We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great setting”

La Taberna del Puerto
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great meal, great setting”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our first visit. We had the seafood paella, which was perfectly prepared and well-proportioned. Our only slightly minor comment being that the food menu is wide and varied, but the wine list is quite limited. The service was, however, attentive and very friendly.
One highlight was the sheer joy on the faces of an elderly Norwegian couple, who were clearly returning to a familiar haunt after some time (judging by the hugs and kisses). They went for the Chateaubriand, which was carved with great ceremony and obviously met with approval. The restaurant was very busy, on a Monday in November, which says something.
The view of the marina and the interesting and varied menu was probably the reason we chose this restaurant, but we chose well, and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    69
    32
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing paella”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our first evening meal on our holiday and a big disappointment. We had the seafood paella and found it pretty tasteless and stodgy. Best aspect was discovering the rum and honey that is the local drink (complementary with the bill). Our worst meal of our trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marmitequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here overlooking the marina. Friendly efficient service with the highlights being the homemade Sangria and the seafood paella. The children were well catered for and we felt most welcome. Will be back again next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cassglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening excellence”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location overlooking the harbour , intimate atmosphere with helpful staff, beef with garlic and white wine sauce was very tasty and my Mrs was well pleased with the fillet steak, not too pricey either, could not fault it, I will return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wakefieldmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum seafood, sweet location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here one night having walked the beach and harbour front for somewhere with some atmosphere that was not too quiet. It was the only place with people eating that looked happy, there was the clink of glasses, chatter amongst tables and a nice atmosphere.

We ordered some paella and tapas... Octopus, Canadian potatoes and mussels.

Absolutely everything was lovely- the paella was a meat paella which was full of flavour and the tapas was perfect too, my fiancé really enjoyed the octopus in particular.

The wine list was limited and there seemed to be an assumption that as we were English we wanted beer or sangria and mayonnaise with chips, we found this at a few places and slightly narked is when it meant we had to ask for wine lists and who has mayonnaise with good hearty paella??!

It was quite expensive, for the food and a bottle of red it was just over €85... Not sure of pay it again having had food elsewhere but it was nice and we had a lovely view per the marina.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vix-Nix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna del Puerto also viewed

 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to La Taberna del Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing