We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing...................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood UK
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing...................”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in the apartments some few hundred meteres from the actual hotel but as we were half board had breakfast and dinner in hotel. Advantages of having an apartment was a much bigger space, kitchenette/diner, living room, bathroom/toilet and living room and huge balcony (4m x 10m) What we liked a lot about the aprtment was the rooftop where you can spend all day and not see a soul!
Meals were very good, buffet style but a different dishes every day. Sometime there were free liquers to try as well.

Temperatures was 28c and sunny everyday. Peak season starts 1st November to end April.

Room Tip: Ask for 217!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    249
    68
    22
    9
See reviews for
157
542
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2011

A onw week stay at Hotel Puerto Margan, we were given an appartment a short pleasent walk from the hotel. Had no problems with this as we were told by Thomas Cook this may be the case. Plenty of room, clean anda balcony over looking at plesent court yard and mountain view.Roof top area to take in the sun ( With shower to cool down ) Sun beds and flowers very nice.
Food was plenty full and well presented, but hot food at times was cold., Drinks a little expensive, house wine best value, full or half bottle available.
Pool was ok a bit small but with steps down to the sea a decnt swim could be had.
Pool side sun loungers were available no problems !! ( Not allowed to reserve before 8.00 am)
Staff hard working and friendly.
The problems we did have were all with Thomas Cook, They need to take a look at Customer comments and act on them. Never saw a TC Eep until we left !! My feed back form on them is worth a read .Did How ever recieve answers to a few question we had from Thomson reps !!.
Nice Irish bar round the harbour, had a meal out as a treat very nice .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philpally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We booked the Puerto de Mogan Hotel as part of a Thomas Cook package. BEWARE- Thos' Cook do not make it clear you are actually booking an apartment. The rep' told us that we (and another party) were the first ones to bring this up. The hotel management, however, told us that it is their most common complaint!! The other negative was that the Airport transfer rep' doesn't travel the full journey. After she left the bus driver simply stopped and mumbled getting off the bus leaving people to try and spot if it was their stop. He then missed one of the resorts completely leaving two families with young children on the bus till the end point. This was our stop and we knew we had a walk to the hotel. When we got our bags from the coach and put them on the pavement the bus driver was back on the caoch and driving off, with no indication of where the hotel was - at 3am!!! Again the rep couldn't undertand this.

That said the apartment was fantastic. We were about as far from the hotel as you could be and were still only a couple of minutes walk through lovely mini-streets with flowers, or along the port. The apartment was clean and well maintained, with air conditioning in the 3 living areas.Maid service was excellent. The hotel itself was lovely. The restaurant breakfast and dinner service was great- yes there were some nights some of the food didn't suit us but that was our taste- the quality was really good and there was always a good deal of choice. The pool area was great (there is another pool at the end of the complex we were based but we didn't use this one) it was kept clean and the life guard did occasionally remove towels which had been left but the pool was never so busy we could not get a bed. The stairs down to the ocean were an added bonus.

The hotel staff were unbelievably helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and every member of staff was pleasant at all times- this included waiting staff, reception staff and cleaning staff. On our last day we checked out at 12 noon. There is no luggage room so you must leave your luggage under the stairs in the main reception but there is always a member of staff on hand. When we finished at the pool we were given towels and allowed to use the spa facilities to freshen up and change for the journey home.

Puerto de Mogan ( I just wish Thomas cook would get their staff to learn how to pronounce where they go- continual reference to Porto dee Mogan & Gran Can-ay-ria are really annoying and, I feel, quite insutling to their hosts) is a brilliant resort. It has no facilities for teenagers and makes it a perfect alternative to the more lively resorts. The bars close relatively early but there are a few which stay open later if you wish. The resort was quiet and I didn't notice any noise from bins like other reviewers mentioned. We were adjacent the street where the market is held and actually thought we had got it wrong because there was no noise of vans arriving and no noise of stalls being erected, yet when we opened the window the market was in full flow.

I would recommend this resort/ hotel if you are looking for a more relaxed and quiet holiday. I wouldn't say avoid Thomas Cook but I would say be aware that you may not be booking the hotel - I wouldn't let this put you off. The apartments are great and you have a lounge, terrace or balcony and roof terrace. Do be aware that Puerto de Mogan is the last stop on the transfer coach and it took us 2 hours to get there so it may be worth paying for a taxi if you can afford it rather than booking transfres if this bothers you.

Room Tip: I know some people prefer the hotel but I would definitely go for the cheaper Apartment option. Gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsguy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We booked with Global Travel in Millom on a Thomas Cook package holiday. From the moment we booked we had no problems at all, flights, transfers, and reps were brilliant. When we arrived the weather was hot but the coaches have air con. Wow what a place, it is absolutely beautiful, just like the brochure picture. The pool is great, the beach is fantastic, you can enter the sea from steps near the pool area, lifeguard on duty. Very picturesque with lots of alleyways covered in flowers. There is a sun terrace on top of the hotel and also on top of the apartments with sunbeds and chairs, we spent a lot of time up there. The submarine trip is a must as is the glass bottom boat. It is well worth a stop in Anfi to see the new resort. There is a cafe on the sea front, next to the last at the far end, the beer is very reasonable and the food is value for money as well as being very good. The food at the hotel in the evening was okay but we ate out for three nights out of seven. The breakfast buffet was very good though considering how many nationalities they have to cater for. The bar closes at about 9.30 - 10.00pm so if you want a late night try the seafront bars. We did not try the spa but it looked very nice. The Friday market is a must, but barter for what you want. On the whole it is quite expensive to dine out and watch out for unpriced goods, a lot of things for sale do not have any prices on. I paid £2.50 for an 87p English magazine in the supermarket. If you want a quiet holiday this is the place for you. Not many children, reasonably quiet and relaxed. We will definately be going back next year, for longer this time, we did not have enough time to explore the area. Weather fantastic in October, very hot.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayside059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Puerto de Mogan hotel for 7 nights at the end of September on a Thomas Cook holiday package, paying around £500 each on a half board basis.

Airport arrival – No issues, and met quickly by the Thomas cook Reps
Transfer (Thomas Cook) – Only took around 1 1/2 hours, which is not much longer than if you go direct via taxi, but is much cheaper, I would certainly use this service again.
The Hotel Reception – After reading lots of reviews about the issues of being booked in to the apartments as opposed to the hotel, we did lots of checks on this via the website (Thomas Cook) and ultimately spoke to the travel agents and paid extra to ensure we were in the hotel, as this was our preference. Therefore we had no issues on arrival, and the reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The reception is quaint, clean and appealing.
The Hotel Room – The room was of an average size, with a double bed (2 singles pushed together and made in such away) sofa, nice sized bathroom, and a balcony overlooking the harbour (room 20) The room had all the facilities you would need, except a kettle, which to us Brits was not great! The A/C worked to a decent standard, and the shower worked fine except for at peak times when it slowed a little. The beds were comfortable enough, but not fantastic. The view was great and the position of the room to catch the afternoon and evening sun, as well as being out of the way of the pool was good for us. The only real issue with the rooms was the thin walls; I could hear the neighbour snoring plus additional noises! (The A/C did help block this noise out though) The maid cleaned daily, and did a great job at this, cleanliness here as throughout the hotel was not an issue.
Hotel Breakfast – The breakfasts were a buffet style, with plenty of options, fruit, yoghurt, continental and of course the full English. We mainly ate the full English, and this was of a premier Inn standard, with the choice of scrambled, fried or boiled eggs. Sausage type changed each day. Fresh orange and tea was also available, so to were doughnuts, which we collected and ate at lunch, they were delicious!
Hotel Bar – Small but was suitable to cater for all needs!
Hotel Dinner – Again this was a buffet choice, with salads, starters of various meats etc, and then mains. There was a wide variety, so on the days when Goat and Rabbit was on offer, you could opt for the Pork if these did not take your fancy. Each day was different, and the Chef would also cook something special in front of you at the buffet. All of the food was well prepared and presented, and best of all did not give us any stomach upsets! For dessert you had the choice of homemade cakes or puddings, or ice cream in different flavours (sauces and hundreds and thousands to top them off) Fruit was also available. Tip, go early as it’s less busy, so it’s easier to relax and take it at your own pace. The views are great, looking out over the bay. Service at Dinner and at Breakfast was very good, the waiters were efficient and polite, and did not throw a strop if you did not tip them. The only issue with dinner and breakfast is that the room is not that large, so the situation can occur where you are struggling for a seat or end up ‘sitting on top’ of each other.
Hotel Pool – The pool was a nice size, and again had great views looking out over the sea and beach. There were just about enough loungers for all, but not quite enough parasols, which meant on occasions we went up to the sun terrace (we actually preferred this, as it was more peaceful and had great views) The pool was a little chilly when you first got in, but you soon warmed up, and the steps down to the sea were very convenient, it was brilliant just dipping in and out, without the hassle of having to go to the beach. The situation with the towels is that on occasions you may get away with putting them out early, having a quick breakfast and returning to them, but in the main they will get pulled off by the attendant around 9am. I think this is a great thing as we do not reserve the loungers, and I think they should do more of it during the day, especially when the beds are left for hours. It’s rude and inconsiderate to reserve loungers for such a period! Again the pool area was kept to a nice clean standard.
Hotel guests – In the main the guests were couples of an older age, or younger romantic couples, there was the odd family, but they were of the ‘respectful’ type, therefore the pool and hotel was in the main relaxing and peaceful, which was exactly what we were looking for.
Puerto de Mogan Daytime/Night-time – The area around the hotel was small, if you did not have a car, there was not a huge number of things to do, but if you want a relaxing, quiet, and clean resort, it’s just perfect. No nightclub or noisy bar around. The bars and restaurants all seemed very pleasant; certainly the ones we went to all had great service and quality food and drink. The prices aren’t cheap; one cocktail bar charged 9.90 Euros a drink, although you can find the odd bargain. A small supermarket is conveniently placed right next door to the hotel, and there was also a Spar about 5-10 mins walk away.
Puerto de Mogan Beach – The beach had loungers and parasols to rent, and seemed to have plenty of them, these loungers were all in one area, which left a substantial amount of space for those bathers bringing their own parasols etc. The beach was cleaned daily, and the sand was nice and fine (its manmade) The sand continued into the sea, there was hardly a rock underneath, and you could walk out for about 20 yards before you could no longer reach the floor. The bay area is cordoned off, so you feel safe swimming. The water was very clear, and surprisingly warm. Canoes, Pedaloes and jet ski’s were available for hire at a decent price here as well, we took the canoe out one morning at 10 Euros for an hour, this was something different to do, but unless you are really confident and happy to paddle a long way, there is not a great deal of places to paddle to. Tip – Purchase a parasol from the shop on the front for around 14 Euros and use it for the week, this will be cheaper then renting.
Puerto de Mogan Weather – When we arrived the rep told us it was 10c warmer than the average, because the reading is taken in the North, and Puerto de Mogan is in the South. At first we were a bit sceptical, however upon arrival to our hotel we felt he was correct, the first day was in its 40c as were one or two of the other days (or at least late 30c’s) with some days in there low 30c’s. The wind in Gran Canaria was on and off, some days it was not there at all and it all felt very stifling, other days is blew quite strongly which made sitting in the sun very comfortable. Tip – The mornings were generally overcast and it takes a while to warm up, therefore you may want to have a lie in if you’re a real sun worshipper!
Overall - Puerto de mogan resort was absolutely perfect for us, and unless you are looking for a rowdy drunken week, then it will be perfect for you as well. The hotel was excellent and if you have booked, you will love it, although next time we would probably try the apartments, mainly because of the thin walls in the rooms. If you are contemplating booking this hotel, just do it, you won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank england1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Just come back from 2 weeks in sunny and peaceful Mogan which is very boutiquey and has a good selection of special good standard of restaurants, some of which were pricey but hey ho you are on holiday. We promised ourselves that on revisiting Gran Canaria we would stay at the Hotel Puerto de Mogan which is has the pool facing the sea and beach on one side, has the ferry connection at the top end of the hotel and the harbour with its array of boats and yachts at the front. A lovely choice of hotel albeit the bathrooms are somewhat tired, as was the spa. We were told by Thomas Cooke the day before we left that the hotel accommodation we booked was unavailable, even though we had paid a premium to stay in the hotel. They offered us accommodation for two nights in one of the hotel's apartments or a full refund. Are they joking, the afternoon before four of us were due to leave the following day. We were disappointed. However, to give a fuller picture of our stay the apartments were quite spacious, modern inside and pleasantly decorated. Would be ideal if you wanted more space than is available in the hotel. After two days we did end up, as informed, in the hotel which was where we wanted to be. If in Mogan, this is the place to stay. The pool was lovely and the only bar was between the pool and dining room. Our major disappointment was the food where it appeared that some of the hot dishes in the morning were made from left overs from the evening meal. There was plenty of food, especially if you went down early, but the quality was mediocre towards poor. Overall would go back to the hotel but would prefer to go on a room and breakfast basis and next time would go for a weeks short break.

Room Tip: We noted from previous traveller their experience with Thomas Cook - if you want a room in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Spent a week at this charming little hotel with excellent vistas. Stayed there with my partner with a second floor room overlooking the sea. The hotel is basic but comfortable and with a lack of English language tv channels or internet connection all one had to do was relax and read.

The food was ok for meat eaters, though as a veggie I struggled to find anything other than fruit and salad (I actually lost 3kilos during the week). Undoubtedly the best feature of the hotel is the set of steps that take you to the sea. There were amazing snorkelling opportunities and lots on interesting sea life to watch.

The weather was incredibly hot for october and the air-con system too weak to keep your room cool so we kept the windows open and hoped for sea breezes.

The other guests were a mix of nationalities but mostly German and English. It is not a hotel (or resort) for young people and most if the guests at the hotel were in late 60s so don't expect a hip young crowd.

All in all we got what we hoped for: a very very relaxing time with few distractions.

Room Tip: Please ask for a sea view in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Puerto de Mogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Puerto de Mogan

Property: Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Address: Diseminado Mogan s/n, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Puerto de Mogan 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to relax in a privileged location: welcome to Hotel THe Puerto de Mogán, a four-star-resort that offers the perfect combination of tradition and modernity. Literally situated over the sea, the hotel stands out due to its impressive views to the sea and the marina, but also due to its excellent services. Disposing of modern facilities, Hotel THe Puerto de Mogán features 56 rooms, a swimming pool with direct access to the sea, a restaurant, a pool-bar, a spa and a solarium terrace, where you can enjoy our Balinese beds and sensation showers. Furthermore, we dispose of 76 comfortable and luminous three-star apartments. Apartamentos THe Puerto de Mogán is situated in the exclusive area of Puerto de Mogán, and puts at your disposal a swimming pool and two jacuzzis. Also, here you have the right to benefit from services offered by Hotel THe Puerto de Mogán. Every two apartments share a solarium terrace with a shower and sun beds, where you will admire the best sunset of the island. Hotel and Apartamentos THe Puerto de Mogán are located in the so called "little Venice". Situated in the Southwest of Gran Canaria, Puerto de Mogán has a unique beauty due to its salt water canals that are interconnected by little bridges. Furthermore, you can take a refreshing dip in the beach of Playa de Mogán, only a few steps away from the resorts. In these privileged surroundings you have at your disposal a wide range of entertaining, sporting and leisure activities for you to enjoy a dream vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Puerto de Mogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mar
Mar Club
Club De Mar Hotel
Hotel The Puerto De Mogan Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing