We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly good.”
Review of Taj Tandoori

Taj Tandoori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restuarant is referred to on several websites if you Google Taj Tandooori Puerto de Mogan
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were staying opposite the shopping center in which this restaurant is situated.

I've only ever had one Indian abroad and that was somewhere in mainland Spain and it was rubbish. So I wasn't holding out much hope. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

The service was great, and the waiters were lovely and friendly. We ordered a fair bit of food and it all came promptly and was obviously freshly cooked.

The curry was delicious, we had a chicken bhuna and it was the tastiest I've ever eaten. It was very flavorful and not overpoweringly hot. We meant to go for another visit before we left but sadly we didn't have time.

Personally, we really enjoyed our meal here. I agree with other reviews that say there's not much atmosphere in the restaurant as the shopping center it's within is very sparse. But if you're wanting some tasty Indian food I would definitely recommend a trip here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    78
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

'Hidden gem' - is someone having a laugh?? It's situated in a half finished bleak shopping centre with zero atmosphere. The service is fine, the food is ok - it makes a change, but by all means do not go here expecting the same quality as we get in the UK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 0_-_RONIN_-_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I ate here nearly everyday with my friends, the food is delicous and the service is great. The staff are very welcoming and the location of the restaurant is perfect as you can eat on the balcony on a nice summer evening! Well worth visiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lasya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the walk out of town”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. Food was excellent and it made a change from sitting along the sea front. The staff were extremely pleasant and we found it good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KentishLady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice family meal”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want a change from the usual restaurants in Mogan please give this curry house a try out. All the main meals were tasty and nicely cooked, not too spicy so if you like hot keep this in mind. Service is very good, friendly and helpful. Only small niggle was the poppadums were a little soft.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Tandoori also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Mogan, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Taj Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing