We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fish restaurant in Puerto Mogon”
Review of La Caracola

La Caracola
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely fish restaurant in Puerto Mogon”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A lovely stylish restaurant with food definitely a 'cut above the others'
Beautiful decor and great attention to detail. Excellent quality fish, beautifully cooked.
Very attentive service. This restaurant deserves to be higher up the order of merit for this resort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    5
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't expect your table booking to be honoured - ours wasn't!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have been regular visitors to Mogan and had often considered visiting this restaurant.
During our most recent visit in January 2014, we decided to give it a try and popped in to book a table. The co-owner (wife of the chef) took our booking for the following evening and, suggesting that it was too cool to eat outside, reserved us a table inside next to the window.
When we arrived at the restaurant the next day, it looked busy and we assumed that our table would soon be free. However, it transpired that some people had walked in off the street and the co-owner had given them our table, ignoring our booking completely. She said that they often had no-shows but when we questioned why she thought we wouldn’t turn up, she just started talking at us in German. When we said that we couldn’t understand her, her husband was very rude to us and told us to leave.
We’d made a special trip by taxi to visit this restaurant and were very disappointed by the way we were treated.
Be warned – if you book a table at this lovely looking restaurant, don’t expect it to be honoured! By the way, the food we saw being served didn't look particularly appetizing given the very high prices being charged.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebee526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint but expensive”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited this quaint little restaurant whilst on holiday last month. There is no menu showing so we sat down and gave it a chance, with a complimentary sherry. The menu is quite extensive for such a small kitchen. We shared a fresh tuna starter then I had Swordfish whilst my husband had Sole. We had a bottle of white Rioja. It was all very pleasant, but nothing special and for a bill of 128€ we expected more and did feel a bit cheated. No desserts or coffee were offered. As I said, the food was fine but a bit dated and certainly overpriced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsLanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good esp if you like swordfish”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Lovely small restaurant in the port area of Puerto de Mogan. We were given a free dry sherry while we perused the menu. The restaurant specialises in fish, particularly swordfish and tuna, all of which are on display in a chiller cabinet in the restaurant. Chris talks you through the fish on offer and suggests dishes that might appeal given the diners' preferences. We had smoked prawns as a starter and they were fab! I would happily have them again if I went back. I then had sole with prawns which was good but not outstanding. My husband had swordfish and prawn foo young which he thoroughly enjoyed. There were no deserts at all but that suited us fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMRGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful experience awaits at this intimate restaurant overlooking the marina at Puerto Mogan. An English couple with a very basic grasp of German language we were made to feel extremely welcome and were offered the most attentive service. The 'gift' from the kitchen - swordfish tartare was exquisite. As was the shellfish bisque and carpaccio de mare starters. We both chose swordfish mains with different sauces - they too were fabulous. Chris explained the 'source' of all their ingredients - was good to know my wild mushrooms came from a local Canarian island. A refreshing experience - felt like a Michelin star worthy experience..

Helpful?
Thank Tigzvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caracola also viewed

 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to La Caracola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing