We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cordial Mogan Playa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cala Blanca by Diamond Resorts(Mogan)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anfi Emerald Club(Arguineguin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (4,398)
    Filter reviews
    4,398 results
    Traveler rating
    3,288
    899
    165
    32
    14
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    3,288
    899
    165
    32
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshalf boarda la carte restaurantlos guayresevening mealmogan playahotel tourcactus gardenexcellent hotella fulajunior suiteblue buildinghotel groundslarge hotelbowling alleybotanical gardensmain restaurantcordial mogan
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    3,049 - 3,054 of 4,398 reviews
    Reviewed June 27, 2008

    Just returned from a week at the Cordian Playa hotel having bee put there because of the issues with the apartments.

    Plus points:- We paid £299 each for a week half board which we thought was very good. The hotel is in a very good location within easy reach of Puerto Mogan centre and has a supermarket right opposite (trust me you will need this if you want to eat for the week). The rooms are very clean and comfortable in general.

    Negative points:- On arrival, although me and my lovely wife are forty somethings, we thought we had landed at a Saga holiday, and one for the very old at that. The people where 80% german pensioners which made getting around them all a bit of a test. This seemed to change as the week went on and a few families started to arrive.
    The food is NOT 4 star, there is plenty but what I can't understand is why they have to remove any semblence of taste no matter what is presented. We lasted 1 evening, and 1 lunch time then vowed never again. Puerto Mogan has some nice restaurants, along the harbour. We even bought sandwiches from the supermarket to avoid tasteles lunches.
    The pool area can get very crowded, the towel brigade where out at 7am, and you will have no privacy at all. That said when it did go quiet on changeover days etc is was very nice and clean they just need to reduce the beds and get a grip of the towel mafia.

    Prices where on a par with most UK hotels but we took our own wine and spirits and used the fridge in the room.

    All in all for the price paid it was fine, but I would not go again based on the food issue and pool issues.

    • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank bigbaddad49
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 26, 2008

    I have been back for 2 weeks now and still can't get this holiday out of my mind. We had booked to stay in the apartments but 3 days before we left we were told they were not ready and they had upgraded us to this fantastic hotel on half board. I had a look on the web at it and it looked great. When we arrived we were really well looked after champayne or orange in the amazing reception area I was really taken aback with the decor, wow! Staff were lovely at all times, rooms spotless, so much choice of food even for the fussy eaters, glorious sunshine everyday, pool area's immaculate and always plenty of sunbeds, we went to the pool nearest to reception as that was near our room but there was another one equally as nice (although the stones round the edge were a pain) but i would never complain this is the best place I have ever stayed in and would go back tomorrow (wish I was there now!) As for the area it is a little quiet, with a lovely beach and safe waters (we went to the beach in the afternoon) the habour was pleasant to stroll around in the evening before heading back to the hotel entertainment which was good. Oh and you must go to the massive market on Fridays if you like to shop. We did go to Peurto rico for one day this is busy busy with shops and arcarde's which we enjoyed but it was lovely to return to our plush hotel. The bus ride is scary on the mountains but they run frequently and are cheap 4.05 euros for 2 adults and a 10yr old, taxi is around 14 euro.

      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    4  Thank LouiseCheshire
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 26, 2008

    This was our second visit to this Hotel, we were made most welcome by all the Staff, we were taken to our room and it was lovely.
    We had read on the Trip Advisor reports about the people who had booked the Self Catering apartments next door and the complex was not completed therefore these people were put in the Cordial Mogan Playa. This was very evident these people were going to dinner in T shirts and shorts and the Restaurant Manager did not stop this, we found this to be unacceptable, we had booked a four star plus hotel and did not expect these people to be sharing a quality hotel with us dressed in shorts for dinner.
    The Hotel is excellent and is surrounded by beautiful gardens, the food is good but on a few occasions the food could have been hotter.
    Chamber Maids seemed not to have a routine, and your room could be cleaned anytime up to 4.30pm.
    The resort of Puerto Mogan is still very quaint and was very quiet until a Friday when it was Market day there are a lot of stalls all around the port and it adds to the atmosphere, the rest of the time it was very quiet.
    Hotel entertainment was nothing to write home about; it was not as good as when we previously went. The service in the bar was very slow they seemed to be short of staff.
    We had to laugh and be ashamed to be British one man a BRIT would walk around the pool area where everyone was sun bathing looking in the dustbins for the English newspapers to read was too mean to buy his own, then we would see him at breakfast with a large bag taking fruit and rolls, we assume for his lunch, this sort of behaviour should be stopped by management.
    Would we go back to this Hotel? Yes we would it is a very relaxing place, and very clean, the pool was so warm it was like bath water.
    It is a classy hotel and we can recommend it. Peaceful and quiet especially now that the Apartments next door are open, hopefully the Hotel will only have their own guests in the future

    Stayed: June 2008
    1  Thank Malcolm K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 25, 2008

    We have just returned from the Cordial Mogan Playa. I think most people have already covered how impressive this hotel is, so here is some additional useful info:
    1. There is no need to take beach towels as the hotel provide one per person which can be changed as often as you wish.
    2. If you get the option of having a taxi transfer this would be well worth it - it took us around 2 hours to get there by coach after many drop offs in Puerto Rico.
    3. As another reviewer has said, wait until you have been to your room before paying for the fridge - ours was already unlocked and the hotel don't appear to be bothered by you buying food/drinks from the supermarket opposite to put in the fridge.
    4. The hotel got busier throughout the week that we were there and on the last day we struggled to get a lounger by either of the pools at 11. It is mainly down to the usual problem of people putting towels on loungers early in the morning and not using them until later in the day!
    5. People sitting at tables in the bar areas seem to take priority over people stood at the bar when it comes to being served (frustrating when all you are waiting to do is pay for an ice-cream you have helped yourself to from the freezer).
    6. On arrival we were given the option of which dinner sitting we wanted (6.30 to 7.30 or 8.30 to 9.30) however, we were told that if we wanted to change this one evening we could do as long as we let reception know.

    And finally I can confirm that the Mogan Valle apartments are now open.

    Overall this is an excellent hotel with just a few minor points that i believe are letting it down from becoming 5 star.

    • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    3  Thank kaytay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 25, 2008

    Spent 2 weeks at the hotel from 9th June to 23rd. Very impressed with all aspects of the hotel with the grounds being the most impressive we have ever seen. So many fantastic tropical plants in excellent maintained garden and walkways with super aroma's in the evening!
    Try for a room in the 800's or 900's as these are much more private and cosy than those 700 or below. Walk past the blue building to find the gate to the town and beach. Access is via your room key and saves a long walk to the main entrance. It seemed to be a "Best kept secret" as it was not that easy to find!
    Gym in the blue building along with some games machines. The pool by the blue building was certainly quieter than the main pool.
    Bowling Ally is under the tennis court, but we missed it for 5 days as it is not well signed. There are 3 coin operated computers in the upstairs room to the right hand side of the reception desk. Stairs are next to the double doors leading out to the pool area. 10 mins for 1 euro 20 mins for 2 euro's. Good selection of Books in this room also.
    As we knew from these blogs that the night life was almost non existent, we took a selection of DVD's which helped in the latter part of the evening. Only 4 English language channels on the TV, BBC World news, Euronews, CNN & CNBC. The rest are a selection of Spanish, German, Italian & Dutch. DVD's can be hired from the paper shop for around 3 euro's for 24 hours. Check the door of the fridge in the room before you hire a key from reception. Ours was unlocked already! Be careful when you insert your room key card into the slot to activate the electric. The switch managed to damage both of our room key cards within 3 days rendering them useless. Best to keep 1 card in the electric and keep the other on you to open the doors!
    The only English papers available from the shop were the Mail and the Mirror as far as I could tell.
    Food was good! but it did get busy at weekends. Breakfast is served until about 10.30 but beware that most of the pre-cooked items are getting cold by then. Toasters are available but manufactured by Noah, so allow 5 mins to get the bread anywhere near. Watch out for the 5 min eggs. More like 2 mins and somewhat raw!! Pancakes, omelette's and fried eggs are cooked fresh from the hot plate but you will have to wait for a while.
    Late sitting dinner was more relaxed than early sitting. Less children as well. Bottle of water with your meal will set you back 2 euro's 10 cents. Worth keeping a bit of money back to pay the bill at reception when you check out!!
    The market on Friday was very large and spread out throughout the town but a poor selection of goods. Jewellery, clothes, and leather items mainly.
    Days out should include Amadores,and the Anfi complex. The Bus to Maspalomas will drop you off at both. Excellent English bar at Amadores is the London Pride. A real mug of milk coffee for 2 euro's was a real treat!! Beaches at both resorts are man made and excellent. The mini golf at Amadores was one of the best we have been on.
    Last tip for a mornings entertainment, get one of the waiters to save the wasted bread rolls, take them to the marina and feed the fish.
    Maybe a different type of review but hope it is of assistance to new visitors to Cordial Morgan Playa.

    • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    6  Thank djo5555
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews