We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel for solo travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I booked this hotel for a week at the end of February having been recommended it by a friend. I was not disappointed. I had emailed ahead and asked for a sunny and quiet room and got a lovely single room overlooking the pool nearest the reception area. The sun shone in all afternoon and, even though there were guests on either side of me, I didn't hear them and slept well every night.

Unlike a lot of reviews, I thought the food was good, plentiful and varied - breakfasts were especially good. Breakfast is served from 7.30 to 10.30 which is great for choice, as I went for a swim or to the gym (very nice gym) first, I would go to breakfast around 9.45, loads of space and I could take my time - they weren't hurrying you out.

The hotel seems very good for older people and people with a disability - this is just my impression as I didn't get anyone's opinion on that.

The spa was lovely but very expensive, I had the most expensive pedicure of my life there, but they did a good job!

The only disappointment I had was not with the hotel but with Puerto Mogan itself. I felt that there really was nothing there except the hotel. The beach is nice, but small, and the surrounding harbour was pretty but underwhelming. There are signs everywhere of the Spanish boom and bust - especially just outside the hotel entrance where a large shopping centre was built but very few of the shops occupied - and a lot of concrete.

This was a break that I wanted to just totally relax, have no responsibilities and soak up some Vit D - I got it all from the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicks_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,149)
There are newer reviews for Cordial Mogan Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 4,149 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Thanks to our neighbour's advice we headed for this hotel in Puerto Mogan & found it perfect! The layout is lovely with beautiful gardens & swimming pools & standards throughout are very high. The food was very good too - we had half board & sadly we were usually too full to try out the seafront cafes & bars! Puerto Mogan is very attractive with a lovely little beach with imported golden sand & a 'lagoon' area for swimming.The marina & port area make for a nice after dinner stroll! We would definitely return - for a longer stay & do some exploring further afield - provided the resort doesn't become 'over developed' this is the Canary Islands at their best!

Room Tip: If you need to be in your room or on your terrace or balcony for longer periods (eg babysitting) the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of very good hotels but this is probably the very best ever. I was there for one week in Feb/March as a solo traveller. Very comfortable, well equipped room with balcony. The gardens, pools and outdoor areas are truly beautiful ,well tended, and of interest to gardeners the plants were labelled. The pools are attended by lifeguards and access was suitable for wheelchairs and the less mobile.
I was on a half board basis and the food was served by buffet. At first this can be daunting as particularly breakfast can be a bit frenetic but the staff are so helpful that it soon seems familiar.
The choice and quality of food at both breakfast and dinner was truly awesome, even the most picky amongst us could not fail to find something to their liking. Some dishes were outside my experience but the dining staff seemed delighted to tell you what the ingredients were and their country of origin.
The in house entertainment was good and there were quality 'sporty' opportunities available - a seemingly endless list, including diving. The holiday is suitable as an active experience but also provides for a quiet rest and relaxation in beautiful surroundings.
The hotels' over riding asset is the quality of their staff - they are helpful, kind and obviously trained. The common areas and rooms were very clean, and towels and bed linen changed without request.
I have rated the whole holiday as excellent, so good in fact that the first thing I did on return was to book a further three weeks later this year.

Room Tip: I would say get an individual taxi not the shuttle service as the transfers by shuttle can be a bit...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Myself and 2 friends stayed for a week in the hotel on a half board basis. We had booked it all through a travel agent in Ireland, Falcon Travel. The agent was great in passing on our request for a south facing room, and 2 rooms interconnecting, all of which we got! I have stayed in many good hotels both in Europe and the Far East and the Cordial Mogan is way up there. The staff are SO efficient, friendly and helpful and there seems to be a very high morale amongst them all. The rooms are very well appointed, and my only real moan would be about the dining room, it is a real nightmare at breakfast....I would suggest trying to go for an early one before 9am, because if you leave it till later, some things will have run out!
On the half board, we were able to get a voucher for lunch instead in the little dining room beside the pool, again, I would recommend this as a nice alternative to always having supper in the dining room. I would definitely go back, and very much hope to do so!

Room Tip: We asked for a South facing room, which is lovely for evening sunshine, and I would also ask for a h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Chose this hotel after extensive research into Gran Canaria, it just felt right. Prior to arrival I had e-mailed to ask for a high room overlooking the pool. Arrived at 7.20 pm after a longer than average trip from the airport, dropping off at about 15 hotels on the way. First tip invest in a private transfer which takes about 45 minutes.
We were greeted at reception by a happy, smiling lady who welcomed us with a glass of champagne. A good start got even better when she had our e-mail request in front of her and allocated just the room we asked for.
We asked for 2nd sitting at dinner, 1st is from 6 to 7.30 and second from 8.30 onwards. We were allocated a table but asked to change after the first night because of a draft from a nearby door. No problem at all.
The food at the hotel is excellent with plenty of variety, empty dishes were soon replenished and the variety is very good. One minor niggle, sometimes the food was a little on the cool side. However, there is a microwave and a short blast soon heats it up.
Breakfast can be a bit manic as no tables are allocated so you have to sort one out for yourself, however, empty tables become available all the time and are re-set quickly. We were not kept waiting at all.
There are two pool bars and one that serves a buffet lunch if required. Snacks are available at both bars.
Rooms are quite large and comfortably furnished, the bathroom needed a little tlc as some grouting needed replacing, minor problem. They are clean with change of linnen as needed.
The grounds of the hotel are extensive, beautiful, well maintained and contain two very large pools. Unfortunately the usual morons get up at 7am to get towels on chairs despite being asked in the room info not to do it. I do wish hotels would remove all towels on chairs before a certain time. Some were reserved at 7.30 and not occupied until the afternoon, completely selfish. There are plenty of beds so you can usually find one at one or other pool.
Staff at the hotel are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and they are always smiling, suggesting a very happy team. Friday evening there is a Managers reception when all managers are present to talk to guests whilst enjoying a complimentary drink. In my experience few senior managers put their heads above the parrapit and expose themselves to the every day complaints of customers, these did and this showed how confident they are in the product they have.
The walk into the port/beach area takes about 5/7 minutes. It is a beautiful area with narrow streets, all pedestrianised, containing bars, shops and restaurants. Relax with a drink overlooking the sea. The whole sea front has the same mix of facilities. The beach is golden sand with both chairs/umbrellas and a large area if you want to sit on the sand.
Friday there is a huge market which takes over the whole of the village and is great for wandering through.
Having spoken to other visitors from other parts of the island who visited the village all agreed it was the most attractive village they visited, this was borne out for us whilst dropping off people at different hotels an our arrival.
All in all a great hotel with terrific service and good food. Relaxing and most enjoyable. Would we return? Most definately, Would we reccommend it to others? Most definately

Room Tip: Some rooms have no sun, so ask for a high sunny room if that is what you want, and they really try t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our second holiday at this hotel and we had a wonderful two weeks in February. Everything is just perfect - the rooms are comfortable and clean and the grounds and gardens are so quiet and beautifully maintained.The staff are all so very welcoming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble from senior management to junior waiters. Breakfasts can be a little overwhelming when everyone arrives at the same time and is trying to find a table, however a member of staff will soon help you out. We spent most of our days at the beach which is only 10 minutes walk along a very pleasant pedestrian area and were blessed with wall to wall sunshine every day which can't be bad!
We plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulinus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've just returned from another great week at the hotel during Feb half term . Can't really add anything new , would just wholeheartedly recommend !! Planning to return at new year - third visit in 22 months should say it all !!

Room Tip: We have an interconnecting suite( in the main blocks - only a handful I believe ) for 2 adults &...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsOWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
460 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $182 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing