We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly good”
Review of Basil's Bistro

Basil's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $28
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beautiful and elegante restaurant in the harbour with nice views, great atmosphere and value!!You are advised to book to avoid disappointment as space is limited.
Norfolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mainly good”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We visited tonight when there was quite a cool breeze. Were shown to a table where there was a draught from the open front-one of the waiters obviously noticed we were not comfortable and showed us a table at the back that was better in every way. We had the seafood paella for two which was very tasty, although too much rice for us. We paid by credit card and had a similar experience to another contributor a the bill was in Euros but at the end it had suddenly changed to £s! We were going to say something but exchange rate seemed OK so left it.
Only a small critiscm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    182
    62
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A return visit to Basils and a year on, we weren't disappointed. This isn't necessarily the place for the expensive leisurely meal to make your holiday, but if what you are after is pleasant and efficient service, and good food at afforadable prices, then this is the place. On our first night in GC, having had a very early start, we wanted tapas for an early dinner, and at 40 euros the tapas plate for two with half a bottle of wine was perfect. Sure, they'll sell your table to the next couple before you've even left, but their popularity speaks for itself.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMCandFMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Good lunchtime place”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here one lunchtime as we just fancied a light snack. We ordered a Spanish tortilla omlette which was very tasty. Staff were very friendly and service quick. This little place overlooks the harbour in Puerto Mogan and is ideal to relax,snack and partake in a sangria

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Watch out if you pay by credit card”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

should have got a higher rating as staff very friendly, gave me a good table without any problem (not always the case when you are alone). helped me with internet code - the longest I have ever seen! Sardines very tasty and strawberries and cream delicious. But there were a few niggles.
Cafe cortada was the worst I had ever tasted - think they forgot the coffee. When bill came saw small bottle of fizzy water was 3.50 euros but reckon that was my fault for not checking. What really annoyed me though was something I didn't notice at the time- which was that they converted the bill into £s. I know they didn't ask as I would certainly have said that I wanted to pay in euros , as the cheaper option.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasilsBistro, Manager at Basil's Bistro, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thanks for your comments and highlighting a problem of which we were not previously aware. I am sure you didn't mean to, but you gave the impression that we had somehow benefitted by charging you in Sterling instead of Euros.

This most assuredly is not the case! Many credit card machines will now automatically offer you the option of paying in your own currency - but it is only an option, it is not compulsory. You can make the selection yourself. In fact, in my experience, you will normally (though not always) receive a better exchange rate paying that way. Whichever option you select, if the bill is 10 Euros then that is the amount we receive, less the amount that the bank charges us for the privilege of you paying by card!

If you feel that you have lost out, please call back to the restaurant and we will happily refund the amount you think you have lost as a result of this transaction. If you are no longer in Mogan, this offer will hold good the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethcamp
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Been twice this week and had the tapas for lunch.just gorgeous. Very reasonable too and a lovely view of the marina.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil's Bistro also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Basil's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing