We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gets better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Hotel just gets better, we have stayed here 3 times and we cannot find any faults, the food, the friendly staff, and the overall experience is one we would recommend to anyone.
The resort is quiet and peaceful, and this hotel makes your holiday one to remember.
We had the earlier evening meal 6.30 to 8.00 and because you are allocated a table for the duration of the holiday you have the chance to meet other guests, which we did and formed a nice relationship with another couple.
Mr and Mrs Banton Nottingham UK

Room Tip: Try for a room on the west side if you want the longest hours of sun.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bantyboy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,153)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,855 - 1,861 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked a short break for guaranteed sun, and the biggest mistake was not taking a longer break.
Pictures really cannot do justice to the superb grounds and impressive public rooms, interspersed with tropical plans an waterways. The a la carte restaurant is not far off Michelin standard, but the prices are reasonable, with a 6 course tasting menue at 50 euros, with such expensive constituents as foie gras and suckling lamb and pig.
There are 2 large pool areas, both with restaurant facilities, friendly , professional, service, nightly entertainment,a spa, children's games room, outdoor chess, historic 13th century burial site to wander round, a dive centre- the list goes on.
I can see why it is so popular with guests. There are only 2 or 3 criticisms at all. When we arrived from an evening flight, at just after 10.00pm, there was no food available at all, not even a sandwich. There was no bottled water available in the room, no working minibar/fridge.Now I can understand in the current economic climate that costs must be cut to survive, and with nearly 500 rooms the management might not want to stock mini bars during quite periods, but I would rather have paid another few pounds at that level for these omissions to be rectified.In a 2 star, OK, but not in a hotel so otherwise excellent.
The other issue, which is not the hotel's fault. is that airport transfers are either cheap and take 2 hours by bus, or expensive and take 45 minutes by taxi. Our deal for the bus cost £23 for two of us , bur a taxi would have been £75 each way. So be aware.
We will go back, which says it all. Oh and by the way, the village is equally delightful, being a five minute or so walk, mainly through the hotel grounds, exceeding pretty, but a working fishing port with a lovelly beach and a few good shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exclusivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just got back from 2 week stay, this was our 3rd visit and gets better with every visit. Staff so friendly and helpful, food great with enormous choice, rooms and hotel very clean. will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Cordial Mogan Playa. We stayed on a half board basis in rooms overlooking the larger pool. Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, new foam memory mattresses were delivered during our stay. The service and cleanliness at this hotel is second to none and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and always friendly. The food served suits all palates with plenty of choice, although I found that the pastries and desserts all had a strange taste- perhaps that is from the chiller units they are stored in. The hotel gardens are beautiful and are well looked after, with plants from all over the world. Pools are lovely and clean with toppers for the sunbeds.Towels can be changed every day and are free of charge. We had no trouble getting sunbeds whatever time we hit the pool. An adult only pool would have been nice.The entertainment wasn't our cup of tea, so spent most evenings down in the harbour. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the beautiful beach and harbour. Bus station is close by for visiting other resorts, but why would you want to leave Mogan?? A couple of small gripes- a hotel of this standard should not be charging for safes and it would have been nice to have had a kettle in the room, however you can hire one with a 10 euro deposit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cath61Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first visit ,we stayed for 7 nights and really loved the gardens and the swimming pools.The hotel is beautiful and we had a very nice room on the top floor with pool view.mogan is very pretty and well worth a visit for a nice relaxing break.There was a singer early evening in the pool bar singing opera which we could hear from our balcony while we where getting ready for dinner he was excellent and we really enjoyed listening to him there was also a duo in the theatre on our last evening who were very good.The only thing we did not like about the hotel was the food,the bacon at breakfast was awful and the pastries and the desserts at breakfast and dinner all had a very strange taste,as if they had been stored in a damp cellar,over the week the taste got stronger and we could not eat them at all.we hope that if we return ,this will have been rectified as we really loved the hotel apart from this.

Room Tip: rooms on top floor pool view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirl787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights over half term with husband and daughter age 9.This was our second visit and hotel is just as good,maybe even better than last year.
We absolutely love the place.Our room was great,although maybe I will upgrade to a junior suite next time we go.
The only minor negative is that the hotel is a few years old now and some of the carpets in the communal public areas are in need of replacement.
Other than that this is a perfect hotel.
Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Need to get back up to work speed, after 7 chillout days at this hotel. Great room clean and cool.separate pool for families, lovely gardens to walk around. Dining room and food very good, all waiting staff were v/good nothing was to much trouble. Cava was chilled every morn at breakfast mmmmm . Would recommend this hotel.
Ps we missed evening meal on 1st nite, they had arranged a lovely cold buffet for us of smoked salmon , variety of sliced meats, salads etc etc

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
461 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $182 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing