We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun-drenched, friendly hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a lovely 4 star hotel.
Customer service – excellent. Friendly, English speaking, very accommodating.
Rooms – comfortable, clean, spacious. I believe some other Tripadvisors have advised requesting a sea-view. I didn’t have this luxury, but was perfectly comfortable in my room (for the little time I spent there).
Spa – beautiful, relaxing, though expensive. If you want a basic mani/pedi – there are plenty of local salons which are much much cheaper.
Swimming pools – lovely. However be warned, although it is documented in the hotel brochure that reserving sun loungers is not allowed, I observed many people doing this. People put their towels down the night before, came down before breakfast and swapped them for clean towels, disappeared off then reappeared around 11am. Some people therefore secured the best spots at the pool for their entire stay. There are some other sun loungers around in sunny places, but I did find it annoying.
Food – excellent buffet breakfast. Half-board meant that there was a buffet evening meal. If you want the earlier setting, you need to specify this clearly early on, maybe prior to arrival, as this sitting seemed to be the most popular. I was also informed that if you preferred to have lunch, this was possible too. However my experience that the breakfast was so plentiful, and you could take a “doggy bag” of fruit and pastries, so you don’t really need lunch if you are having your evening meal in the hotel. I had no complaints about the food, unlike some other Tripadvisors.
Activities – there are numerous sporting activities which, as far I could tell from the hotel brochure, are free. I didn’t get involved in many of these, but the aquagym looked fun.
Beach – 5 minute walk away. Sun loungers for hire. A lovely walk in the evening to Puerto de Mogan. Lots of things to see and do. I particularly enjoyed watching locals playing dominoes.
Entertainment – I thought this was great despite some of the other comments of Tripadvisors. Family-friendly, good fun.
Supermarket – 2 minute walk away. I would recommend stocking up on water and soft drinks here.
Summary – fantastic relaxing family-friendly hotel.

Room Tip: If possible get a sea-view, or south-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 4,258 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our first ever 'big resort hotel' holiday. We went with our 5-YO boy and 10 month old baby and we loved it! A beautiful garden-ful hotel to visit.

We took a family room which was well worth the extra dosh for the extra space. They provided a good travel cot for the baby.

We half board - wouldn't go full board as think would get bored of the food. Food 7/10 - sometimes great. Breakfasts really great. Some evenings a bit nondescript although lots of choice and meant that the kids eat something different that they liked every night.

Staff al v child friendly.

Claudia and Andrea on the animation team were GREAT - regular appearances of 'Carlos the Caterpillar' were a delight for our 5 year-old who LOVED mini disco every evening + did quite a lot of the activities.

Weather perfect for a young family - early twenties - always warm.

It's not a cheap holiday, but for a treat would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having just returned from this hotel on the 15th April I've thought long and hard about what to write about our experience, but here goes.

On first impression this is a lovely Hotel, the Lobby is beautiful, the pool area's are good and the Entertainment was also enjoyable. There is a good selection of food in the Restaurant and the Buffet style is as it is in any other hotel of this kind.

If you are Half-Board you have the option to exchange your Dinner for Lunch which worked out as really good value if you like to get out to the resort in the evenings, the local restaurants are fantastic, especially the Indian in the shopping centre opposite the hotel.

After 5 days we discussed how we may like to return as things were going so well until 2am that morning. We were awoken by a strange clicking noise, we turned the lights on to find approx 10 Cockroaches running on our bed, our son's bed and on the sheer curtains next to the window! Understandably we jumped out of bed, turned on all the lights and tried not to scream and wake our son as these visitors (in their panic) began to run around and even fly at us, my Husband went to the wardrobe to get some clothes and found another cockroach running over his belongings.

We rang Reception and explained our problem, she arrived a good 10 mins later with a can of bug spray! We explained that there was at least 10 in the room that we could see plus our son was surprisingly still asleep so there was no way she was spraying anything. We explained as calmly as we could that we needed another room to sleep in straight away, this was sorted and we moved for the night to a ground floor room (smelled a bit damp) we then slept briefly but left a light on just in case.

The next day we went to Reception to exchange our dinner vouchers as usual and I was surprised that there was no mention from the staff on the desk about the nights events. I asked was there no record on the computer system about our room, another lady then came to check and said the assistant manager would come and see us.

We then had a brief chat with a very polite but vague young man. He said that these cockroaches can be a problem at this time of year and they would get the room sprayed now that they were aware of the problem. It definitely seemed to be a reactionary approach rather than getting the rooms treated regularly as you would in a hotel with an adequate maintenance regime.

We have stayed in the Canaries many times and we have never seen Cockroaches in our accommodation, I strongly feel this hotel is so large that it is failing in issues of basic maintenance. So on our last evening we had to pack & then move rooms so it wasn't exactly the stress free evening we had in mind. We were left some wine, juice and fruit in our new room but that hardly compensated for such a poor end to our holiday. We couldn't wait to leave and were made to feel that this really wasn't an important issue.

So book and take your chances, maybe leave a light on when you sleep just in case (ps we always closed the patio doors at night so they can't have just flown in)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordial, Director General at Cordial Mogan Playa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for the concern you have shown us through your observations.

We sincerely apologize, if in any way, we did not meet your expectations on handling your case and we are sorry for the lack of empathy transmitted by our staff. We take all our guest comments very seriously as these help us to achieve the standards that we strive to please our treasured guest.

We would like to inform you that this hotel has an agreement with one of the most prestigious desinsectation company in the Canary Islands. Such company makes aggressive treatments during the year. Such treatment was made during your stay, and it made the roaches go out, that was the reason you found it in your room.

We hope that this incident does not diminish your favorable regard of Cordial Mogan Playa and we are looking forward that you give us a chance to make it up to you on your next visit to our resort.

Any other comments or suggestions you may have will be appreciated. We remain at all times at your service.

Sincerely yours,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited this hotel in January, and were so impressed that we decided to visit again. Prior to arriving, we e mailed to ask for the same room. On arrival, this request had been obliged and we were pleased to find flowers, fruit and wine in our room. The overall service at this hotel really is first class, and although Mogan offers a wealth of food and tranquility, if you wanted a truly lazy & relaxing break, you wouldn't need to leave the hotel because nothing appears to be too much trouble for the staff. The simple touches, such as every member of staff saying hello, or good morning, the restaurant manager showing care about the service provided, and the constant cleaning are just some of the things that make this place so relaxing. We enjoyed this stay even more than the first and I'd whole heartedly recommend a visit to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask, and it shall be done !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJKBarnbyDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First things first this is a big hotel. Immaculately clean , great heated pools , nice rooms , great grounds , fantastic spa.... BUT .... the food was just plain awful! never finished a plate of food . we ate out 4 nights even having paid for half board. the restuarants around the harbour were so good. Having paid £800 for a weeks accomodation it was dissapointed to have to pay for food. All in all we enjoyed are stay we really enjoyed eating out at the end of the day so it probably ebhanced our holiday to some degree. If it wasnt for the food i would give 5 stars

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alfatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Can't recommend this hotel enough. Beautiful gardens with low rise accomodation blocks makes the hotel feel like a village rather than a large hotel. The staff were all very helpful and seemed to go out of their way to help whenever they could. We found lots of variety of food on the buffet at meal times - no complaints! The resort of Puerto de Mogan was very quiet (maybe just early season), our girls were happy to sunbathe for 5 days but not sure there would be enough to entertain teenagers for a longer break. The pools were beautiful and we didn't struggle to find sunbeds despite the hotel being busy. We will definitely return for some winter sun later in the year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Returned here with my husband after visiting twice with girl friends. He is not a mad keen sun bathing person - however he ( and I ) had a great holiday. The staff are exceptionally helpful and polite and the hotel continues to be kept lovely and clean - with beautiful plants and flowers.
The food is lovely - and the choice is vast.
We went on some walks over the cove - by the banana plantation. Check it out on Google Earth if you are feeling energetic.
If you go with girlfriends - stay on your lounger and drink Sangria - you can press a little buzzer and the waiting staff come to your lounger .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $166 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing