We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just spent three marvellous weeks on a half board basis at this amazing hotel. It was our second visit, so we were able to make full use of our Cordial Club card, which entitled us to 10% off the extra food and drinks we purchased during the day at the various bars. Well worth applying for one. It also helped ensure our room request was granted: we were in block 7 on the second floor, with a splendid view of the lower pool and even a glimpse of the sea over the rooftops of the picturesque port area. Sun on our balcony all day! It is worth contacting the hotel a week or so before your arrival to have the best chance of obtaining the sort of room you would like. We took advantage of the facility to swap the evening meal for lunch on two occasions, choosing both times to eat at the magnificent Casito Mediterraneo restaurant down by the marina – truly superb food and service. We also ate at the hotel's A la carte restaurant, Los Guayres, one evening - excellent cuisine, highly recommended. For our breakfasts and evening buffets we sat out on the terrace area – very relaxing. You can ask to change tables, if you are not satisfied with your original allocated spot. As with everything else, the staff are prepared to bend over backwards to meet your wishes. Any problems, report them immediately, and within a matter of minutes something will be done to resolve them. We had an initial issue with our safe, but all was sorted within half an hour by the two technicians who arrived very promptly. Yes, you can single out the odd feature that could perhaps be improved, but the overall experience is overwhelmingly positive. We will almost certainly return for a third visit soon. It has become our favourite place to relax and chill out.

Room Tip: A south-facing higher floor room overlooking either pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halshield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 4,206 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went from 30th september till 14th October ‘12 to the Cordial Mogan Playa. We booked room and breakfast in a Junior Suite.
The Hotel is build on a 5 minute walk from the beach (if you use the backdoor). Mogan beach is a beautiful little beach with water so clear that you can see the rocks at the bottom and fish swimming in the port.
The hotel is a massive complex with several buildings. You need some time to know your way but once you know it, it’s very simple. The hotel provides maps, but to be honest they could be a lot better.

Check in:
While waiting you get a drink offered by the hotel. We arrived at 23pm, so the icebuckets used to cool the drinks, were melted already and the drinks were not cold anymore. There was a mix-up with our reservation, they seemed to think I had booked half-board and payed for it. Honest as we are, we corrected them. A bell-boy took our bags after a very swift check-in to our suite.
The bell-boy did not say a word to us the entire way, so we got no explanation were to go.

Reception:
The reception is very efficient and can help you with any question. I needed flowers and for a very nice price they arranged and made sure they where delivered to the room. When we had other questions they always helped. Sometimes you notice you are talking to someone at the reception and halfway the conversation they leave. (This is in my opinion because there English is not at the level a receptionist should have, they always look for another receptionist in this case who has a better understanding of the language).
When checking out there was a restaurant charge that didn’t belong to our room but they corrected it very quick without problem.

The Junior-suite:
The suites are very nice, and quite large. The suites on the ground floor have a terrace with their own garden. The suites on the first floor have only a balcony the size of the terrace or the suites on the ground floor. The suites have a separate suiting room with chairs for 4 persons, a flat-screen tv, a desk and chair and a coffee-table.
The desk contains a dvd-player and an empty fridge.
(The fridge can be filled with a minibar on request or you can go to one of the supermarkets just outside the hotel, when you fill up the minibar the hotel requests that you order a minimum of 6 items what is very reasonable).
The bathroom is big enough with a shower and a bath. One of the downsides is that they don’t use thermostatic showers, so you get some fluctuation in temperature. The mirror is quite large and all the essentials are provided. The shower gel they provide I wouldn’t recommend but you can always buy some opposite the hotel.
You have a small hallway where there is a wardrobe with enough space to put the clothes of two persons. The wardrobe contains a safe that can be rented for about 17 euros a week. This safe will not fit a normal sized laptop!
The beds are quite firm but I like it that way. There is a possibility to request bed toppers to soften them. The suites get their beach towels in the room because the terrace also contain two chairs and a table, but also two sunbeds.
The normal rooms have to obtain the beach towels themselves at the pool.
The bedroom is also quite large and there is also a desk in the bedroom with a chair. There is a separate airco control for the bedroom and for the sitting room.
The downside of the rooms are that the furniture is already dating because of the heavy use and because of the hot but very moist climate there is some moist in the rooms.
In the rooms we also had the problem from some little ants, but the cleaning lady dealt with them. (You can’t expect such nice gardens and don’t have any insects, so we can’t complain.) The gardens don’t get that much light because of the beautiful plants that are used to separate the different gardens. The floors are done with tiles and this will cause some noise for the people on the ground floor when there are people walking around on the first floor.

Breakfast:
The junior suites have their own breakfast restaurant, this is not to make a difference (they have to eat dinner and lunch at the same restaurant as everyone) But because the terrain is so big the suites would have to walk too far in the morning just to have some breakfast.
The breakfast is good. There is much choice, eggs are baked at request and like you want. Pancakes are good and the food is constantly refreshed. The suites can have breakfast from 8am till 11am. While the other rooms can have breakfast from 7:30am till 10am. If you have an early excursion you are allowed early in the breakfast restaurant for the standard rooms. There you notice the little differences. The suite restaurant varies most days from offered juices and dishes while the other restaurant offers the full selection every day. The only downside about the normal restaurant is that it’s much fuller and they really stuff many people in the room.

Pools and activities:
The pools are very clean and heated, but close at 7pm. You see how hard the staff works to keep everything clean. There is tennis and bowling at the hotel. A diving school with German and English speaking personal is available. There is a little fitness room that isn’t used much.
There is an animation team that does some exercises with the people at the pool or they can arrange a water polo match. There are Germans in this hotel so be ready to see sunbeds reserved by towels. there are enough sun loungers so don’t fear there will be space for you.

The spa:
One of the jewels of the hotel. We went twice, once for a full treatment and once just to visit the spa. The spa prices are reasonable we had a treatment with a wrap, massage and bodyscrub that took more then an hour for only 90 euros (and we could use the spa for free for 2 hours ). The spa is made very good and it’s very relaxing place to be. Because they want to keep the relaxing atmosphere they charge 25 euros for 4 hours access to the spa. This is a very good thing cause you wouldn’t be so relaxed there if it would be for free, the place would be crowded if it where free. There are saunas, and some pools with massage or floating capabilities. Fruit, water and tea is provided for free.

The cleaning:
The terrains are kept clean by an army of cleaning ladies and gardeners. They really work hard and have a good result the show off.
In the junior suites the cleaning lady in the morning is very good and if something is wrong they will try to aid it with a smile. For example if there is something in the room you don’t find they will help you or provide it. Clean towels are always provided. In the evening the cleaning lady stops by to change the towels (for the suites also your pool towels) and turn down the bed.

Dinner and lunch:
Lunch can be eaten at the pool restaurants (one is buffet and the other one is a la carte)
We only had lunch a la carte. Not bad and they try to do an effort for presentation. But don’t expect to get something you will remember. We never used the dinner buffet. There are to many good restaurants in Mogan to waste it in the hotel.

Evening entertainment and bars:
The bars for some reason don’t invite to have a good time. The personal is nice and efficient but we just didn’t feel like drinking there. The high age in the bars will be the reason I guess. The evening entertainment was never really good in our opinion. But this also has to do with the high age present. The entertainers try there best but if your audience is to old and tired to have a good time the overall ambiance is missing and the other spectators feel that too. I saw an act that was performed just the same way in playa del Ingles and found it really bad in the hotel while the artists delivered it with the same effort and conviction.

General:
We had a good stay but probably won’t stay there again. We are a young couple that did enjoy our stay. But we had to drive 30km to go to playa del Ingles to go out at night. (By taxi this will cost you 35 to 40 euros without the return costs)
Our first week felt like being in a retirement home full of old complaining Germans and English people. But we rented a car and enjoyed the quite hotel when we got back from the active Maspolomas night life. Our second week there where more young people around. But for us Mogan was the perfect place to stay for our first time because we wanted to explore the Island. But for short visits and a very active night live we will choose Maspolomas next time.
The most critics you find about this hotel is only because people don’t bother to explain the problem to the reception or think they should get things for free when other people pay for it. I never experienced bad attitude from the staff so ask them for help when needed.

Room Tip: Junior suiteS on ground floor have less sun? but bigger private space outside then on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Johan_Sch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Cordial Mogan Playa is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a touch of style and a relaxing holiday. We upgraded on our arrival at the hotel to one of the mini suites at the far end of the exotic gardens. This gave us a separate sitting room and a small patio garden. It also gave us access to a special quiet breakfast area nearby. The public areas of the hotel are very well laid out and are not too overcrowded. The set dining times at the main restaurant are a bit awkward but we soon worked out how to avoid the main rush. The food is varied and although buffet style it is of a good quality. The grounds are very spacious, tidy and well maintained.

The town beach, harbour and marina are very pleasant with a selection of supermarkets, bars & restaurants. The promenades are spacious and make for very welcome strolling areas with colourful flowers everywhere. We went on a jeep safari up into the mountain aeas and can really recommend this excursion. The staff at the hotel are very helpful. The area is quiet and peaceful.

A great place for a relaxing holiday and we do aim to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inverness54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Like an oasis in the desert! The brochure & website do not do justice to this hotel - the setting is beautiful -

The rooms are fine - and the food in the restaurant is very good. We rarely had to queue, but it was worth it for the freshly cooked steaks and fish.

This is a 4* hotel offering excellent value for money - very impressive.

Room Tip: Take your own kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balikissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We choose this hotel in part from the TA reviews and it didn't disappoint.
We are 3 couples in our 50's and spent much of the time just chilling in the immaculately kept grounds. The public area's are all very clean, smart and well maintained butthe grounds were particularly impressive.
We found the restaurant system ok, you can flex between the early and late sittings if you tell the restaurant manager and the total buffet had decent quality food with a huge variety. Staff were universally happy and helpful. Booze prices reasonable, beer 3.7 euro's for 0.4litre, wine around 18 euro' for decent bottle.
It is a 5 minute walk to a very cute but busy marina area and there is a SPAR nearby if you want additional provisions.
All in all, a very good choice for some winter sun. And definitely the prettiest cove on then island.
Only negative point was the bloody annoying habit of having to reserve sun beds early on to get a group together. Should be banned!

Room Tip: Junior suite worth considering for the cost. General rooms just fine. And around the south ( non act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schnozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved the public areas, gardens, pools and room. On check-in, late at night, we had to decide whether we wanted the late or early sitting for dinner (and this would remain the same all week, unless you asked permission to change on the day). The sittings were either 6 - 7.30 or 8.30 - 10pm, totally unacceptable.
Although the quality and quantity of the food couldn't be faulted, the restaurant was busy and very noisy - people and staff constantly on the move.
Yes, you could have freshly grilled steak in the evening or omelettes for breakfast, but not without joining long queues. Guests at breakfast were obviously stocking up on food for the day, some making up rolls and one person walking out with a whole bunch of bananas. Just not my scene.
I would only stay here again on a bed-only basis. The town and port are beautiful and have a wealth of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citybreaker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel and its rooms are well appointed and the staff helpful and friendly. Check in is a little painful with a 10 min lecture on the do's and dont's. However with nearly 500 rooms (1000 people) the queues for breakfast and dinner buffets were unacceptable. We managed one dinner and two breakfasts. Also the dining room is at the bottom of the hotel with no views and frankly reminded me of an upmarket canteen. So if you don't mind buffet style and can handle the arrival lecture then you will enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
472 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $181 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing