We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, so sorry to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, so sorry to leave!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Cordial Mogan de Playa hotel for eight fantastic nights in September and can't fault the place. From the wonderful staff who are only to happy to help you with any problem, to the beautiful gardens which make it a joy to wander between the various buildings that make up the complex, everything was first rate and I recommend the place wholeheartedly. Our room was on the third floor and we had a lovely view of the pool and towards the sea. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The two big pools were fine, although I think we were very lucky in that it was quieter at that start of our stay and these pools did get busier towards the end of the stay. Guests are a nice nice of families and slightly older holidaymakers, so younger couples such as ourselves were a bit in the minority. This suited us fine, and I think if you want a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings it is ideal, although if you want more bright lights and night life you might be better off elsewhere. Puerto de Mogan is a lovely little fishing village, with a good variety of restaurants, bars etc., in a gorgeous location around the port-a cross between Venice and Whitby I thought! It is easy to travel along the coast around the island either by hiring a car or using the very good bus service, and the climate is wonderful. Food in the hotel is through the buffet-style restaurant, with an a la carte option being one of the best restaurants in Gran Canaria which is located in the hotel complex (we didn't try this as we found the buffet fine.) Just outside the hotel there is a small shopping centre with a very handy supermarket and it is just a quick stroll down to the port and beach. We didn't go on the beach in Puerto de Mogan itself as it did seem to be quite busy with children and families (it looks very safe and great for little ones) and we wanted a bit of piece and quiet, but I'd recommend travelling around the coast to Maspalamas, where a visit to the slightly surreal sand dunes and the lovely beach is not to be missed. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and are really missing it! Hopefully we'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in building number 7 and this gave us (at least from our room) a lovely view. Some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tashurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,012
    789
    151
    28
    12
See reviews for
1,075
2,353
87
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from 1 weeks stay at this wonderful hotel - it was our 1st visit to Gran Canaria and Puerto Mogan is lovely. After a good flight and private transfer we were met at Reception by friendly staff and a glass of fizz. A porter took our luggage and showed us to our room;on the 4th floor overlooking the top pool. The view was amazing, the room very large with a big bathroom and balcony and had everything we needed. Breakfast in the restaurant was superb with lots of choices and we sat in the atrium every morning. We chose the 2nd sitting for dinner and were given a table in the conservatory area - this sitting seemed quieter and again there were plenty of choices. There is an a la carte restaurant but we didn't try this as the food in the buffet restaurant was very good. Both the pools are large, very clean and there were always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas free - there are 2 pool bars run by friendly staff.
The reception bar was a lovely place to sit and have a drink before dinner and there was an evening disco bar - the only negative being the entertainment, which could be improved.
The hotel complex is large and surrounded by fantastic tropical plants and trees, is very clean, has a relaxed atmosphere and is run by friendly and helpful staff. There is a nice walk down to Puerto Mogan from the hotel and here you will find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the top pool and spa have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanjo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I and 7 year old daughter stayed here at the end of August for 10 days in a junior suite. The complex is large but spread out nicely with 2 big pools all set in wonderful gardens and only a couple of minutes walk fron the beech and harbour. Our rooms were of a good standard, all the staff were excellent and very helpful. We had our breakfast in the blue restaurant everyday which was great, near our rooms and away from the main restaurant at the other end of the complex. The chef here was amazingly helpful as our daughter who was on a wheat free diet at the time and she made lots of croissant, bread etc especially for her.

The only slight negative was the evening entertainment - a very basic mini disco from 8.00 for about 30 minutes then normally nothing till 10.00 by which time the little ones were mostly in bed. I think they do this because the main dining room runs 2 shifts 6.30 til 8.00 and then after 9.00

Overall a really classy hotel on a great plot with lovely staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at this wonderful hotel. We visited in 2009 and enjoyed it very much but think it is even better now. All the staff are so friendly and helpful, going out of their way to give assistance and help the holiday feel. We loved the variety and freshness of the buffet - everything imaginable ... and more! From the delicious cooked to order omelettes at breakfast to the array of fruits and salads, well presented and tasty desserts (especially those pancakes served with liquers) as well as fresh breads, meats, cheeses, and accompaniments! The pools were great - lots of sunbeds and parasols and everywhere so clean. Just not so sure of the purpose of the shingle areas - a bit hard on the feet! The bars and cafes were brilliant - not that we needed more food! All the public areas were well tended and we enjoyed strolling around the gardens - especially the cactus area. Our room was a delight - spacious and so clean with adjustable air con. The view from our balcony was interesting - we could see one of the pools and the buffet restaurant - we enjoyed some people watching as they walked in for breakfast or dinner. Overall, a wonderfully relaxing holiday in sumptuous surroundings with superb staff. The managers' cocktail party was lovely and it was good to hear from the different managers and their roles. Entertainment was of a high standard and the bar waiters were attentive. We hope to come again.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem to matter where your room is located but some people might prefer to choose a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from our 6th stay at this great hotel. This is the 2nd time we have travelled here as a family and we all love the hotel, grounds, staff and location.

The staff are fantastic and many have been there since the hotel was opened in 2004 (always a good sign !). The kids club is great and provides lots of different activities for kids throughout the day and our son couldn't wait to go every day ! There is also a kids disco 6 nights a week.

The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, 2 supermarkets and a great harbour with lots of restaurants surrounding it. I would highly recommend a stay in this great hotel. We'll certainly be going back !

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite if you want a sitting room in addition to a bedroom & bathroom. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Really is lovely hotel , magnificent grounds. The food in hotel was excellent and of a high standard.My only issue was the room.At certain times there was a heavy sewage smell coming from the actual bath! Run water for a while and it would go temporarily.There was also an infestation of ants in the bathroom along with the pong.I normally carry peppermint oil and this makes them run but some ended up in the wardrobe then! This is a small issue but the hotel otherwise is a lovely place and it is worth the ratings it gets..however do be wary with your room choice or allocation!The staff in general were very courteous.The pools were lovely. Was in room 5301 which was corner third floor room .Entertainment was quite good.Whilst not into the party scene myself found Mogan to be fairly quiet and not lots of activity at night although enough going on in hotel to keep me interested. All in all nice hotel did get it for fair price too so happy enough but would not go mad over resort itself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob2512Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cordial Mogan Playa again in August.
Beautiful hotel with superb gardens. Two large swimming pools. Confortable sun beds and the Pool Boy will get you beds if the pool area is busy. Drinks and lunch at La Fula pool bar with a good menu choice and served by the most friendliest of staff.
We had a super room with Air Condition and a pool and sea view. Room cleaned and checked several times daily. The food in the hotel is excellent ,you wont be dissapointed. The managment and staff are very friendly and will do everything to make your stay a holiday to remember. This is the Hoel to book in Mogan.

Room Tip: We like blocvk 2 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
810 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,044 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing