We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel staff I have encountered - ever !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best hotel staff I have encountered - ever !!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This relatively large hotel manages to appear more like a boutique establishment by the excellent siting of the bedroom blocks in small units of no more then a few storys high, all set in magnificent grounds of lush foliage and waterfalls.
The public areas are spacious and airy with various levels to give a different vista at each turn.
The breakfast buffet was a feast to both the eye and stomach. For dinner there was if anything almost too much choice (watching the waistline!!). Again, I pay tribute to the wonderful staff who were a joy. The hotel wraps the guests in such a cocoon of enjoyment that my Wife and I seldom left the grounds and when we did, were delighted to return! Problems? very minor: whilst the hotel has a policy of not allowing the hogging of sunbeds by placing towels etc on them and then going off, unfortunately this was not policed and there were a few mornings when all the beds were "taken" but only a handful were occupied. Because the dinners were buffet service, the only disappointment was the lack of properly cooked fish. Most nights the fish was very overcooked and therefore dry and a bit tasteless. However these points were very insignificant when taken in the context of the overall experience. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Asking for a room overlooking the pool area would be recommended as there are a small number that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,989
    782
    150
    28
    12
See reviews for
1,061
2,342
85
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A very good choice for a winter sun break. Nice location, good climate and excellent hotel in very pleasant grounds. Just be aware that there is a bit of a scramble for sun loungers with towels appearing before breakfast (despite pleas not to do this) and the evening meal is a good buffet in two sittings - but, as per all buffets, this can suffer a bit from queues and some overcooked or disappearing vegetables by the time you get there. However, friendliness of the staff and general ambience more than make up for this. There is also an excellent gourmet restaurant where you are given a 15€/head discount - well worth trying.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My stay at this beautiful hotel with lush gardens and two wonderful pools was way beyond my expectations. The staff were, happy, kind and very service-minded. We had halfboard and the food was very nice and there was a lot to choose from. All very well prepared and very nicely displayed. The wine list was very good.
All in all my fiancé and I would go back time and time again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie_stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel earlier this month. We were initially appalled on approach to see a hideous supermarket dominating the entrance but mercifully this first impression rapidly gave way to delight once we entered this amazing oasis in a fairly arid region. The hotel is huge, luxurious and beautifully and imaginatively built, and furnished. Everywhere you look there are trees and flowers, both inside and outside the hotel. Our room on the top floor overlooking the pool and gardens was excellent, the food was completely amazing. They cater for 1000 guests in two sittings in the evening in the main restaurant (there are 2 more!) and every type of food you could imagine is there (with the sole exception of fresh cream which, in common with other Canarian countries doesn't seem to be used). Lounging around either of the two pools in a joy although as in most other places people are reserving sunbeds from the crack of dawn. We found the further away pool to be a bit better in this respect. The staff were polite and helpful. I asked for a kettle for our room and a mattress topper as the bed was rock solid. Both were immediately provided. The hotel is a ten minute walk from Puerto Mogan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel in nice location with friendly staff and excellent food and facilities.

Mogan itself has a marina and a beach with many small restaurants to choose from. It is arguably the most pleasant resort on Gran Canaria

Our 4th visit - can't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the sun if you want to spend time away from the pool areas and like the hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Superb in every way. Wonderful location, beautiful architecture, nice and friendly staff. Good food, clean and nice rooms. We had a wonderful time in Mogan, and we will be back sometime in the future for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was at CMP for just one week this time. The next one`s gonna be two. A fantastic hotel, with great service. The average age on the guests is high, so this is NOT a party place. But they are not selling that kind of experience either. If you want a great holiday with children, or just want to be pampered and have a nice/quiet time, this is the place. Super place for everyone with a handicap by the way. Easy to move from the hotel to the harbour with a wheelchair. The only thing I did not like was the bed. Too hard ! Had to ask for a top matress, and even that was not enough. The internet is slow. EVERYTHING else was just perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a wiew to the swimmingpool. The wiew from the other side is a bit boring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talatutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing