We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Sol y Luna - Puerto Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1985, it has always been a family business in which we wanted the quality and attention to our customers to be a reference. For 30 years our gastronomic offer was formed by breakfasts, lunches, special sandwiches and an extensive variety of ice cream and cocktails in which we were pioneers. With the addition of our children, Fernando and Sebastián, we decided to grow and for this we annexed a new location to Sol & Luna, gaining space, capacity and services. To our gastronomic offer we have added a "Gourmet Boutique" with top quality products (Iberian ham and sausages, Gran Canaria cheeses, wines and spirits, honey, artisan desserts ...). The Restaurant offers you a selection of Tapas and Pinchos throughout the day and from 18:00 we have a "Dinner" menu of Spanish cuisine, where fish and fresh meats have a great presence. This was a service that many of our customers demanded. At no time have we abandoned what we have been doing all our years of life, we have simply adapted. With waiters who speak Spanish, English, German, Italian, French and Russian. With a completely remodeled establishment, decorated in wood of warm colors. With the best Jazz music of the urbanization and located in front line to the sea are the best ingredients to create the relaxed atmosphere that makes the Sol & Luna the special place that is. We open from 9 to 23 hours uninterrupted seven days a week. To get to Puerto de Mogán there are multiple options. The most common is provided by the bus company Salcai, which communicates permanently with all points of Gran Canaria. Modern coaches equipped with air conditioning, adapted for the disabled and at very reasonable prices. The schedule is practically uninterrupted. You can also access by boat and there are several lines that arrive to Puerto de Mogán from different points of the island. Totally recommended for the spectacular views of beaches and cliffs of this area of ​​the island of Gran Canaria. Car hire and taxi service are also good choices. Several years ago we have a motorway, which facilitates and lowers the costs of access to Puerto de Mogán. Welcome to Sol & Luna Restaurant.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Just eat in this very poor cafe and think they should just stick to serving ice creams as it's harder to mess up.

The food is overpriced, possessed and extremely poor quality.

Plenty of lovely restaurants around the marina that serve fresh food and for a better price.

If you do visit steer clear from the poor food and just stick to an ice cream.

Can't help but feel I've been mugged paying €20 for 2 non edible meals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Frontlinefrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando P, Propietario at Sol y Luna - Puerto Mogan, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Sorry to say it's not true what you say.
We have repeat guests from almost the beginning of the Sol y Luna, almost 30 years since we opened, and no one in all that time he said things like you say, therefore, something is not real.
I sell in my restaurant for me to decide and you have all the necessary information on the outside to enter or not, prices included.
I assure you the quality and quantity of our food far exceeds the value.
I get the impression that seeks to harm your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 143 of 275 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We often used this small restaurant during our recent stay in Gran Canaria. They have a good range of amazing sundies and, although they do savoury courses, we would eat elsewhere and have our dessert here. Friendly staff, reasonable prices and great ice cream sundies!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kutz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited this little café three times during our recent stay in the area.
Crepes and cocktails are lovely. Atmosphere and music good. Friendly service.
Will definitely return (for one of their yummy looking ice creams) when next in Puerto de Mogan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Fabbyholgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hola. Fantastic place to watch the world go by, lovely friendly family run cafe where nothing is to much trouble. From snacks to cocktails in the evening and you have to try one of Seb's drinks. He'll make just about anything for you and if you don't like it he'll drink it and make you another! Mama and Papa are very lovely people and their sons are a credit to them. They all work really hard to make the cafe what it is today and the reviews prove it.
Well done family Perez! We love you and miss you already!
Lots of Love Emma and senor Geoff xxxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited here twice, once for breakfast and once for drinks.

When we went for breakfast the cafe wasnt quite open as we went early but they let us sit in for coffee until the cook arrived. Breakfast menu is basic but the food is nice and their coffee is good.

When we went back for drinks late one afternoon the cafe was a lot busier, nice atmosphere and good music.

My only issue, and this is not the fault of the cafe, is that there were lots of people smoking and the tables are very close together so the smoke gets you. We had a 22 week old baby with us and the table adjacant to us and behind us were lighting up one after another and it caused discomfort for us and the baby. Not the cafe's fault but if they maybe had a no smoking section that would have been great.

Thank Manc_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Luna - Puerto Mogan also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Sol y Luna - Puerto Mogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing