again days later.
The food itself was better than average but lacked many options for vegetarians apart from salads and the lack of labels didn't help.
Wifi is free but unreliable and at 2.3 euros a day the safe deposit boxes are quite expensive.
Overall the hotel is a pleasant place to spend a week during the winter but needs to up its game in a few areas.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank UKSPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We visited your hotel five years ago and thought it was a very good place and had a nice week
with our daughter´s family. This year my wife and myself came back and found it still better.
We specially appreciate the architecture of the biuldings.We had a nice week with a big and nice room, very good breakfasts, good swimming in your excellent pools and two good dinners in your á la carte restaurants. We wish to come back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyAndren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited the Cordial Mogan Playa in the last week of November for 10 nights on a package.
Our first impression of the hotel is that it was spotless, not a speck of dust in sight. The reception is very grand and impressive, and we were offered a glass of champagne at check-in. The layout of the hotel was very nice, with the palm trees and exotic plants lining all walk ways around the hotel.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only gripe was that the bed was two single beds pushed together, maybe the hotel needs to invest in some king size beds.
The balcony was very large and the furniture very comfortable.
We were on a half board option, and overall we found the food to be of a good standard with plenty of choice. We took the first sitting, and waited perhaps until 18.45 and didn't experience any chaos as described by some reviewers. Yes, the layout can be a bit confusing at first but after a couple of days we got the hang of it.
We did eat at the hotels 'posh' restaurant with a discount for being on half board (Just ask at reception), and we found the food to be excellent - Worth a visit.
Our only gripe with the food was breakfast.
I like to eat a full english on holiday (I don't know why, as I don't eat that at home!?), and I suppose I can't be fussy about this as asking a spanish hotel to do a full english well is a bit of an ask, but we found it to be quite badly done.
But, we did find a restaurant down the path on the way to the port on the left (the one that sells spit roast chickens), did an excellent full english for 6 Euros.

The Entertainment...
We have never laughed so much! It's worth noting that the musicals performed three times during our stay are produced by an in-house team of young people, who actually do not realise how funny they all are! If you can embrace their enthusiasm and give the kids a break you may find it quite dead-pan humour as we did. Well done guys!

The pools are great - Heated and no problems in November.
The spa is fantastic, worth a visit to 'float' in the salt water pool.
A big thank you as well to all the staff in the hotel who are all very good, nothing was a problem, and they all obviously take great pride in their work.

Just a final note about the roads... We booked an excursion to find the dolphins, and were picked up in a taxi as we were the only people from the hotel going.
We were driven to Puerto Rico via the 'scenic route' along the coast road, with the hair pin bends and sheer drops. If like me, you find this a bit nerve wrecking, then don't do it! By the time we got there I had turned a whiter shade of pale and had a few wobbles getting on the boat.
But, we did find that we could take a ferry back, so no need for a repeat performance!

All in all, a lovely holiday, very relaxing, entertaining and just what we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally75England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel, as it was listed as a four star we opted to upgrade to a suite. What a let down, it was a dark and dismal room with no views whatsoever and with a worn through grass area as a patio overlooking the back of other rooms, the bathroom was worn with a leaking shower. The hotels amenities were excellent with lovely pool areas. We tried the evening buffet and the food was very average, we subsequently exchanged the half board to lunch and found this quite adequate, there are some excellent restaurants at the harbourside.
Overall we enjoyed the holiday, Puerta Mogan is a wonderful resort with a good beach and lovely Port Area, its a shame that the hotel don't give people an honest assessment when they are paying quiet a lot extra to upgrade to a suite, whilst we could'nt see inside them the standard rooms with South facing balconies and pool views would seem to be far superior.

Room Tip: Avoid upgrading to a suite you pay quite a lot extra for inferior location
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

very good hotel with short walk to resturants in the harbour. Nice quiet pool area, clean hotel, modern exclusive feel in general. Staff happy and service minded, food really good, but we choce ½ board and only ate breakfast and few lunches on resort. Good bars, and above average level of entertainment in evening. Wi Fi intermittent in room, if it was an extra (free for us) I would have asked for money back. Only minus is that the in-room saftey box could have been included "free" in price and not option @ €2 day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helsingborgaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $183 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing