We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant and ambiance”
Review of La Linterna

La Linterna
Price range: $6 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Linterna is situated on the Beach Front at Mogan with views out over the Atlantic Ocean. We serve a comprehensive menu, from local tapas to International favourites and our speciality is Tex Mex. We have tables indoors and out doors but you should note that smoking is not permitted inside.Whether you just want to relax with a quiet drink or celebrate a special occasion with family or friends, we look forward to serving you.
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful restaurant and ambiance”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited La Linterna several times during our holiday and it was wonderful every time! We were in Mogan in 2012 when it opened and we could tell it had the making of a very special place then! The food which is very varied and would suit all nationalities is beautifully prepared and always delicious. The owner Karim is very warm and welcoming, as are all the staff - they make you feel like an old friend who is visiting them. They always 'go the extra mile', making sure you are comfortable and happy with where you are seated and you have everything you need. The sheepskins and blankets in the evening are a wonderful, nurturing touch and make you feel very special. This is a very special restaurant and we will definitely be returning!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelmum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    137
    46
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service, they go that little bit further”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had 2 meals at this restaurant on 2 different evenings. Meals were excellent, good value. Staff friendly, don't pester you. Would highly recommend it. Our friends had the tapas, we had mexican and steak. all very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You are right, Dont believe all you read.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

As far as I know we are not related to Karim at La Linterna. We ate here on two occassions and only have good words for both the staff and the food here. Had daytime drinks and Chicken Fajitas one day and Fresh Fish for an evening meal on another. Both meals were first class and no long wait for either after all its not McDonalds is it ?My wife likes her meals plain and garlic and spicy sauce free and this was not a problem.
Karim and the waiters are friendly and we found them happy to talk to us and not over powering in any way, we even met Karims young daughter too.
La Linterna is different, they provided sheepskin covers and red blankets on the seats for the chilly evenings.
The local cats dont just choose La Linterna for after hours snacks look around all the other outside dining areas not much you can do about this.
The toilets were spotless unless misused by some people.
We are returning to Peurto Mogan in May and will be visiting La Linterna again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forest78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to la linterna restaurant .Beautiful setting looking across to the harbour.A warm welcome and excellent service.Our juicy steaks followed by Irish coffees were the best.Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GmaryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fantastic restaurant, fantastic food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This restaurant does not look any different to the others on the beach front, but the only difference is that it always has plenty of customers. This is because the food is excellent and the staff very friendly.Highly reccommended

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stocksbridgesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Linterna also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to La Linterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing