We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch by the beach”
Review of El Caldero

El Caldero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $71
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Arroceria
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch by the beach”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had nice salads for lunch here! It's not that it was that special, it's just that we'd had such lousy food at several of the other surrounding restaurants. would probably have given it a 3 normally, but compared to the other places nearby, it certainly was worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bergensanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    99
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My Girlfriend and I ate here on a recommendation from one of the reception staff from our hotel - I'm glad we did! We had the duck cured ham salad and Tuna Steak for our mains and both were absolutely sensational as was the hot chocolate pudding for dessert. It was also reasonably priced considering it's beachfront location and we got the impression that this was a restaurant that many of the locals frequented which is always a good sign. Overall a fantastic experience and the best restaurant we ate at during our holiday and I can't recommend it enough!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommo565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat there!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fantastic salads! Great service.

We also Tried several starters Which were great! This restaurant is recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12345678gf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beach Front Views and Good Solid Food range”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Good to Very Good offering from this beach-side restaurant. Pizza's, grilled fish and meats and pasta dishes. Not too expensive and very high quality, friendly service from young staff. We ate once, returned for a drink at the end of our beach afternoons. Daytime drinks can be expensive but you are right on the side of the beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Polko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“El Caldero revisited”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

An Easter holiday at Gran Canaria has been finished with a great dinner at this nice restaurant which is usually crowded . We had a quick lunch earlier in the previous week
I made sure to reserve for the friday late lunch/approx 1500 hrs and found ourselves as the only tourist among spanish families and were pleasantly greeted as old aquaintances.
Again without any exuberation the meal was excellent.
The tropical salad followed by my 1,5 paella with lobster and my wifes calf-meat dish
could not be improved.
I have now booked already a table for 0ctober 20,2012 and the 27th of october.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoostKnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Caldero also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to El Caldero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing