We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sylvia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Playa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sylvia”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at Cordial Mogan Playa. Beautiful place ! Staff very kind and friendly. Food a - maz- ing !! Accomodation excellent ! Didnt need to go anywhere - the hotel was too nice to leave !

Room Tip: they are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,990
    783
    150
    27
    12
See reviews for
1,061
2,342
86
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Cordial Hotel.

The check in at reception was efficient and quick we were offered a glass of sparkling wine. The receptionist was very capable and explained the hotel facilities. The entrance atrium is very impressive. The room service on arrival was very good when we asked for additional coat hangers and pillows, and our cases arrive very quickly from reception.

The rooms are spacious and have good bathroom facilities, some may find the bathroom a little dark. There is a small but adequate empty fridge in the room. You can order a mini-bar if you wish, but most guests tended to stock cold drinks in it, which they purchase from one of the two large supermarkets only minutes’ walk from the hotel. The room was cleaned to an excellent standard daily. The rooms are equipped with a small safe for which there is an extra charge. One thing the hotel should consider is having a handle on the outside of the patio door. The door must be closed for the air conditioning to work. You spend all day cooling the room down only to open the balcony door and let the hot air in. If you close the door you would be unable to regain entry to the room.

The ‘booking’ of sun beds was not really a problem with sufficient for all guests. The hotel was not full during our stay. The sun beds have good quality mattresses and towels are changed as you need them. The tables around the pool have a wireless bell system to get poolside service. There are two pool areas. The one near the main reception tends to be adult only and the lower pool for families with children.

The hotel has extensive gardens, which are well maintained, and many plants have nameplates with the Latin name of the plant.

Wireless internet is available thought the hotel and the service is fairly reliable if not a little slow at times.

On the food front. The breakfast is much the same as most good quality hotels with a wide range of cooked and continental style foods on offer. There are two good fresh drink stations, which we used to get fresh hot drinks rather that the staff bringing you coffee or tea in a flask. Only one was working for our 2nd week, which did tend to mean there was a queue at busy times. The hotel should consider three very minor points, which are an irritation to guests. The tea/coffee pots need replacement as many have poor lid, no handles and do not pour except on the table. There is also insufficient teaspoons and salt pots which mean guest are constantly having to find these (or not). These may appear trivial but many guest commented on this.

The restaurants and bars have an inconsistent dress code. In the pool bar, they tell male guests to wear a shirt, which is great as it is also a restaurant, but the ladies can wear a bikini top! In the main restaurant for dinner they say no shorts, vest or flip flops, but they then do not enforce the policy. Not much good having a policy if the staff do not enforce them.

The two dinner sittings appear to work well the second sitting at 8.30 was a little too late for us so we opted for the 6pm one which allows you to go in any time after 6pm as long as you are finished by about 7.30pm. The choice is extensive and is, in the main, good food.

The harbour area of the Playa Puerto de Mogan is a short flat walk from the hotel. There are a good range of bars and restaurants in the area. The resort was only busy on market day, which is Friday, many holidaymakers from the other resorts come for a day, but the evenings are much quieter and may not suite you if you are a party or disco animal. The hotel has some limited entertainment on an evening.
 
Overall: A good large hotel situated well in Playa del Mogan. This is one of the quieter resorts of Gran Canaria and would suit the traveller who is looking for a quite ‘get away from it all’ resort. If you are looking for nightlife then this is not the resort for you.

Room Tip: As many other reviews have said a high room gets you the view. Lower rooms tend to have a large amo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

A brilliant hotel with very helpful and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. The meals were excellent with plenty of choice to suit everyone's tastes. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the harbour/marina where there are plenty of restaurants, bars (and an Irish bar for those who enjoy their Guinness!) and shops. Puerto Mogan is a bit quieter than the other holiday resorts in Gran Canaria. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed for a week in August 2011 with my partner half board. The hotel was great, location great, the room was great, the pool wasn't too busy and the staff were more than helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHA1N3Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Without a doubt, the Cordial Mogan is a lovely hotel set in a really pretty resort. It doesn't have the initial 'wow' factor on arrival but we were quickly dealt with at reception and as we were quite late arriving, we were ushered into the dining room so we could grab some dinner before 10.00 pm. Our room was located in the second block quite close to reception and the pool so this was very handy. We were on the 2nd floor and whilst I would have preferred a higher floor, this room suited us perfectly. The beds were really hard, it did feel as if I was sleeping on concrete but after suffering the first night, I went to reception and they put a 'topper' on each bed which did make them better. This was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The pool and garden areas are magnificant and the walk through the gardens to the back gate was just lovely with a pretty little church half way down. There were plenty of sunbeds with lovely thick mattresses by both pools and also plenty of umbrellas so there really is no need to reserve the sunbeds. The pools are lovely. However, the situation with the towels is a bit strange. The man with the towels is by the first pool between 10.00 - 12.30 each day and then by the second pool in the afternoon. Therefore, if you go for a swim at any other time, don't expect to get a fresh towel. Obviously you can walk to the other pool but it is quite a way between the two.
The disappointment to us was the whole evening dining experience. The breakfasts were fine with plenty of choice and you could sit where you wanted. However, in the evening it just didn't work for us. You could choose between the 1st and 2nd sitting - the first being 6.00 pm to 7.30 pm and the second between 8.30 pm and 10.00 pm. We thought that 6pm was a bit early but luckily you didn't need to go in on the dot at 6pm so most evenings we went in at about 7pm. Perhaps this was the problem. The soup was lovely and hot each day but neither of us managed to get a 'hot' main course. One night I even waited for fresh produce to come out from the kitchen and even this was cold! Given the size of the restaurant, there were food stations all over the place - part of the salads were in one area and then the others were completely somewhere else. Also, I felt the quality of the food was lacking. In the end, we did swap and took lunch instead of dinner and we were so glad we did as lunch was lovely and then we got a meal down by the harbour. I would go back to this hotel again but would try and get a B&B option rather than half board. Puerto de Mogan itself is very pretty and lovely in the evenings when all the day trippers have got back to their resorts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic hotel in June 2010. Always meant to write a review because we had such an amazing time there. Now we have booked another holiday there and remembered that we never did - and this hotel deserves to be praised, it’s an absolute gem and we would come here several times a year if we could!
Firstly, the reviews here are excellent to a large extent – which is not surprising. Just to reassure people who might read the lesser reviews: There is nothing we could fault this hotel on! It is beautiful inside and out, the entrance hall nothing less than spectacular, the lush vegetation of the grounds amazing. The food was the best we ever had in a hotel, the choice for breakfast and dinner mind-boggling (we had booked half-board), beautifully presented and a great variety. Several varieties of fresh fish was prepared every day, different meat grilled in front of your eyes, colourful and appetising salads, seafood starters, delicious deserts… we could go on! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the quality of the evening excellent, the rooms spacious with lovely pool views, which were especially wonderful at night when the pool was lit up.
Puerto Mogan is a charming and still pretty authentic fishing village with a nice beach and glorious bougainvillea cascading over balconies and across little alleyways everywhere. You won’t find anything like this elsewhere on the coast of Gran Canaria.
Altogether we had what was probably one of our best holidays ever. We are looking forward to another one there this July!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dagmar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Superb hotel with fantastic amenities and staff. I have never written a review before but felt compelled to as it was so good.
The lobby/reception area is very palatial and is under a large dome with waterfalls and plants everywhere. The hotel bedrooms are clean and large, with fantastic double glazing and black out blinds for the morning after! Decent shower and towels changed every day if you wish. DVD player in the room which we didn't use but I can imagine that this is useful on rainy days or if you have children.
Free wifi is a nice touch and they checked how many devices we had to make sure it was set up to work for them all which was good (we had four between the two of us and it worked on all of them). One annoyance is it does keep logging you out but this was not a massive issue!
Pool areas are lovely, lots of plants, trees, shade and loungers. Pool towels are available. Lovely cool jacuzzi's at both pools. Entertainment but not in your face is at one pool and none at the other. Sand around both pools which is a nice touch for kids but also areas with no sand which we were thankful for.
Food was lovely. Some reviews complain about the food times and scrum around the buffet this is not an issue at all. The 6.30 sitting and 8.30 sittings are from these times, you don't have to pile in at once! We went at 9 every night and there was no scrum as all the 8.30 people had got their food! There was plenty of fresh food right up until 10 and there were in no rush to kick you out. I would imagine going at 7 would avoid the rush also.
The evening entertainment was varied, sometimes excellent sometimes not so but we always found it amusing!
Spa was excellent, they are building a new one but these works did not bother us at all and we were right next door. My reflexology treatment and massages were good although I recommend taking an iPod as no music and request a woman if you don't want a man, I was not asked and did feel slightly uncomfortable.
Staff could not do enough for us and made us feel really welcome.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny61980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 3 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
3.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Playa

Property: Cordial Mogan Playa
Address: Avda de los Marrero 2 | Playa de Mogan, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impressive resort represents a Canarian Village and consists of 9 different buildings. There are 487 rooms, distributed in 399 double rooms, 33 single rooms, 5 double suites and 50 junior suites. There isn't a feeling of being in a large resort - the original architecture which includes a chapel speaks for itself. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV with integrated DVD-player, mini bar (for supplement), safe (on charge), bathroom with hairdryer, furnished terrace or balcony and more. The total surface of 48.000 M2, includes about 10.300 M2 of subtropical garden area with two splendid swimming pools (heated in winter) and whirlpools, kid's pool, kid's playground, solarium with sun beds, mattresses, umbrellas, and pool restaurant with terrace. This luxury resort offers a buffet restaurant, a-la-carte restaurant "Los Guayres," 3 bars, Discobar, Kiosque, a meeting room, a TV room, an internet and reading room (Internet on charge), Wellness and Spa Center "Spa Inagua" (for supplement, entrance up to 18 years old) and a large variety of sport activities (bowling alley, multi-sport field, gym, ping pong, darts, boccia, garden chess, aerobics, aqua gym...). Some activities may be on charge. The Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa is a unique combination of a luxury vacational resort with an authentic Spanish atmosphere in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The wonderful subtropical climate allows the visitor to enjoy water sport activities and to play golf all year round. • In January 2009 opened the international Dive Company. Extra Divers is based within the hotel offering dive courses and excursions• In March 2009 the archeological park "Las Crucecitas" was inaugurated. It forms part of the hotel and shows newest remains and findings of the ancient burial grounds of the Guanches• In November 2011 opened "Hike & Bike" offering bike rental, excursions etc.• WiFi free of charge in whole hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cordial Mogan Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Playa Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Mogan Playa
Hotel Mogan Playa
Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing