We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean ,tidy, good service, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived at 9 in the evening but the staff were still helpful and we were shown down to dinner after our bags ect had been dropped off in the room. I can't praise this hotel highly enough the breakfast is great if a little bit intimidating by the sheer choice of food, dinner is the same and the only thing I recommend is not to sit in the conservatory as it does get hot in there. The rest of the hotel has no problems at all both pools are slightly salty so no chlorine to worry about, people do go down and reserve sunbeds but in general there is always one or two to spare. The rooms are clean and the maids do their jobs well bed are quite hard but ok and there are black out blinds, hidden behind the curtains that do not close ,which I found on our last day. all in all this was a great hotel and dont worry about anything if you have booked in as its great place . Morgan itself is quite except on market days which are an experience and do haggle as they will come down on price!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45dave123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,827 - 1,833 of 4,238 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, excellent staff and facilities, nothing too much trouble. Room exceeded our expectations for size and overall standard. Only down side we would have prefered bed and breakfast rather than half board as this stopped us sampling local resturants. However the hotel buffet was excellent. We did try the a la carte dining venue on site although the food was very good we felt the portions were small and the staff were unable to to talk you through the menu.

The hotel complex was immaculate with good facilities and would not hesitate to recommend or indeed stop again.

Room Tip: we stopped in 7201 room opened on a tiered court yard with balcony over looking the spa very quiet p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenRollings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This review is a bit belated as we stayed here in May this year. The hotel is beautiful, and the food was great every night. They offer the option to eat at lunch time if you are going out in the evening, which the lunch buffet is equally tasty. Other plus sides were: immaculate pool, towel change always available, reasonably priced lunch and drinks, rooms cleaned daily.

The only thing for us that let the hotel down was the entertainment in the evening. Dont get me wrong we are not party animals, but after a lovely meal we like to have a drink whilst watching entertainment. It was shocking, we stayed for 9 nights and the only entertainment worth watching was the Flamenco Dancers, on our last night we went out because we didnt want to waste another evening with hotel entertainment.

However that said, it was the only thing that lost a mark, if they fix this then they have got what I call a perfect holiday. The staff were fantastic, very friendly, always helpful, faultless. We would definately return if there was either more to do in the resort at night or the hotel had better entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Canaries over 40 times but this was our first stay at this hotel. Overall it's probably the best hotel that we've stayed in. The food was absolutely superb. Normally during a two week, half board holiday we eat out at least five or six times. However, the food was so good that we didn't feel we needed to. The pool area is quiet and relaxed and the rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed. The staff are always smiling and extremely helpful. I can only endorse what other reviewers have said about the grounds, location and general upkeep of the hotel. Before we travelled I e-mailed the hotel and quested a pool view. When we arrived we were indeed given a pool view in block 4. We were in 4305. The 4 signifies the block, 3 the floor number at 05 the room number. If you want a better view of the pool 4304-4301 or the same rooms on the floor below would be perfect. We loved this hotel and will definitely return. The only thing that was a negative was the price of the drinks. I know it's a hotel and its going to be more expensive than outside. However, double the price for a beer is a little steep. Also, as has been commented on already by others, the wine was €18 a bottle with dinner and only €3 directly opposite the front of the hotel in the supermarket. Definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Lots of rooms have pool views. For quiet ones, close to reception, overlooking the pool go for 4301...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blackthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just back from our second fabulous stay at the Cordial Mogan Playa and I am still sulking at having to leave! Firstly may I stress that we are a well travelled couple having stayed at many 4 & 5* hotels including Sandals Deluxe and we have always said that we would not visit the same place twice! We have to say that we cannot understand any bad reviews at this hotel?? Either these people have confused this hotel with somewhere else or are just too hard to please!!
The Cordial Mogan Playa is a delight! From the moment you arrive and walk into the spectacular reception hall you know that you have stuck gold! It is totally different to anything else we have seen! The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, with everything one would need. As we had been before we knew that there were no tea & coffee making facilities so we brought our own kettle and the hotel staff are happy to provide you with cups etc.. We found out later in our stay that you can loan a kettle from reception for a refundable 10 euro deposit. Also you can request a mattress topper if you find the beds too hard. Nice to know for our next stay!
The grounds are a tranquil spectacular botanical garden with exotic plants, lemons & orange trees and we even spotted pomegranate this time. Add waterfalls and features, a bird aviary with colourful finches and canaries, Heaven!! There is a lovely Cactus garden, well worth a stroll around just to see the different species of Cactus. The garden's are a credit to the gardeners who work really hard keeping them so perfect! Love the tiny chapel too!
The pools are gorgeous, we tend to use the one nearest reception as it is the quieter pool and we like to read and we understand that the other pool is where they hold the activities. Both pools are very clean with plenty of sunbeds. We had no problem getting a sunbed at anytime of day, which is surprising especially holidaying in August.
We didn't use the Spa but other guest that we spoke to said it was lovely. Definitely Something for our next trip!!
Breakfast is a feast, so much to choose, from cereals to pancakes, array of yoghurts and fruit and then the cooked options. We like to sit in the outside area overlooking the waterfall. Dinner is a bit more formal. You are given the same table for the whole stay but I cannot see why guest complain as if its not to your liking then the restaurant staff are more than happy to move you to a more suitable place. To the gentleman that complained in his review that he didn't like the fact he had to wear long trouser for dinner I say have some respect!! No one wants to eat in the evening with a guy bopping around in shorts!! (can't understand some people). The food is excellent with plenty of choices. Something for everyone. Loved the salads too!!
You can swop dinner for lunch if you choose to eat out or are going on an evening excursion which is nice. Totally recommend you do the Music Hall Tavern, brilliant fun night out, so funny!!
The evening entertainment on the whole is good. We saw some really good acts, loved IL TRIO one has to remember that this is hotel entertainment so it does vary.
Now I kept the best until last! We have stayed in lots of nice hotels, with nice pools, nice rooms and good food so we thought about what makes this hotel stand out above the rest and we concluded pretty quickly that it Is the staff. It is quite evident that the staff are united in one thing.. their passion for the Mogan Playa. From the Reception staff to the Housekeepers, Gardeners, Pool staff, Bar staff, Restaurant staff, They are a team of people who are most polite, helpful and friendly but still remain professional at all times and make you feel like you are the only guest! Well done to the Management on building a team of people to be proud of!!
We can't wait to come back!!

We travelled with Thomson's this time and we have to mention that Andrew our Rep was an absolute Star! He was so informative and helpful. There was a slight mix up on our plane seats going out which Andrew sorted for us immediately we arrived also my partner was taken ill during our stay so we had to cancel a trip and Andrew went out of his way to get us on a later trip that was already fully booked! Thanks Andrew!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor up to avoid the trees if you like a sunny balcony. The rooms facing the pools nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceylikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous two weeks at the Cordial Mogan Playa. We have travelled extensively and this hotel with its staff compare favourably with many we have visited previously. The hotel, facilities, amenities and staff are wonderful. We were half board option, which allows you to swap dinner for lunch - we only did this a couple of times. The buffet selection was extensive, food was excellent and a good variety to cater for all needs. Don't be put off by buffet style, the whole experience is very leisurely and in a very pleasant environment. The pool bar served excellent selection for lunch if needed after the breakfast and before dinner!! The hotel and grounds are very impressive. Pool areas are well maintained and we never struggled for loungers - they try to dissuade lounger bagging but it happens. However during our stay there was no shortage at either pool. The spa - wonderful - I would move in! Well worth a visit. The entertainment was entertaining, a mix of the staff putting on shows and acts brought in. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. Most had been with the hotel for some time which is reassuring. The hotel is five minutes walk from the harbour / beach area where there is a selection of shops / restaurants. The selection is good and quality good. Very pleasant area to stroll around day or evening. We will
without a doubt return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EYCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just spent 11 days in the hotel and it was great. I have not been there for 5 years but the standards in the hotel have improved. The food was excellent and it was great to see quite a few of the old staff members still there so service is excellent. The wellness centre has been completely revamped and the gym is now a dedicated room with excellent modern facilities. The rooms and the bathrooms have been vamped up and the British tv stations have also n em considerably improved. The two new tunnels mean much quicker transfers and the towel service for the pools is excellent so well done and I will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerry47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $165 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing