We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”
Review of Basil's Bistro

Basil's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $27
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful and elegante restaurant in the harbour with nice views, great atmosphere and value!!You are advised to book to avoid disappointment as space is limited.
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We ate here 3 times in a week during our recent holiday due to the excellent quality of food, great service and friendly atmosphere. It offers a wide and varied selection of food although we only ate fish on each of our visits.

We had sole done 3 different ways, lobster and salted dorada and all of them were excellent. Most had some kind of sauce with the dish which made it even tastier and made it a real treat. While not the cheapest place in the resort, we felt it was good value for the quality of food we received.

We'd recommend reserving a table as its quite small and on each of our visits, all tables were full

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    182
    62
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice restaurant, great food and service”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had a family dinner here - my partner and our 11 and 13 year old sons.

Very welcoming service and atmosphere and nice view of the marina. Portion sizes are great and good presentation.

Bit tight on space but not a huge issue.

Went back for lunch a couple of days later on our own....so highly recommended! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iainthomas39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After enduring our all inclusive experience we decided to go for dinner at a restaurant in Mogan. This restaurant was recommended to us by a fellow holidaymaker. We were fortunate to get a table as it was busy. We regretted ordering a starter because the portions were massive,however, the food was excellent for everybody and we had no complaints. The staff were attentive but not over the top. Great food and great location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Paella”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fantastic the staff are lovely and the food is just as good! As for the view well I don't think you can beat it. If you are in Mogan you must try this restaurant. You won't be disappointed :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovehols1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very attentive and lovely food”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Visited Basil's and staff couldn't do enough to make our evening enjoyable from the service to the food and wine. The fish platter was delicious and the presentation of the food beautiful - the evening began with a tasty 'patty' whilst we looked at the menu and ended with complimentary glasses of honey rum - those extra touches make it a cut above the rest.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil's Bistro also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Basil's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing